We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moorhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
Level Contributor
376 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Lunch could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We went as a family for Sunday lunch. The venue is tucked away in the New Forest and is a little hard to find if you miss the narrow turn off. Lots of interesting properties on the way, great views. The restaurant is uninteresting, just what would expect from a hotel. No atmosphere. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The set lunch menu had 4 choices for each course. The starters were below average. By the time we got to the table those who opted for the fish starter were told it was no longer available. The chicken and parma ham salad was poor. All croutons, three had little/no parma ham. Guess they were running out of things fast in the kitchen. The soup was good. Mains were a little better, the best being the beef which was very tender. At least the food was hot. The desserts saved the day. Would we go back? Sorry, no.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HudsonS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
I am sorry you had a disappointing experience for your lunch at the Moorhill House Hotel. This is not our usual level of service and I will ensure your comments are investigated by the general manager and head chef. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    222
    101
    49
    29
See reviews for
167
339
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Fantastic setting and we were impressed by our family room which had lots of space and was nicely presented. The hotel has obviously been recently re-decorated and the interior and exterior spaces are pleasant and stylish. Also pleased with the indoor pool, which although small is adequate for a dip.

However there were a couple of negatives:
- The bar is only staffed intermittently (on demand) and the person serving had clearly little experience. For instance he didnt seem to understand that the glass should be tilted when pouring a beer. Surely Bartender page 1!
- We had to wait for 1 hour for our food to arrive in the restaurant, and were told that we confused things by not ordering a starter! The food was OK when it arrived, but overpriced. The addition of a few more vegetables would have made such a difference. 1 piece of beef, 1 carrot, 3 potatoes and a yorkshire pud for £16 far too steep. Overall standard of serving staff was poor, they even ask how the meal was and really just left us to our own devices.\

Shame, as we really liked the room and hotel overall but the restaurant was a let-down and will probably mean we wont be re-visiting.

Room Tip: Room 1 is a big family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pemmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the room allocated for your stay at the Moorhill House Hotel, and that you overall had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your comments regarding the bar staff and restaurant service. We appreciate guest feedback as it helps us to monitor our service, and I will ensure your comments are investigate further by the general manager so that staff training can be implemented where required. Your comments regarding the size of the portions has been forwarded to the head chef to ensure that all dishes served are a standard size offering good value to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Really enjoyed this dog friendly hotel which has large lawned garden and is surrounded by the forest itself. Great place for families as it has a small indoor swimming pool. Circa 15 minute stroll over secluded track/road to Burley village with its pubs and cider farm. Staff were all extremely welcoming and very helpful. Must admit that the menu was attempting to be bistro style but not sure that it really pulled it off. Super place to hide away in the forest, centrally situated but not that far from the main A31. Croquet on the lawn anyone?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here with my husband and enjoyed the secluded location in the middle of New Forest, but within walking distance of the quirky village of Burley. The rooms were comfortable, although the bathroom was slightly run down. I can't recommend dinner though - we had much better at the local pubs.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CGLondon25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of the Moorhill House Hotel and had a comfortable break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from a couple of days in the new forest staying at this hotel the moorhill house hotel we really enjoyed it hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly thank you for looking after us
Keith , Julie

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

The location and grounds of this hotel are beautiful. It's surrounded by woodland and lots of wildlife - idyllic it seemed. Unfortunately, our good first impressions of the hotel ended there. On arrival, the welcome wasn't particularly warm. We were asked to pay a £50 'deposit' in case we incurred any charges despite having already paid for the stay - there was some confusion over this charge which made me feel a little uneasy. With barely a smile from the receptionist during check in, it all seemed very perfunctory and half hearted, not welcoming or friendly. Perhaps some tips about the area or provision of local information would be useful at check in, rather than simply handing over the keys and being told to find your bedroom.

The room (no. 14) was very, very disappointing. It was extremely dated - the furniture was old and shabby. Not horrendous, but nonetheless disappointing considering the amount the hotel charge per night! The bathroom, however, was horrendous. There was no shower, merely a hand held attachment which emitted a trickle of water. There was no wall attachment to hold the shower and the shower lead barely stretched over our heads. Therefore our showers consisted of sitting/crouching in the (small) bath tub holding the shower attachment over our heads. Quite a comical situation initially but not when you think about the money being paid...

Breakfast was good. There was a range of food on offer and the service by the waiter and waitress was also good - they were attentive and polite. Another positive of the stay was the free broadband. This was useful considering there was absolutely no mobile reception in the hotel or its grounds - understandable because of its very rural setting.

On check out, again customer service was poor. We handed in our keys, were told we'd have our £50 deposit refunded and then goodbye. There wasn't a single friendly comment or question about our stay - just a lack of basic customer service.

We would not stay in the hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
I am sorry to read of your disappointment during your recent stay at the Moorhill House Hotel. Your comments will be forwarded to the general manager so that she can implement further training where required. Thank you for taking the time write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at Moorhill House Hotel during the Easter Holidays with our two sons, aged 3 and 6. This hotel appealed to me due to the family bedrooms and the fact it was advertised as being very family friendly.

The location is lovely. Very peaceful yet still an easy drive to anywhere in the New Forest. It takes around 10 minute to walk into the small village of Burley, with its gift shops and tearooms - a beautiful stroll in the afternoon sunshine, with several wild ponies to be seen along the way.

Check-in was simple and our room (no. 9), which I must admit I feared would be a disappointment having read some of the reviews on Tripadvisor, turned out to be absolutely perfect for the 4 of us. It was divided into two areas, separated by the bathroom, with a comfortable double bed in one area, and bunk beds in the other. Plenty spacious enough, and with a lovely view of the garden. The room was clean and nicely decorated. There was a bath, with overheard shower (not an attachment) which was hot and powerful. And yes, the floorboards were a little bit creaky, but not noisy enough to wake two sleeping children.

We made use of the indoor swimming pool in the afternoon which the children thoroughly enjoyed. It's small but fine for the children to splash about in, but perhaps not really suitable for any serious swimming. It's nicely designed though, with a pleasant area to sit and watch.

We'd been looking forward to eating in the restaurant having read lots of good reviews. We booked the table for 8pm, which I was made to feel was a bit late by the lady on the phone when I pre-booked. I thought this was a little odd, but given that we wanted to settle our children to bed first and make use of the baby listening service on offer, any earlier would have been difficult. As it turned out, the restaurant was quiet and we were the last ones - the only other couple in the restaurant left before our main course arrived. It certainly wasn't what you'd call 'hip and happening' but the service, once a waiter had appeared to seat us which took quite a while (?!) was very good and the food was delicious. The portions were beautifully presented, and although not large, were perfectly adequate, especially when having 3 courses and a bread roll, which is what's included in the pre-booking price.

Breakfast was varied with lots on offer, although the service was rather hit and miss, I think the waiter serving us could have done with going back to bed! The cooked breakfast wasn't particularly warm, but we all filled-up for the day ahead with no 'supplements' and my son was very excited to see pancakes on the menu.

All in all, a lovely and relaxing night's stay which can't often be said when travelling with two small children. We would have liked to have stayed on for another night, but it would have been too expensive, as we're more used to B&B prices. However, as our first 'family' hotel experience, it was a big success and I would be keen to come again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaFay45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
6.6 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
6.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorhill House Hotel

Property: Moorhill House Hotel
Address: | Shappen Bottom, Burley, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 4AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Moorhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorhill Hotel Ringwood
The Moorhill Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel Burley, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing