We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest Tea House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Tea House
Ranked #4 of 7 Burley B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

What an amazing visit. Came down for the weekend, I had no idea where I was going as it was a surprise birthday gift. What a gift. Jane was an awesome hostess. Very friendly welcome, very knowledgeable of the local area. (Cost me big time at the bear shop Jane) great breakfast. Nothing too much trouble. The place was in an idealic setting with ponies running free through the area. Lots of local places of interest. Well worth a visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank moglentours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    32
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
37
62
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Forest Tea House for one night as part of a two day break in the New Forest.

The tranquility of the B&B was amazing. From our room we were blessed with views of wandering wild ponies and two chunky pigs in the farm opposite.
Behind the B&B is a direct link into the forest and if your follow your nose, you stumble on more amazing sights.
We visited both the coast, harbour and forest in the area and had an amazing time.

The room was clean and cosy.
The bed was very comfortable with lovely white bedding that added to a lovely sleep.

The area was so quiet and at the time we stayed, the B&B was full.

There was tea and coffee on hand in our room, which was a godsend at the end of our day.

The bathroom was clean supplied with 4 white, fluffy bath and hand towels. The shower was steamy hot and strong with shower gel also on tap.

The breakfast was amazing, I had the Continental breakfast which consisted of plenty of fresh filter coffee, fresh orange juice, yoghurt with freshly chopped fruit and croissant. I didn't have the cereal, but there was cereal to go with it too.
My partner had the full English breakfast, which had a selection of yummy sausages, bacon, eggs, mushroom, tomato, hash browns and fresh toast.

The breakfast room is a delightful area which again was blessed with views of the forest.

Finally, our hostess, Jane was so welcoming and treated us like we were at home. She is adorable gave us some good recommendations for other places to visit in the New Forest Area.

Our only regret was that we didn't bring our dog, because he would've loved he area too.

We would definitely hope to stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Excellent location, great service; we only had a one-night stay but were made most welcome, and the place was extremely well run. The room was most clean and comfortable, the breakfast was more than ample, and Jane had all the local knowledge, which was extremely useful. Will definitely be visiting again in the future. We highly recommend this place for a good personal and friendly service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManooP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we felt very welcome, lovely surroundings, well maintained, great location in heart of the new forest.
Jane is a fantastic hostess, breakfast super, she went the extra mile for all four of us to make it a memorable stay.
Shame we only had 1 night, will definitely return, thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmoult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Perfect location with the perfect host- Jane!
Burley is a lovely place to stay, being able to walk straight out into the forest or straight into the small village for a pub dinner or the tea rooms. We also enjoyed a horse ride from the local stables into the forest. Jane was able to suggest places to go to suit everyone. Thank you for a lovely couple of days away!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miss_D01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with my husband and two children (age 2 and 4). We had the family room which consisted of our double room, a small hallway, shower room and a twin bedroom for the children. It worked perfectly for us as we could tuck them up in bed and then watch telly without disturbing them.

Jane was lovely; Ever so welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. She was full of ideas for the children without being pushy. The children both really liked her and asked us if she was coming upstairs with us.

The beds were all very comfortable with nice crisp clean bedding. Everywhere was clean and the breakfast delicious.

We would certainly stay again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mascy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just stayed with Jane for 4 days. She is indeed the perfect host. Arrived feeling exhausted and stressed, left feeling mended and happy again. The room was lovely with views of the farm and next door cider house. My bouncy 2 year old daughter was made to feel especially welcome with teddies in her cot and her own mini-breakfasts (berries, Peppa pig yogurts and tiny croissants.) I slept beautifully and the fresh air, forest walks, wagon rides an pony trekking were all perfect activities right on our doorstep. We enjoyed our evenings out at the local pubs where the food at the Burley Inn was especially yummy. If you're lucky Jane might even let you meet Tinkerbell...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.5 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
original white hart
original white hart
#3 of 3 in Ringwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.9 mi away
The White Buck - Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Burley Inn Hotel
The Burley Inn Hotel
#3 of 7 in Burley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Tea House

Property: Forest Tea House
Address: Forest Cottage Pound Lane, Burley, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 4ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood > Burley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Burley
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Tea House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Forest Tea House Burley, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing