We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moorhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 , the staff were very helpful and charming. We were very disappointed with our room, considering the price we had paid for the crown room , [Not the same as in the piture which is advertised] . Found cobwebs on the four poster bed , the bathroom could do with a complete overhall, the balcony full of weeds , and the lovley cast iron table and chairs needed a good scrub. Apart from that the staff made up for this .If you are planning on staying here the 10 minute walk into Burley is more like 20 minutes , you REALLY need a touch if you are planning on coming back in the dark think the hotel supplies torches. The breakfast not great we paid the upgrade again very disappointed DON'T bother to pay the upgrade. On a good note when you check out you get a voucher to come back with one night free ,but still do not think the price you pay even with a free night is worth it .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracy752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your comments following your recent visit. I am sorry you were disappointed with your crown room, but am pleased that apart from this you had an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

I booked this hotel as the venue for my grandfather's 85th birthday celebration, which was attended by 20 guests. There are no words to describe how amazing the whole team at the Moorhill House Hotel were, from the moment that I first contacted the hotel, up until the event itself. At the event itself, we were in many ways a rather difficult gathering of guests! But the team at the Moorhill House Hotel were amazing at dealing with us with ease and not appearing at all stressed! Even though one guest arrived about 1.5 hours late to dinner, he was still served a starter, main and desert in a timely fashion, even though he hadn't pre-ordered! Another one of our guests, who is autistic, banged a door at one time but the staff were incredibly respectful and polite about this. We also had some very elderly guests. My grandmother is 94, and we also had another guest who is almost completely blind. They both felt incredibly at ease, and I can truly say that this hotel is very accommodating of elderly people and people with disabilities. We all felt incredibly welcome and at home. I completely forgot that I had ordered a birthday cake, but luckily the staff at the hotel had remembered every little detail of my plan for the day better than I remembered myself! There is so much more I could say but there are really not good enough words in the dictionary. A really amazing team, and a really amazing hotel. I give you 10 stars!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisoun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Booked the Executive Family Suite for myself, husband and 3 children - 4,3 and 1 year old. Was extremely disappointed. Grubby room, dirty carpet, sofa looked like it had been taken out of a skip, the room is on 2 levels with open plan stairs (no stair gates provided), very dangerous. Decided that this room was not acceptable or safe for my children. Went down to reception to see if we could move but no other rooms available. Was told that only option was to move to another of the New Forest Group Hotels, a refund would not be issued. This is a nice looking hotel in a great location but the executive family suite is not suitable for toddlers and is very over priced

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodieB509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed here in June and found the location and hotel to be quite charming. The garden at the rear of the property is a relaxing place to sit and enjoy refreshments or a cup of tea. The lawn is in surprisingly poor condition and full of weeds but the shrubs and trees provide a pleasant backdrop. The hotel is an old building and so all rooms and corridors have creaky floors. The rooms themselves are pleasantly furnished with plenty of space for clothes. Tea and coffee facilities are provided. It was pleasing that the staff, who were all helpful and cheerful, were able to supply blankets quickly in place of the ubiquitous duvets that hotels assume we are all prepared to use in the Summer months when the weather is fine. The rooms we saw had childrens’ bunk beds which made the rooms feel congested. The dining room and reception areas were very attractively furnished with comfortable chairs and attractive paintings. The English breakfasts were in the excellent tradition of UK hotels and could not have been better. The only significantly poor experience was the quality of the evening meal. We started with a carrot and cardamom soup which was inedible due to the amount of pepper the chef had used. In fact, the main courses suffered the same fate. The curry I had was accompanied by two small stodgy apologies of naan bread that tasted like the previous day’s leftover porridge. Having said that, this is overall an attractive hotel but you should be careful what you choose from the dinner menu.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnats1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed 23rd/24th June and had a wonderfully relaxing break. The staff were professional, helpful and friendly. The food was excellent and is worthy of at least 2 if not 3 AA rosettes and I say this having eaten at Numo and various other 5* restaurants. The whole hotel is comfortable and welcoming and the room was spacious with plenty storage space. I understand there is a refurbishment programme currently being undertaken

Room Tip: We stayed in 29 which had French doors leading onto a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Decent enough hotel, rooms come in odd sizes, room 12 is tiny whereas room 1 is massive. Some small things need attending to, the lights over the wash basin on works when you press the left side hard inwards. No indication of this.

There is a swimming pool which isnt very heated and a sauna which has a green button to start it on the wall but again no indication on what it does. Small things but they need to be sorted out. Swimming pool has no attendant or CCTV camera.

Restuarant is OK but some items are a little off, gnocchi looks and tastes like soap. To run ouyt of dessert spoons and offer a soup spoon for a pudding is a little naff.

Room Tip: Go for room 1 if you can but check the size before hand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelfcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Lovely location outside Burley, about 15 minute walk to the village. Quiet location with plenty of car parking to the rear. A short walk from the rear of the hotel through some trees leads out on to the moors. The hotel has a small swimming pool and sauna, just what we needed after a day walking. There is a large lounge area to relax in the evening.
I tend to agree with "SeedyG" about the evening meals, but it is convenient. I would also prefer a wider choice. In general the food quality is good, for breakfast there is a basic hot breakfast (which was sufficient for us), with additional options at extra cost.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful, supplying excellent local knowledge. The room was good.
We plan to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpbCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
415 reviews
9 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
837 reviews
6.6 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
903 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorhill House Hotel

Address: | Shappen Bottom, Burley, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Price Range: £52 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Moorhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorhill Hotel Ringwood
The Moorhill Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel Burley, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing