We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moorhill House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The White Buck - Hotel(Burley)(Great Value!)
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burley Manor(Burley)
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cider Cottages(Burley)(Great Value!)
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Burley Inn Hotel(Burley)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhinefield House Hotel(Brockenhurst)
US$232
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Park Manor(Brockenhurst)
US$288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Lodge Hotel(Brockenhurst)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveller rating
305
259
113
60
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
259
113
60
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew forestpool and saunastaff were all friendlydog towelshotel is situatedtucked awaylovely locationfriendly hotelfamily roombed and breakfastcourse dinnershort breakfour poster bedrelaxing breakeach eveninglounge areaburley village
Filter
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 772 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Really enjoyed this dog friendly hotel which has large lawned garden and is surrounded by the forest itself. Great place for families as it has a small indoor swimming pool. Circa 15 minute stroll over secluded track/road to Burley village with its pubs and cider farm. Staff were all extremely welcoming and very helpful. Must admit that the menu was attempting to be bistro style but not sure that it really pulled it off. Super place to hide away in the forest, centrally situated but not that far from the main A31. Croquet on the lawn anyone?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here with my husband and enjoyed the secluded location in the middle of New Forest, but within walking distance of the quirky village of Burley. The rooms were comfortable, although the bathroom was slightly run down. I can't recommend dinner though - we had much better at the local pubs.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank CGLondon25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of the Moorhill House Hotel and had a comfortable break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from a couple of days in the new forest staying at this hotel the moorhill house hotel we really enjoyed it hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly thank you for looking after us
Keith , Julie

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The location and grounds of this hotel are beautiful. It's surrounded by woodland and lots of wildlife - idyllic it seemed. Unfortunately, our good first impressions of the hotel ended there. On arrival, the welcome wasn't particularly warm. We were asked to pay a £50 'deposit' in case we incurred any charges despite having already paid for the stay - there was some confusion over this charge which made me feel a little uneasy. With barely a smile from the receptionist during check in, it all seemed very perfunctory and half hearted, not welcoming or friendly. Perhaps some tips about the area or provision of local information would be useful at check in, rather than simply handing over the keys and being told to find your bedroom.

The room (no. 14) was very, very disappointing. It was extremely dated - the furniture was old and shabby. Not horrendous, but nonetheless disappointing considering the amount the hotel charge per night! The bathroom, however, was horrendous. There was no shower, merely a hand held attachment which emitted a trickle of water. There was no wall attachment to hold the shower and the shower lead barely stretched over our heads. Therefore our showers consisted of sitting/crouching in the (small) bath tub holding the shower attachment over our heads. Quite a comical situation initially but not when you think about the money being paid...

Breakfast was good. There was a range of food on offer and the service by the waiter and waitress was also good - they were attentive and polite. Another positive of the stay was the free broadband. This was useful considering there was absolutely no mobile reception in the hotel or its grounds - understandable because of its very rural setting.

On check out, again customer service was poor. We handed in our keys, were told we'd have our £50 deposit refunded and then goodbye. There wasn't a single friendly comment or question about our stay - just a lack of basic customer service.

We would not stay in the hotel again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

I am sorry to read of your disappointment during your recent stay at the Moorhill House Hotel. Your comments will be forwarded to the general manager so that she can implement further training where required. Thank you for taking the time write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at Moorhill House Hotel during the Easter Holidays with our two sons, aged 3 and 6. This hotel appealed to me due to the family bedrooms and the fact it was advertised as being very family friendly.

The location is lovely. Very peaceful yet still an easy drive to anywhere in the New Forest. It takes around 10 minute to walk into the small village of Burley, with its gift shops and tearooms - a beautiful stroll in the afternoon sunshine, with several wild ponies to be seen along the way.

Check-in was simple and our room (no. 9), which I must admit I feared would be a disappointment having read some of the reviews on Tripadvisor, turned out to be absolutely perfect for the 4 of us. It was divided into two areas, separated by the bathroom, with a comfortable double bed in one area, and bunk beds in the other. Plenty spacious enough, and with a lovely view of the garden. The room was clean and nicely decorated. There was a bath, with overheard shower (not an attachment) which was hot and powerful. And yes, the floorboards were a little bit creaky, but not noisy enough to wake two sleeping children.

We made use of the indoor swimming pool in the afternoon which the children thoroughly enjoyed. It's small but fine for the children to splash about in, but perhaps not really suitable for any serious swimming. It's nicely designed though, with a pleasant area to sit and watch.

We'd been looking forward to eating in the restaurant having read lots of good reviews. We booked the table for 8pm, which I was made to feel was a bit late by the lady on the phone when I pre-booked. I thought this was a little odd, but given that we wanted to settle our children to bed first and make use of the baby listening service on offer, any earlier would have been difficult. As it turned out, the restaurant was quiet and we were the last ones - the only other couple in the restaurant left before our main course arrived. It certainly wasn't what you'd call 'hip and happening' but the service, once a waiter had appeared to seat us which took quite a while (?!) was very good and the food was delicious. The portions were beautifully presented, and although not large, were perfectly adequate, especially when having 3 courses and a bread roll, which is what's included in the pre-booking price.

Breakfast was varied with lots on offer, although the service was rather hit and miss, I think the waiter serving us could have done with going back to bed! The cooked breakfast wasn't particularly warm, but we all filled-up for the day ahead with no 'supplements' and my son was very excited to see pancakes on the menu.

All in all, a lovely and relaxing night's stay which can't often be said when travelling with two small children. We would have liked to have stayed on for another night, but it would have been too expensive, as we're more used to B&B prices. However, as our first 'family' hotel experience, it was a big success and I would be keen to come again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaFay45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews