We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely surroundings,comfortable with good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moorhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
London England
Level Contributor
603 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Lovely surroundings,comfortable with good food”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We visited the hotel for 1 night whilst at a wedding hosted by the hotel and found it to be clean, comfortable and in perfect surroundings.

The food was good however the portion sizes could have been a little bigger but it was still enough to fill you up.

My biggest issue was that the service in both of the bars was pretty poor, nearly every time that I visited the bar there was nobody around actually serving at it and sometimes resulted in a long wait to get some drinks, I also know that several other members of the wedding party had this issue as well and given that the hotel was actually hosting a wedding you would think that they would put on additional staff members to cope with the increase in demand.

All in all we had a pleasant stay and if the price was right would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    226
    101
    55
    32
See reviews for
170
349
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We visited this hotel for Sunday lunch which was offered as part of a deal. On arrival we were very impressed with the premise which has obviously be recently renevated. Reception staff very pleasant as was the greeting. When asked we decided we would have a drink before our meal and were guided through to the bar, Oh! dear this was the start of our disappointment. Firstly the bar maid was clearly inexperienced in bar work, she was unable to pronounce the name of the wines on sale, when she poured out a pint of beer she gave extremely short measure which even when pointed out to her she was reluctant to fill the glass to the measured pint line. Then came the real shock four drinks cost almost £26.oo, the most I have paid any where.

We then went into the dining room and were given a table right below an air conditioning unit which blew a draught down on us the whole time, unfortunately the place was full so we were not able to move tables. Then whilst waiting for menus three drinks were brought to the table and the waiter was bewildered when we explained they were not ours, he then wandered about with them until he found their owners. We had placed our order and waited for our starters, a waitress came with two starters, not ours and when told they were not ours she asked if we were sure they were not ours and then just stood there holding them, she just did not know what to do. We had ordered roast beef from the menu which when it came it was either braised or casseroled beef definitely not roast. The meal itself although well cooked was not presented very well and was only luke warm. We asked for water and were given some from a jug that had not been recently filled, there was noice in it and it was not chilled. The desserts were the best part of the meal and were served by a different girl, a trainee manager according to her badge. She was very efficient and knew what she should do and carried it out very well.

Overall views, premises in an excellent location and very attractive building inside and out. Unfortunately the staff were either in for the day or were baly in need of some training. The meal was quite nice but would have been better had it been hot and had it been what was advertised on the menu. Would I go again? reluctantly perhaps just to see if the service had improved but I would not ourchase drinks there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamiki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I am sorry you were disappointed with your meal at the Moorhill House Hotel. This is not our usual level of service and I do hope you will consider visiting us again in the future so that we can prove this to you. We have recently recruited some new staff at the hotel who have all been going through training, and hopefully this will show on your next visit. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Well the description on the website says it all, it is in the Forrest and surrounded by peace and tranquility.
On entering the hotel we were greeted by a friendly receptionist and found that our
Allocated room on the 1st floor looked out over the hotels approach road, fields and Forrest.
The room had everything we needed and had a large bathroom. On the first night we eat in the Hotel as we had been offered a deal when booking. The meal was of a very good standard and although some choices from the menu had a supplement there was still plenty of choice to have.
The deal included a bottle of wine and there was a choice of 6 different wines. The food was all very good quality and was all freshly prepared. The staff were polite friendly and attentive.
There was good choice for breakfast of both hot and cold food again hot food freshly prepared The lounges and the bar at the hotel were well furnished and the hotel was well decorated and very clean. There was a good
Garden area and plenty of tables and chairs to sit on in good weather. We very. Much enjoyed our stay and will be returning. We did not use the pool area

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gandjowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Myself and my partner stayed for 1 night this weekend (originally booked for 2 but due to an elderly dog who was unsettled we left a day early). We had stayed before and had a lovely time. The staff are what makes this hotel so special. They really can't do enough for you. Very dog friendly, welcoming and the food is superb. The staff care about the customers and this makes for a lovely stay. We'd highly recommend this hotel, yes the rooms are a bit basic but it doesn't matter. If you want a warm friendly welcome and a very dog friendly hotel then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The first thing you notice about the hotel apart from the location is how welcoming and friendly the staff are. We had a standard room which was clean but very basic, next door to the linen room. The amenities are certainly not luxurious - not even complimentary bottles of water and only one easy chair. However this was one of the cheapest rooms so I guess we shouldn't expect luxury! Overall a pleasant stay although getting a drink in the bar took ages as there didn't seem to be enough staff to cater for the guests and the wedding party staying on the same day. Breakfast was good but not the best we have had - again the service was quite slow when the dining room was busy.The location is great - we had two dogs with us and there are suitable walks from the hotel - we even saw a deer in the woods at the back.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are quiet with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your break at Moorhill House Hotel. Your comments regarding the staffing levels have been forwarded on to the General Manager. I am pleased to read that you overall had an enjoyable stay and hope you will consider visiting one of our hotels in the New Forest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A tucked away, charming hotel. Staff were all very pleasant & extremely helpful. Our room did have very noisy floorboards, but it is an old building. Thats the only negative. It was a lovely stay that we had & even spoilt ourselves by having breakfast in our room both days - such a treat & a huge breakfast! Also had afternoon tea in the lounge overlooking the gardens - lovely! Would definately recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
379 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We went as a family for Sunday lunch. The venue is tucked away in the New Forest and is a little hard to find if you miss the narrow turn off. Lots of interesting properties on the way, great views. The restaurant is uninteresting, just what would expect from a hotel. No atmosphere. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The set lunch menu had 4 choices for each course. The starters were below average. By the time we got to the table those who opted for the fish starter were told it was no longer available. The chicken and parma ham salad was poor. All croutons, three had little/no parma ham. Guess they were running out of things fast in the kitchen. The soup was good. Mains were a little better, the best being the beef which was very tender. At least the food was hot. The desserts saved the day. Would we go back? Sorry, no.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HudsonS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
I am sorry you had a disappointing experience for your lunch at the Moorhill House Hotel. This is not our usual level of service and I will ensure your comments are investigated by the general manager and head chef. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
324 reviews
6.6 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
805 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
827 reviews
6.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
704 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorhill House Hotel

Property: Moorhill House Hotel
Address: | Shappen Bottom, Burley, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 4AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Moorhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorhill Hotel Ringwood
The Moorhill Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel Burley, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing