We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few days in the new forest”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moorhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A few days in the new forest”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from a couple of days in the new forest staying at this hotel the moorhill house hotel we really enjoyed it hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly thank you for looking after us
Keith , Julie

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    229
    103
    56
    32
See reviews for
175
351
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

The location and grounds of this hotel are beautiful. It's surrounded by woodland and lots of wildlife - idyllic it seemed. Unfortunately, our good first impressions of the hotel ended there. On arrival, the welcome wasn't particularly warm. We were asked to pay a £50 'deposit' in case we incurred any charges despite having already paid for the stay - there was some confusion over this charge which made me feel a little uneasy. With barely a smile from the receptionist during check in, it all seemed very perfunctory and half hearted, not welcoming or friendly. Perhaps some tips about the area or provision of local information would be useful at check in, rather than simply handing over the keys and being told to find your bedroom.

The room (no. 14) was very, very disappointing. It was extremely dated - the furniture was old and shabby. Not horrendous, but nonetheless disappointing considering the amount the hotel charge per night! The bathroom, however, was horrendous. There was no shower, merely a hand held attachment which emitted a trickle of water. There was no wall attachment to hold the shower and the shower lead barely stretched over our heads. Therefore our showers consisted of sitting/crouching in the (small) bath tub holding the shower attachment over our heads. Quite a comical situation initially but not when you think about the money being paid...

Breakfast was good. There was a range of food on offer and the service by the waiter and waitress was also good - they were attentive and polite. Another positive of the stay was the free broadband. This was useful considering there was absolutely no mobile reception in the hotel or its grounds - understandable because of its very rural setting.

On check out, again customer service was poor. We handed in our keys, were told we'd have our £50 deposit refunded and then goodbye. There wasn't a single friendly comment or question about our stay - just a lack of basic customer service.

We would not stay in the hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
I am sorry to read of your disappointment during your recent stay at the Moorhill House Hotel. Your comments will be forwarded to the general manager so that she can implement further training where required. Thank you for taking the time write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at Moorhill House Hotel during the Easter Holidays with our two sons, aged 3 and 6. This hotel appealed to me due to the family bedrooms and the fact it was advertised as being very family friendly.

The location is lovely. Very peaceful yet still an easy drive to anywhere in the New Forest. It takes around 10 minute to walk into the small village of Burley, with its gift shops and tearooms - a beautiful stroll in the afternoon sunshine, with several wild ponies to be seen along the way.

Check-in was simple and our room (no. 9), which I must admit I feared would be a disappointment having read some of the reviews on Tripadvisor, turned out to be absolutely perfect for the 4 of us. It was divided into two areas, separated by the bathroom, with a comfortable double bed in one area, and bunk beds in the other. Plenty spacious enough, and with a lovely view of the garden. The room was clean and nicely decorated. There was a bath, with overheard shower (not an attachment) which was hot and powerful. And yes, the floorboards were a little bit creaky, but not noisy enough to wake two sleeping children.

We made use of the indoor swimming pool in the afternoon which the children thoroughly enjoyed. It's small but fine for the children to splash about in, but perhaps not really suitable for any serious swimming. It's nicely designed though, with a pleasant area to sit and watch.

We'd been looking forward to eating in the restaurant having read lots of good reviews. We booked the table for 8pm, which I was made to feel was a bit late by the lady on the phone when I pre-booked. I thought this was a little odd, but given that we wanted to settle our children to bed first and make use of the baby listening service on offer, any earlier would have been difficult. As it turned out, the restaurant was quiet and we were the last ones - the only other couple in the restaurant left before our main course arrived. It certainly wasn't what you'd call 'hip and happening' but the service, once a waiter had appeared to seat us which took quite a while (?!) was very good and the food was delicious. The portions were beautifully presented, and although not large, were perfectly adequate, especially when having 3 courses and a bread roll, which is what's included in the pre-booking price.

Breakfast was varied with lots on offer, although the service was rather hit and miss, I think the waiter serving us could have done with going back to bed! The cooked breakfast wasn't particularly warm, but we all filled-up for the day ahead with no 'supplements' and my son was very excited to see pancakes on the menu.

All in all, a lovely and relaxing night's stay which can't often be said when travelling with two small children. We would have liked to have stayed on for another night, but it would have been too expensive, as we're more used to B&B prices. However, as our first 'family' hotel experience, it was a big success and I would be keen to come again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaFay45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

If you are looking for a good quiet hotel in beautiful surroundings look no further! We have just returned from a family weekend to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. We booked 4 Agister rooms to accommodate us all - including a family room for our young grandsons and a twin room for our 16yr old granddaughters. All the rooms were clean and comfortable and featured a large flat screen tv, a kettle with tea, coffee and biscuits and large bath towels. The staff are friendly and attentive and attended to all our needs. Our 3yr old and 13 month grandsons were made to feel at home - a real family hotel!
Food was very good as was the service. Plenty of choice at breakfast including a good choice of cooked items. We eat in the restaurant on both nights and again there was plenty of choice on the menu and children's meals were provided earlier.
The pool was a welcome place to spend some time after a day exploring. The gardens are beautiful and there is direct access into the woods from the hotel grounds. However, we found the best place to go into the woods was to walk down the lane towards Burley Green and to access the forest on the right hand side. A short way into the forest and there were lots of horses
ponies, a rope swing (on which even a 70+ grandma had a go!) and several wooden camps.
There are lots of beautiful villages close by - Burley is an excellent centre for exploring the New Forest.
We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Moorhill House and hope to return next year. Thoroughly recommended!!

Room Tip: My husband has a mobility problem so we had a ground floor room - no lift - but otherwise would requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia1192242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for one night dinner, bed and breakfast,and can say it is well worth a visit, our room was small but clean and comfortable, the restaurant is first class with it`s choice of dishes, The service from the staff could not have been better. We plan a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights after having spent four days at Center Parc with my daughter, her partner and fourteenth month old granddaughter. It turned out to be peaceful and relaxing with wonderful service. We had an Agister room which was perfectly adequate and provided all the amenities we required except the toiletries were a little sparse. I have to agree with other reviews about the exceptionally creaky floorboards but we did not hear any creaks from other rooms! The food was excellent as was the service and there was ample choice on the menu to eat in the restaurant for two nights running. The access lane has been filled so it was a smooth drive to the hotel. I filled in the hotel questionnaire and was most pleasantly surprised when I received a reply from the manager re our two observations. I would certainly recommend a stay at this hotel and am keen to try out the other three in the New Forest.

Room Tip: If like us you are not dog friendly ask for a room that has not had dogs in it , we did not realise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely quaint hotel in the New Forest. We came here for a nights stay and two days touring the new forest.

Parts of the hotel does require to decoration and the roof areas show some disrepair but the room was clean and the bed comfortable.

We ate in the hotel with friends in the evening. The menu was comprehensive and very tasty and of a higher quality than I expected.

The service from the staff was excellent and we very much enjoyed our meal.

Some lovely areas and villages around the hotel and it was a good base for our visits.

Thoroughly recommended hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yakuzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
348 reviews
6.6 mi away
No photo provided
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
819 reviews
8.6 mi away
No photo provided
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
787 reviews
6.5 mi away
No photo provided
5.5 mi away
No photo provided
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorhill House Hotel

Property: Moorhill House Hotel
Address: | Shappen Bottom, Burley, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 4AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Moorhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorhill Hotel Ringwood
The Moorhill Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel Burley, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing