We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorhill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moorhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Somethings about this hotel are really good. Our room was clean (all though in need of a little updating), the food was good - nicely prepared and presented, and the staff were very pleasant. I have a couple of niggles though. We were in room 18 and there was a constant banging sound through the night. Not enough to wake me up but enough to keep me awake. Breakfast on our first morning was a farce, we had to wait a long time for our cooked breakfast but that was nothing compared to other problems. Some guests were having to ask staff if they could order their breakfasts after waiting 15 minutes or so and a couple had one breakfast delivered and eaten before the second one arrived. They were not at all happy. The second morning however was a complete contrast - everything seemed to run smoothly. We did notice that there were different staff in the restaurant and that appeared to make all the difference. I would like to mention that Tom and Darren were particularly attentive and are a benefit to the hotel/restaurant. Having said all of that the hotel has a nice feel about it, it's in a lovely setting and very close to the village.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay the Moorhill House Hotel. I am sorry you experienced some problems with slow service on your first morning, but am pleased that it was back to normal the following day and that the staff took good care of you. I hope you will return for another visit one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    213
    99
    47
    29
See reviews for
164
332
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We enjoyed a fantastic function dinner, serving 27 of us, with each course being produced promptly. The food was fantastic and well commented on. A fine dining experience that we won't forget and strongly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramseynerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
I am delighted to read about your recent function held at the Moorhill House Hotel and that you all had such enjoyable evening and fine dining experience! Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review and I do hope you will consider returning for a future function.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Staying overnight was a last minute decision to avoid a 200 mile round trip the following day.

I took advantage of a great price reduction. The room (number 3) was small but clean and quite adequate for me.

The receptionist - I think her name was Charlotte - was very friendly and helpful. She appeared to have to look after the bar as well as reception.

A cooked breakfast set me up well for my meetings on the Monday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 558JohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for your kind review following your stay at the Moorhill House Hotel. I am pleased that you had a comfortable visit and hope you will return for another stay when you are next in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk, england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

just had a weekend break which was booked with our Tesco ClubCard Vouchers - we paid a very small premium to upgrade to one of their Four Poster Crown Rooms which was roomy, clean, White Towel Bathrobes, Iron and Ironing Board and a very Comfy Bed...
Breakfast was Really Good and we had an evening meal on the Saturday Evening which was Very Good with good service .... All the staff were very friendly and helpful and Yes they did seem to do a variety of jobs which is now common practice in the smaller hotels.
The Hotel arranged bikes for us on the Saturday which they charged to our bill and they were also at the hotel which meant that we did not have to go and collect ... it was certainly an easier way to get down to the village of Burley as it was probably a good 15-20 minute walk ... we didnt end up going too far as the rain did not stop !!
The hotel lounge was very comfortable and we played Scrabble on the Friday Evening as they had a small collection of games available - the hotel was very peaceful and I would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
I am so pleased to read that you had an enjoyable weekend break at the Moorhill House, and that you were well taken care of by our staff! I do hope you will return for another visit in the near future, and thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed in the Keeper room, which is was quite nice. The only 2 complaints are about bathroom and morning breakfast. The shower/bathroom/bath was not arranged well. We only had a bath and actually had to sit down in the bath to do anything. If we stood up, we would hit our heads on the ceiling. The water pressure was not that great either, but at least there was hot water. The breakfast was disappointing as well. They do not operate on a buffet principal. you have to order what you want and customization are extra. For example, their English fry up was 1 egg, 2 slices of bacon, 1 sausage and 1/2 of tomato. When I asked to substitute the egg for black pudding, they informed that it would be extra. Also, we had to ask the staff to replenish the juice jugs as all 3 of them were empty.

The hotel itself is situated down a narrow drive and is quite secluded. I just thought it would have a little more character. I was just missing it.

I would stay here again simply for location, which is in Burley, but I wouldnt make extra effort to book specifically there.

Room Tip: Keeper room lacks the view, but its very very very quiet. The bed is located down a corridor from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Moorhill House Hotel. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately as your bedroom was in the eaves, a stand-up shower is not physically possible, I am sorry that this was not acceptable to you. With regards to the breakfast, in addition to the cooked breakfast from the kitchen the continental buffet should have been replenished frequently to keep up with the demand, I will discuss this with the general manager and ensure that the team keep it topped up at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Really disappointed with the room - not what was expect at all. Charged £20 to move rooms and although bigger (which didn't bother us) room was still tired and outdated. Kept awake until 01.30 because of the noise you hear from the rooms upstairs. Every movement, slamming door, conversation. Then started up again at 06.00. Receptionist told us the following morning it's because the conference party were having a blow out on their last night but the upstairs rooms were unoccupied the following night for 'deep clean'. Thought we'd check again late evening and turns out they're fully booked and the receptionist lied to us. Offered another tired room but feared the same problem so moved to another of their hotels. Same tired standard, very unimpressed with breakfast, slept better but a shame that our relaxing weekend away ended up being a plea for sleep. It couldn't be further from 'homely, peaceful and far from the stresses of every day life'. We couldn't wait to get home.

Room Tip: Top floor should reduce the noise but check where in the building it is. There is a newer part that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smouldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Moorhill House Hotel. I am sorry you had a disturbed night at the hotel and will investigate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed here with some of the company for only 1 night after teambuilding with the company in the New Forest, clean room on the 3rd floor, the absence of a lift was disapointing, but the evening meal was great, especially considering they has all 16 meals ready at once. Service was good, in the resturant and in the bar, we were also able to sit outside on the ample seating provided. I'd return on business.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent business stay at the Moorhill House Hotel, and we hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
6.6 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorhill House Hotel

Property: Moorhill House Hotel
Address: | Shappen Bottom, Burley, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 4AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Moorhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorhill Hotel Ringwood
The Moorhill Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel Burley, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing