We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday lunch - Great Value too!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moorhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Visited on the Sunday for a Birthday meal and was delighted by the experience. Staff were friendly and very professional and the food was excellent. Would be a great place to have afternoon tea outside when the weather is a bit warmer. For starter we had a mixture of sardines on toast, vegetable soup (with a very slight spicy flavour) and a very tasty chicken parfait. A lovely bit of pork belly (plus crunchy scratching), a beautifully cooked salmon dish and a really fragrant butternut squash curry with coriander rice were served up for the mains. We ordered a cheese platter, two delightful chocolate desserts and an awesome panacotta for dessert. The portions were an excellent size and left us feeling full but not overly so. Although this visit was paid for through a Groupon voucher we will definitely be visiting again soon and would highly recommend to others. Three course is £15.95pp and well worth every penny.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed for two night B&B offer that we booked through Red Letter days which made it very good value.

The hotel is approached up a long unmade up road in the middle of the forest so no issues with traffic noise. Not a great choice for disabled or infirm as quite a few stairs and no lift. There were 3 downstairs rooms but tgey were next to pool and bar.

My mobile phone did not work as no signal and reception said only one network got a signal their but I forget which one it was.

Free WFi was great to have but signal very weak in our bedroom but worked great in the lounges and it was nice it was there at all as last trip to tge New Forest we stayed at tge Forest Park that said they had WiFi only to find out it cost £5.95 for one hour!

The first room we were offered was room 30 which had a contant hum from the pool machinery and we would have had trouble sleeping but luckily they offered us room 9 which had a lovely view across the gardens. Another review mentioned avoiding this room because of the noise from the cleaners cupboard but this is incorrect as room 9 and 10 are on their own through a fire door with no cleaners cupboard close. The only noise was from the very squeaky floorboards when people in room 10 moved around and we could hear their TV but it was not too bad:)

The breakfast our first morning was amazing with good service and food. The second day has to have been a different chef as the poached eggs were very wet leaving the bacon soaking in water and our server was very inattentive.

I did not use the pool as it looked very tiny and not very inviting but it would be great for kids.

We enjoyed our stay and would return but there is an issue with noise in some rooms.

Room Tip: Room 9 and 10 have great views over garden to rear and no noise from pool machinery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

A lovely hotel in Burley with comfortable room, excellent service and in a great location. This was a Redletterdays booking for dinner, bed and breakfast and we also took an afernoon tea with relatives on a different deal. Frankly I can't fault anything about this experience. The bedroom was clean and confortable. The dinner was excellent, breakfast was excellent and the afternoon tea was served in a relaxed setting in the lounge and my parents were thrilled with the quality and quantity of sanwiches and cakes provided. I would have given the same high rating if I had paid double the price!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulKGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Our first impressions of Moorhill House Hotel were very good - lovely looking building, great location and friendly staff. We had opted for one of the Crown rooms and it was very nice with a comfortable 4 poster bed. Sadly, things then got worse. As we were unpacking we were aware of alot of noise from the room above. This problem got worse when we realised we could hear almost everything said by the guests in the adjacent room!! Worse was to come when we realised that the next rooms TV must be on or near the wall that the head of our bed was against - as such we could hear every word of what they were watching.
This lack of privacy was a great let down. Judging from other peoples reviews we may have been very unlucky with our room alocation but you would expect much better than this with the most expensive rooms available. The food was extremely good and if it hadn't been for the lack of soundproofing in our room I would have given 4.5 stars. However, as a result of our experience we wouldn't go back to this hotel so sadly can't recommend it.

Room Tip: Check to see if room is likely to have alot of noise from other rooms. We stayed in room 28 which al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disturbed by noised from neighbouring rooms. Our Maintenance Manager is investigating this situation to see if it can be resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We booked this hotel through a late offer, so I feel we got real value for money. The hotel itself is in a prefect location, with a direct path into the forest. we saw lots of ponies and deer ! Burley is very quaint and the Queens Head pub is fab for dinner. The room was small, but clean and cosy. The bathroom needed a bit of a facelift but also clean. Lots of toiletries and tea, coffee, etc. the staff were really friendly and helpful and made the stay totally relaxing and stress free. The breakfast area had been recently renovated by the looks of it and had been well done, with a great breakfast spread and lovely non greasy cooked breakfast, lots of tea, coffee and toast. The pool is small, but perfect for children. The sauna was a nice feature, but needed more regular, thorough cleaning for my liking? Would definitely go again, if a similar deal came up. Only slight downside was our room was opposite the cleaners storage room....and boy, do they start early ......

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 7,8,9 as all close to cleaners storage area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We chose this country retreat for a restful break on our way home from a family holiday. The location is attractive and easliy accessable. We were allocated room 34 which was right at the top of the house, very poky with only one chair for a double room and a very basic bathroom.The receptionist readily changed the room to 18 which was a more spacious family room and quieter BUT the beds were extremely hard and we didn't sleep well for the three nights we were there. On the plus side the dining room was attractive, the food and the service were very good. We would be unlikely to choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LmKSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you were happy with your room change arranged by the Receptionist on duty, however I am sorry you found the beds to be uncomfortable. As everyone has different comfort requirements, it is difficult to please all our guests so we opt for a medium tension mattress for all of our beds, and I apologise that on this occasion you found it too hard for your taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at the Moorhill House Hotel. First and foremost I must say how good the staff were. It's great to see how many local staff are employed by the hotel. They have been without exception cheerful and eager to make the stay as good as possible.
In the restaurant the food was excellent for both breakfast and evening meal with the staff extremely attentive.
Book the restaurant before arriving and they throw in a bottle of wine too.
It felt like the hotel was very recently renovated. Clean and fresh walls and carpets. The beds too were comfortable; firm - just the way we like it.
It's worth saying the swimming pool is tiny. More of a large bath really.
Burley itself is well worth a visit too. So much to see and do in the area and with ponies just wandering around free.
I thoroughly recommend this for a couples retreat but equally there were several children in the hotel were there are lots of board games in the lounge.
We shall definitely return. On the last night we were offered an additional night including dinner for £45 per person and I wish we could have stayed.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wardie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
406 reviews
9.0 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
832 reviews
6.6 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
901 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorhill House Hotel

Address: | Shappen Bottom, Burley, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Price Range: £51 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Moorhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorhill Hotel Ringwood
The Moorhill Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel Burley, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing