We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't cope”
Review of The Queens Head

The Queens Head
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Burley
Price range: US$5 - US$27
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Queens Head is situated some six miles from the nearest town in the very picturesque village of Burley, on the edge of the New Forest. We are a country pub with country ways attracting clientele who enjoy seeing the wildlife and variety of animals in the surrounding fields. These include deer, ponies, cows and donkeys. The pub dates back to 1645 and is rumoured to be an old smugglers haunt. This was reinforced when, during a refurbishment, treasures like old pistols, coins and bottles were uncovered here. There is also an alleged underground tunnel running between Burley Manor public house and this one. The front of the building has never been changed and inside has retained original features from at least 100 years ago. With alcoves, nooks and crannies, you can hide away and enjoy a quiet drink or meal. Meals can be enjoyed in the restaurant or outside in the garden during the summer months. This is a lovely old pub frequented by really friendly local characters and passers by alike.
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It was a busy Saturday afternoon, we ordered food which we were told would be 40 minutes. The kids were starving so we ordered bread and butter for the children to keep the going and were told we could have that straight away. The bread & butter took 40 minutes to come and when our full order arrived 15 minutes later it was wrong and my sandwich was stale. I'd be reluctant to go back again.

1  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We appreciate all feedback in which ever form it takes as we truly believe this is the only way of improving what we do. We are continually training and recruiting and working towards giving better service to all of our guests. I apologise that the food and service you received on your visit was not up to the high standard we are aiming for. Thank you for taking time to tell us we did not deliver so we can strive to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
There are newer reviews for The Queens Head
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

675 - 679 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

So this is a lovely looking building in a picturesque village in the middle of the New Forest. What could go wrong? Well, unfortunately the food can.

We were nearby on a weekday evening so my other half and I thought we'd give it a go. It's in a scenic enough spot and plenty of parking, which are plus points. Unfortunately they're the only ones I can think of telling you about here

The service was OK but nothing to write home about, but the food....I'm sorry but this kind of standard just isn't acceptable these days. I've eaten better in chain pubs for half the price.

I had garlic breaded mushrooms to start, which tasted OK if a little overdone, all 5 button mushrooms that is, which were lost on the plate with a small pot of mayo and a dab of salad. My fiancé had overcooked whitebait which was within an inch of becoming fish jerky.

Never mind, they only starters anyway, the main course is the real deal right? Sadly not. Fish and chips should be fairly straightforward but again taken to within an inch of it's taste. I had bangers and mash. Can't go wrong? Well, after eating the cement-consistency smash and apparently breakfast sausages (or that's what they tasked like to me?!) and don't forget the quarter of a grilled onion the best thing about the dish was the gravy to be honest. Oh and not a vegetable in sight.

There was a curry night on, so we were left wondering if we should picked from that menu instead, but from what we had I can only presume that'd be straight out of a microwave or something too, without a fresh spice or herb in sight.

I was really surprised as this could be an absolute goldmine, especially as the big summer season approaches but sadly a complete flop on the food means we'd never be likely to go back, especially given the many lovely options in the Forest.

You can do much much better than this.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dunna100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We appreciate all feedback in which ever form it takes as we truly believe this is the only way of improving what we do. We are continually training and recruiting and working towards giving better service to all of our guests. I apologise that the food and service you received on your visit was not up to the high standard we are aiming for. We thank you for taking time to tell us we did not deliver so we can strive to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We went to this pub on the last day of our holiday just before we left for home. I wish we had waited for fleet services and that's saying something. Ordered a chicken sharing platter which ended up smaller than the kids meals that had loads missing. It took an hour for food to come out and it was not even busy.

In fairness they refunded our money but as we looked around the pub no one looked happy.

It's a great location but just a very poor pub. Avoid it and go and get a sandwich next door.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We appreciate all feedback in which ever form it takes as we truly believe this is the only way of improving what we do. I sincerely apologise that the food you received on your visit was not up to the high standards we are aiming for. We are continually training and working with the kitchen team to ensure that we deliver quality food to all of our guests. Thank you for taking time to tell us we did not deliver so we can strive to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We went to have lunch in the pub before we leave the village.
After our experience in Burley Manor and our pleasure in The Stables we expected more.
Staff a bit slow,very busy maybe.Steaks - mmmmm,needed a bit to call them good.

Thank Nina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We appreciate all feedback in which ever form it takes as we truly believe this is the only way of improving what we do. We are continually training and recruiting and working towards giving better service to all of our guests. I apologise that the food and service you received on your visit was not up to the high standard we are aiming for. We thank you for taking time to tell us we did not deliver as we truly want to provide the great service you would expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Rib-eye steak, stringier than a string quartet. Round of fat normally associated with rib-eye non evident. OMG what have I just eaten?
Mixed grill missing advertised components of said grill. When queried said plural items arrived in the singular on a saucer looking mighty sorry (had to take photo as it was quite funny).
Ok. So 1/4 of an hour from ordering drinks to them arriving and multiples of this between getting main course and ordering deserts to them arriving. Sorry at 19:00 on a Thursday evening this is slow.
Oh to cap things off puddings have just arrived with soup spoons!!!
Other than than that the food in general was acceptable.
A little more attention to detail and a more punctual service would warrant this 4 out of 5 stars.

3  Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We appreciate all feedback in which ever form it takes as we truly believe this is the only way of improving what we do. We are continually training and recruiting and working towards giving better service to all of our guests. I apologise that the food and service you received on your visit was not up to the high standard we are aiming for. Thank you for taking time to tell us we did not deliver so we can strive to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Queens Head also viewed

 

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing