We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorhill House Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Moorhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slightly disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

For the price the hotel decor is very dated and the room we stayed in had no shower, just an attachment on the bath. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and as a whole the hotel is very family freindly. The cooked breakfasts were on the whole poor with overcooked eggs, very fatty bacon and what appeared to be the cheapest of sausages. Pancakes were not cooked through and very heavy consistency - more like dough. The food was below the standard of a cafe on any high street. If you are looking for somewhere to stay that is slightly nicer than the norm, then this is not the hotel to choose. If you are looking for a clean hotel with well trained staff, and quantity in food is more important than quality then this would be an acceptable choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitor718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for your review and taking the time to write it. We appreciate guests comments as it helps us to monitor the service and I will ensure yours are investigated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    216
    100
    47
    29
See reviews for
164
333
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

I arrived at Moorhill House on Sunday for a last minute break with my two children aged 5 and 2 years old. We had a really warm and friendly welcome from the receptionist. We had just missed lunch but she was happy to get the kitchen to make us some sandwiches, though as our room wasn't quite ready we opted to go out for lunch instead. (A great hog roast in a big garden at the White Hart just opposite the entrance to the hotel) On our return we had a drink in the garden whilst the children ran around. We made use of the little pool (a tad chilly, not that the children minded) and enjoyed playing games in the Garden Room. The family room we had was clean and welcoming with a lovely four poster bed and a sofa bed for one daughter and a cot for the baby. Everything was laid out beautifully and we had great views from our room.

Dinner was a real revelation - perfectly cooked scallops with a curried cauliflower puree and parma ham, excellent cod with sauteed leeks, crushed new potatoes and a delicious chive butter sauce. We were so full we didn't have puddings but from the standard of the rest of the food, I'm sure we missed a treat. The children tucked into their chunky chips and plaice goujons with ice cream for afters. The Restaurant Manager was charming as were the other staff, they helped me negotiate the wine list without any embarrassment (in my exhausted state I nearly ordered a pudding wine with my fish!) and they were very considerate with the children.

We slept well and were then treated again to a wonderful breakfast - buffet style with juices, cereal and fruit and then an amazing cooked to order full English with really good bacon and sausage, toast and croissants. There was plenty of choice on the menu - buttermilk pancakes and vegetarian options - they obviously have a really good chef. Again the staff were helpful and cheery, offering to fetch high chairs and top ups of toast and tea.

Another quick swim and we were off back to London having had the most relaxing time. A real gem of a hotel - the staff are so wonderful and really make this place. I've seen other reviews that describe the hotel as shabby - I can't disagree more. It's homely and welcoming, clean and friendly and just the sort of place you can relax with children and not worry. It's definitely not grand but it's not stuffy either - more of a home from home.

For a very reasonably priced break with your family, I can't recommend Moorhill House highly enough.

Room Tip: We had room 32 - a large family room that we really liked with views of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aranitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
I am delighted to read your review following your recent stay with your family! Thank you for kind comments and I do hope you will return for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

With my wife and 4 children, we stayed for 2 nights and we spent £568.00. We also lost in the hotel a box of one of our children's toys ( not a big box) we asked when we returned home but the staff said they couldn't find it. They now have found it and want me to pay an admin fee of £5.00 plus whatever the postal cost will be. You would think that they would just send it back as a good will gesture seeing as the amount of money we spent in their hotel was rather substantial. Now I've got to make breadcrumbs for my wife for burgers !

Room Tip: Don't lose anything !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for your review. It is our policy to charge the £5 admin fee as returning items to guests incurs additional cost. I do hope you and your family had an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Having visited Barton Lodge last year, we decided to give the second of the four Hotels in the NewForest Hotels' Group a go and were we glad we did!! Just through the rather strange, but picturesque village of Burley, this Hotel is a hidden gem in the woods. Beautifully landscaped gardens, superb food and staff who were unbelievably patient with our requests. The menu was outstanding, with it certainly worth taking their discounted 3 night Dinner, Bed and breakfast option, as you can mix and match from the standard and a-la-carte menus...which we did nightly!!The wine list was also good - only the bar disappointed, where choice of cold lagers on a hot summer's stay was a disappointment. The staff were excellent and really seemed proud to be part of the place.

Room Tip: We overlooked the gardens, which was a wonderful view, but was a little noisy in the morning when co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReigateBigdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for your kind review! I am delighted that you had an enjoyable visit and hope you will return to one of our hotels again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

i have tried to call the hotel to let them know of my feedback but have not been able to speak to anyone about my visit yesterday. i tried booking a table for 5 on saturday 18th for the next day which was my mums birthday. first challenge was ...the reservations team had gone home for the weekend! made a "booking online using the hotels system but wasnt convinced it had gone through so called the hotel myself to make sure we could get a table as definately didnt want to be walking round burley all day looking for somewhere to fit us in. i thought by booking in a hotel that advertised cream teas would be a better option to make sure my mum had a treat.
we got there and the table was set up really nicely in the lovely gardens. i orderered 4 cream teas between 5 of us at £5.65 each (2 kids included) and asked to substitute one pot of tea for a j20. we orderered darjeeling tea and were told 5 mins later by an apologetic waitress they had no "dear darling" tea as it was so popular! we said we would have breakfast tea instead. then came an "afternoon tea with cakes scones and sandwiches which we had not ordered. i explained we hadnt ordered this but didnt want to make a fuss as it was a little embarrassing by this time." we will keep the 4 scones on the plate and the few slices of cake to save the fuss but dont need the sandwiches thanks " i said. when the tea came there were 2 pots holding with one earl grey tea bag in each. not breakfast tea, wrong tea and so weak as each pot held 4 cups. didnt make a fuss but thought it was just a bit sad that the simplest order had turned into a mission! it was my mums birthday as i said and i just didnt want to lose the plot with incompetence but was really annoyed underneath! when i went to pay i was charged for 5 cream teas which i hadnt had and a j20! unreal. i know it all sounds a bit petty but it was a birthday treat and it annoys me how such a simple and basic hour turned into complete farce. i have tried to call the hotel but cant get hold of any duty manager to give my feedback to hence the t.a review. sorry guys but darjeeling and a simple ceam tea wasnt a tricky one!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Moorhill House Hotel. Having investigated your booking further, it appears you booked 5 Afternoon Teas online, not Cream Teas, which is what was prepared for your arrival. I’m sorry about the confusion over this.

Unfortunately when you called to speak to the manager she was not available as she was in a meeting and you did not leave your name and number when requested. The manager was therefore unable to return your call to discuss the situation.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

We booked a two night stay at the Moorhill House (2 adults and 1 child) as it looked to be in a great location just outside Burley, family friendly, good breakfasts and a sturdy country house hotel feel...I'm sorry to write that only the location came up to standard.

Perhaps it was the 1980s room decor (disappointing but not horrendous), or the dirty linen and towels that were bagged up and stored along corridors leading to guest rooms (lending the whole upstairs a certain grubby stale smell of other people's bed linen - you probably get the idea!) that was obvious to one's nose the minute you left your bedroom...or maybe that when we sat down to eat breakfast (only 5 items allowed without having to pay a premium - although on check out they decided to charge me for the fifth item - baked beans despite having said we could choose 5 items!) we saw that they were clearly doing their best to recycle and had given us preopened (and partly eaten!) jam pots.

The whole hotel felt like it was being run on a shoe string budget (which may be the case but cutting corners and lack of attention to detail is not the way to run a hotel and make a profit in the long term) - whilst some of the staff were friendly (Kayleigh) they were clearly under orders such as my argument about the number of breakfast items when they tried to charge me...at that point I simply gave up and paid the bill.

It's a shame, as the hotel is in such a great location that it could be superb with some effort and attention to detail, but sadly it's more Fawlty Towers than country house hotel as it's currently being run.

Final frustrations included appalling room decor, sparse basic bathrooms with no power shower, outside tables not being cleared of empty glasses etc....all small details but ones that make the difference between a disappointing stay and a happy one.

If you are looking for a relaxing weekend break in the New Forest with some elements of country house luxury, I strongly suggest you don't stay here....a Premier Inn will provide far better service and facilities! I'd suggest a 'proper' hotel such as Burley Manor or the Rhinefield (far superior in standards and similar pricing...I only wish we'd chosen one of these ourselves).

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Slimmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Moorhill House Hotel in Burley. I will pass your comments on to the Hotel Manager for further investigation and will ensure further training is provided where required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

didnt want the 250 round trip from home so bought a package from internet which in cluded a two day pass to the park hotel was great..fantastic location, staff couldnt have been more friendly and helpful.. room was clean, comftable bed..breakfast was great. would definetly go again....

Room Tip: room seven has bunk beds for the kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stewart c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for your review following your stay at the Moorhill House Hotel. I am pleased you had a comfortable stay and hope you enjoyed Peppa Pig World too! We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
6.6 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorhill House Hotel

Property: Moorhill House Hotel
Address: | Shappen Bottom, Burley, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 4AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Moorhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorhill Hotel Ringwood
The Moorhill Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel Burley, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing