We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely noisy room. Overpriced food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moorhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Our room was small, basic and extremely noisy. The floor creaked with every footstep and the problem was clearly not confined to our room (number 2) because we could hear every movement of the guests in adjoining rooms or in the corridors. The noise problem in our room was exacerbated by being positioned above the kitchen and we could hear every pot and pan being used and the staff talking amongst each other until late into the night and again early the next morning when they prepared for breakfast. Due to the lack of sleep we left feeling more tired and less relaxed than we arrived. The bathroom was fresh, sparkling clean and obviously very new however the pressure in the shower was very weak.

We redeemed a Red Letter Day voucher to stay at Moorhill so cannot really comment on the value for money of the accomodation however we found the food to be grossly overpriced and poor value for money. The main courses were priced at around £18 but were certainly not worth this for example a main course of lamb consisted of just three small slices of overcooked lamb with no trace of pink remaining. My main course of pork was also overcooked and very dry. Even my special starter of pressed seafood terrine contained the driest, blandest fish I have ever eaten. It is clear this dish was a ‘special’ because they were trying to dispose of the fish. We resented paying the high prices on our second night so walked into Burley for decent pub grub. Breakfast was also disappointing and featured a limited buffet of cereals, burnt croissants, tinned fruit and yoghurts. The cooked breakfast included a particularly cheap tasting sausage. We found it petty that there were additonal charges for their ‘Crown’ breakfasts and an extra 55p for a slice of black pudding when complimentary luxury toiletries are provided in the bathroom.

The staff were pleasant though did not go out of their way for example at check-in the receptionist did not deviate from her set script and did not ask how our journey was or where we had come from etc. When I raised the noise and food problem at check-out the same receptionist simply apologised, shrugged it off and proceeded to take payment. We were not looking for a discount, just a simple acknowledgement that they are dealing with the problem (it is clear from other reviews they are aware of the noise problem). She then ignored me when I said goodbye to her as we finally left.

The location of the hotel is good with access to great walks on the doorstep however overall we were disappointed by Moorhill House and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Challenger604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Moorhill House Hotel and that you were disturbed by noise during your stay. Regarding your dinner in the restaurant, main courses are priced between £15.00 and £19.50, I am sorry that you did not feel that they reflected value for money. We do have an AA Rosette for our food, so I am surprised to read your comments regarding the standard of the food, but assure you that they will be looked into. I am able to say with confidence that we do not have tinned fruit in the hotel and the fruit you are referring to were stewed prunes and apricots. I am sorry that your issues were not acknowledged in a satisfactory manner, this again is something that will be looked into and appropriate training given.
Thank you once again for leaving your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

This was our second visit to Moorhill House in a year and we were not disappointed. The hotel has a lovely homely feel. We had a warm welcome on arrival by a very friendly and lively receptionist. Our room was lovely - Number 28, a Crown room. It was spacious and comfortable, and also quiet. We were a little worried when we realised there was a wedding on the Saturday night, and our room was above the wedding reception area, but even though there was some noise from the disco during the evening, it stopped at 12.00am and all was quiet.

The food was as usual, excellent. Not a huge range of choice but what we had was superbly cooked and even managed to inspire me to try one of the dishes at home.

Staff were friendly and helpful and not at all intrusive.

It is possible to walk directly from the hotel, through a wood at the back (where we have seen deer) out onto heathland. It was also good to see a couple of buzzards about too. We had some lovely walks, good food, a good rest and would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a get away to the country experience.

Good value for money

Room Tip: There were complaints by previous guests about noise, but apart from the wedding, the only noise we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank catmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

We are delighted to read that you had another enjoyable stay at the Moorhill House Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review, and we hope you will return for your 3rd visit very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My husband and I (plus our two cocker spaniels) have just returned from three nights in this lovely hotel. The location is perfect for walking in the New Forest; just walk through the woods at the back of the car park and a wide vista of open heath appears. There are ponies all around the hotel, which is down a long private lane so very peaceful. Our room was an Agister, and a good size, well decorated and clean. Everything worked fine. The bed was a bit hard and uncomfy, and we were above the pool so there was quite a loud hum, but as I enjoyed using the pool I can't really complain! The pool is small, but I loved it as there was never anyone else there so I could really relax and enjoy my swims.

The only slight detractor was the price of the food. We only actually had one dinner there, which was nice but really, for the price, should have been excpetional. We discovered the Queen's Head in Burley the next day and ate all our meals there for the rest of the break.

The staff at the Moorhill House are really friendly and helpful - couldn't fault them and I think the best staff at any hotel I have ever stayed at.

All in all a fantastic place for a break in the New Forest, especially if you have dogs and love walking.

Room Tip: Anything smaller than an Agister might be a squeeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandinRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay at the Moorhill House Hotel and that the staff were so friendly and helpful! We look forward to welcoming you and your cocker spaniels back to the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

It was a late decision to go to the new forest and what didn't help was my birthday always seems to fall on half term, but after checking on line we decided to phone to make sure that suitable accommodation was still available. Got through ok and the booking lady was very helpful and this lead to what I believed was a really good deal of dinner bed and breakfast in one of their Crown rooms.
When asked about any comments I wished to add, I mentioned about some reports about a noisy pump and that it was my birthday, so a quiet room was added to the booking information
I would advocate going for the larger room, which is good size and has all of the right facilities plus was very clean, but the room we had (5) is very dark due to the large ever green trees in the neighbours garden which was a little disappointing.
It is also over the bar, which wasn't a problem for us but it could be if there was a function on. It was also none too warm, not helped by the high ceiling and we had to resort to a back up oil fired radiator, but even then it struggled. Our final third night was ruined by what I think is a central heating pump being left on all night - it was finally switched off at 6.00am!
Bed was very comfy and both dinners and breakfasts where very good The £25 per head dinner allowance was very welcome as the food isn't the cheapest but one cannot dispute the consistent quality although a batch of coffee left allot to be desired, but when we checked out the cost was knocked the bill, not because of the very poor coffee (which I admit I did not complain about and also did not drink) but because we had such a poor last night.
This immediate response was very welcome.
Staff where very polite, cheerful and helpful and as can be seen will provide some form of compensation if things do not go to plan, will try and mitigate the problem.
I see no reason why we would not go back, I'd just be picky about the room as clearly the pump item has not been resolved and this is a problem which the hotel does need to resolve.

Room Tip: No sunshine or view in rooms over the entrance/elevation Pump mechanical noise an issue in some roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank midget73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Moorhill House Hotel. We are sorry to hear you experienced some problems, but pleased that our staff were able to sort some of them out for you. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals in our restaurant and we do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Our room was spacious and clean, though slightly old-fashioned and the welcome on arrival and contact with all staff was outstanding. The restaurant was excellent, we were very pleased with dinner and breakfast, all freshly prepared and of a high standard. We stayed here as part of a Peppa Pig world deal and am glad that we chose this hotel. Reasonably priced hotel with a wonderful team of people, only negative was the freezing cold pool but nothing that would put me off returning. Thank you for a homely stay in a fabulous location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littletinyclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Moorhill House Hotel and hope you all had a good time at Peppa Pig World too! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This hotel is in a beautiful location and the staff were all friendly, efficient and helpful. The breakfasts and evening meals were superb as was the restaurant itself. We had coffee in the comfortable lounge with some other guests which made for a perfect end to the day.
Our room (2) was comfortable and well equipped but unfortunately had a view of the roof tops not of the forest. Our sleep was not helped by the noise which we finally decided must have been something to do with the filters in the indoor pool which we overlooked. The ensuite was again well equiped but was very cold as it appeared the heated towel rail was not working. However this would not dissuade us from visiting this hotel again as we thought the facilities, decor, food, location and service were first class.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Moorhill House Hotel!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit, and apologise that you were disturbed by noises during the night. We hope you will return for another visit in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

They say "Unwind in our garden room, in our traditional bar or on the terrace with an indulgent afternoon tea. Enjoy a traditional afternoon tea served on a tiered cake stand; finely cut sandwiches, warm scones with jam and clotted cream, a selection of homemade cakes and your choice of tea or coffee. Afternoon tea at Moorhill House Hotel costs £14.05 while champagne afternoon tea is priced at £21.45 per person. To book yourself an afternoon of decadence call us on ...".

So it was with a great sense of anticipation that we sat down awaiting our treat! But what a disappointment!

The first thing we noticed was that the teapot was empty - they had forgotten to put tea in, though it did give us a chance to inspect the stains inside! A filled pot was eventually brought but rather than the loose tea one normally gets for this price, it was just bog standard tea bags floating around.

The 'finely cut sandwiches' were on supermarket bread. One with sliced boiled egg and salad cream (a real treat that!), one with cucumber and one with smoked salmon - the latter being the only 'indulgent' aspect of the whole tea.

Scone was fine though not warm, but rather than strawberry jam that is traditionally served with cream, we were provided with a little pot of blackcurrant.

The absolute worst part of the tea was the so called 'selection of homemade cakes'. There was a thin slice of what was supposed to be ginger cake I think - it was so soggy that it just fell to pieces - it had quite simply not been cooked properly. And there was a piece of millionaires shortbread. The chocolate topping was fine but the underside was again an undercooked soggy mess. Both quite inedible.

We had been treated to the tea as a Christmas present, so at least did not waste our own money. We could have done better by going to a supermarket and buying a few sandwiches and cakes.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
23  Thank Hopeful-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your comments have been passed on to the General Manager and the Executive Chef for training in the areas mentioned. We will take this opportunity to review the afternoon tea menus, to ensure that the quality is consistently high at all times.
Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
391 reviews
6.6 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
847 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
883 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorhill House Hotel

Address: | Shappen Bottom, Burley, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 4AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Price Range: £56 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moorhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorhill Hotel Ringwood
The Moorhill Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel Burley, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing