We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location. Great staff but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorhill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moorhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect location. Great staff but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Staff here are very welcoming. I have special diet requirements which they were very helpful with adjusting the menu for me with no notice. Food is faultless. Big praises to the chef and kitchen staff. Staying overnight however, was not comfortable. Beds are extremely hard which prevented myself and several family members from sleeping. We had prebooked our rooms, yet a friend who decided to join us at the last minute was charged much less for the same room/breakfast as the rest of us!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MuggleandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    213
    99
    47
    29
See reviews for
164
332
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a nights stay at this hotel and it was lovely! We stayed in Room 1 (mum,dad and kids 13 and 10), which had a mezzanine floor for the kids and plenty of little extras to enjoy. The food was outstanding with plenty of choice for everyone. My lamb was the best I've ever had! Breakfast was also a treat with plenty to eat and drink. The hotel was warm and had a very pleasant atmosphere. The staff were also very welcoming and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and stay here again myself if I have the chance!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joannespaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We had a lovely family weekend here and will definitely come again, the staff were all accommodating of our young children and they all worked very hard. The hotel is in a great location tucked away and the village of Burley is very pretty with lots of gift shops.
Our room was comfortable and spacious. The pool was a bonus and fun for the children.
We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast rate, the food was very nice and the children's menu had lots of choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Location, location, location.... with great food and service thrown in...

What is lovely about this place is that it's not a sterile hotel with faceless service and stale smiles!

Having stayed two nights with family and the dog this place could not have been better, we were given room 32 which slept a family of 4 comfortably with the luxury of a 4 poster !

The deal we had included breakfast and dinner.... which was a real treat.

Breakfast: a small buffet of cereal and fruit, with a wide menu of cooked options... The full English was great and the kids loved the pancakes.... Fresh toast and coffee was endless and service was spot on from the moment we sat down.

Dinner: some of the reviews seem to slate the service and food... Something has changed as both were exceptional... The service was honest, there was no pretence about it, the front of house team were absolutely genuine in their willingness to please, it's what I would call 'good old fashion service'.

The menu was well presented with good choice.... Presentation was exceptional and quality best in class... The sirloin steak, medium well... was cooked to perfection, so there is a great kitchen team and chief working hard somewhere too (they never get mentioned)

This place is what I would call a real treat, sure it is not perfect around the edges... No doubt you will find the odd spot of peeling paint or mark on the wall... But look past it, there really is more to enjoy than to worry about the paint job.

Finally and worth a mention.... On one of the days we headed out to the forest at about 07.00 to give the dog and the kids an early morning run... Having walked away from the hotel we had the breath taking experience of seeing a White Buck Deer... we were told that this is one of a pair that roam the forest and is rarely seen... What a treat !!

Room Tip: Room 32 was perfect for us as a family, sofa bed and zip bed was provided... Lovely views and a four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luxe_destinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

The staff where very welcoming on arriving at the hotel, the room was large ( up grade ) traditionally furnished, 'eye clean', warm and comfortable. The bed was not very comfortable however and breakfast was disappointing. Evening meal was uninspiring for the price (£30p.p approx). All the staff work hard to maintain a good standard. Would return at some time with my own box of cereal! We did enjoy our stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachhut43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chipping campden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed at the Moorhill for two nights on a two for one basis with another couple to play golf in the area. On arrival the staff were very pleasant and helpful and we were allocated our rooms. As the author of this report we were given room 24 which as we discovered was a room for the disabled placed next to the bar. The room itself was rather dingy and, uninviting really not pleasant, so we asked to be moved, and were without fuss, so, why, I ask were we put there in the first place.The room we were given was a family room which was comfortable and overlooked the garden. Our friends were given room 21 and their first problem was no hot water for the whole of the first evening (boiler problem) which was repaired sometime late that night, the only problem being their accommodation was right over the top of the boiler room which is so noisy they barely slept a wink all night. Now this is a problem they are well aware of because as soon as they asked to be moved they were asked if the noise from the boiler had kept them awake. Ok, moaning over, the rest of the stay was very pleasant the food was of excellent quality both at dinner and breakfast. We found the public areas comfortable and warm and I would say with a little more attention to detail this would be a super little hotel, would we go again maybe but defiantly not in room 24 or 21

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 24 & 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cat_rowdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We booked a couple ofnights away after our wedding. this Hotel is beatifully placed within the new forest. The hotel backs onto the forest so we were ableto go for lovely walks. The staff were very friendly and helpful. the hotel was clean and roomy with lovely lounges and gardens. We dined in he resturant and the food was also good. We had a Crown room which we reccomend.

Room Tip: Crown room reccomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FCB_1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorhill House Hotel

Property: Moorhill House Hotel
Address: | Shappen Bottom, Burley, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 4AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Moorhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorhill Hotel Ringwood
The Moorhill Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel Burley, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing