We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub made great by excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Burley Inn

The Burley Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Restaurants in Burley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good pub made great by excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We visited the Burley Inn on a weekend lunchtime. As it was a lovely sunny day it was busy, but we were lucky enough to get a table outside. The menu is pretty standard pub grub, but the service was excellent. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. When I asked for an extra plate upon ordering so my son could share our food, the barman popped out the back to get me one there and then so he could be sure I had it.
The food was nicely cooked, the chips were crisp and fluffy. Sure it is no gastropub, but the side salad on my meal was perfectly fresh and had a nice mix of ingredients, better than many pubs which provide a limp lettuce leaf, half a tomato and a slice of cucumber and call it a salad.
If you are in the area and are looking for a nice straightforward lunch with great service, this is the place to go.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    135
    60
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Standard pub food, lots of specials, but gets more than an average rating because of excellent service. They stop serving food at 9pm. Lots of nice outdoor seating (we visited in July) but imagine it is nice and cosy in Winter. Parking space limited and tricky if you have a large vehicle.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nalmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good quality pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Visited on a Wednesday lunch time, quite busy outside as it was a hot day but plenty of seats around. Picked up menus and went to bar to order. After bar lady had ported drinks went to order food then shed said there would be a 30 to 45 minutes wait as only one person in the kitchen. This through us and said we would have the drink and go to the pub round the corner. Wet then sat down and thought about it and changed our minds. It did take 30 minutes to come but most people were leaving by then. However the food was delicious, plentiful and competitively priced. Shame about the lack of information when we went in and why I heavens name does a pub serving food in the peak holiday season not have sufficient staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 73GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We went there for a meal and a few drinks. The food was typical pub food, but nice. We had a lovely bottle of Chilean wine there. The 2 guys working there were fabulous. Very pleasant, always having a smile, and making sure that we were having a good evening. Well done guys, it makes a nice change.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cream tea”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Complete disappointment; not enough cream, horrible jam in a plastic pot, tea for two just enough for one and butter on request. Scones nothing to write home about either. Burley is also a town ruined by tourism, shops sell nothing but tat and Burley Inns cream tea match unfortunately, still the forest itself and the horses are fantastic!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jake V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Burley Inn also viewed

 
Lyndhurst, New Forest
 

Been to The Burley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing