We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moorhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed here for just one night with my daughter and my grandsons (ages 6 & 8) and we ALL wished it had been longer. Receptionist friendly and welcoming - nothing too much trouble. Lovely big room (Room 1) - with a bit of separation from the boys! - and everything you could ask for: clean, comfortable, well stocked hospitality tray. Nice little indoor pool - which we had to ourselves on both occasions we used it. Restaurant was very pleasant and the food excellent - both quality and choice - and, although it was quite busy and there were only 2 staff looking after us, they both did a brilliant job and the service was excellent too. Although our stay was too short to do much exploring, the hotel is really well placed for the New Forest and for the Dorset coast - we were on the beach half an hour after leaving. Because the hotel is in the heart of the forest and some way from a road, and the layout is 'country house' with rooms tucked away in corners almost, it was also one of the quietist places I've ever stayed. All-in-all, a lovely hotel with great staff - the receptionist (who also served tea!), even helped organise the boys with 'goal posts' on the lawn for their football game! We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Given the age and design of the building, I suspect all the rooms are different - the reviews reflec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is tucked away nicely in a quiet location with beautiful views across the new forest (behind the wooded area at the rear of the car park). We stayed for a couple of nights on the DB&B deal and although the food, service and general ambience were very good, the room we stayed in was decidedly tired looking, although it was clean and the tea/coffee supplies were topped up each morning and the room 'serviced' each day so beds were made and bins emptied. Beds very comfortable. Don't know what the other rooms were like but ours desperately needed modernising and the painted wood chip paper in the bathroom (seriously?!) has to go. The indoor pool was on the small side but wasn't too busy if you sussed out the timings. All said and done we would come again, after all it not just about the room its where you are and the service (everyone really friendly). We enjoyed our couple of days in Burley.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Darene2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Moorhill House is located about a mile from the very small village of Burley in England's New Forest. While it is physically isolated, the wifi is good, the food is excellent (although the service quality varied a bit) the rooms are large and comfortable. A great place to relax without feeling you should be off site seeing or engaging in any other activity. Sometimes you need a break - and Moorhill house provides it.

Room Tip: Room 28 has a very nice balcony; only one other room shares it and none of the other rooms has a bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tnsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We arrived at the new forest to beautiful weather which was a bonus! We checked in to our room the 3 lady receptionist just about spoke to us asked us to sign the booking in form with reg etc that was it!! A huge shock from our last visit the receptionist made time to ask us about our journey down and made an effort to speak to our children! We were ignored at the bar the receptionist just about grunted what can I get for you having known we were there waiting for at least 20 minutes! ! The restaurant staff were really good made us feel welcome Darren the restaurant manager was very professional and happy done a good job! Maybe Darren should educate the reception staff?? We stayed in room 10 a family room was very dated but ok the bathroom was very tired in desperate need of a refurb.... the location and gardens are lovely not to sure if I would return again ..

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

I am pleased that you overall had an enjoyable stay at Moorhill House Hotel. I am however sorry you experienced some service issues on check-in, I will ensure the General Manager addresses your feedback with staff. I do hope you will consider returning for another visit in the future and thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Lovely setting down a track off the road, and perfect for New Forest- the DB&B deal was great value and the food was very good overall. The breakfast was wonderful- no air con in our room meant it was pretty hot! The staff were really friendly- if a little stretched. Some of them were new and a bit clueless, but others were really professional- so overall it was a little inconsistent.
I think this place could be incredible with a facelift on the rooms which are all pretty 80's and a bit tired. They need a few more staff and to create some atmosphere in the bar would also help a little - dimming the lights from 'full beam' and playing some decent music. There are nice areas to sit and the garden is pretty - which means you can forgive the other downsides.
A wedding was on when we were there, but it didn't hinder our stay. The pool is pretty small, but our daughter enjoyed having a splash around. They are very accommodating of families and kids, and serve early suppers, have good kids menus and breakfast options. All in all, good value, lovely location - a little tired around the edges, but a good bet as a New Forest base.

Room Tip: Keep away from rooms above the bar /front door- we had a very large, if dated accessibility room- qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bakingcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

First of all, beautiful location. Warm reception, but was told that we needed to place a £50 deposit on hold and that they will release it at the end of the stay.
Breakfast 1st day was good but very slow service we ended up getting room service breakfast on the 2nd morning which was quick efficient and nice.
We didn't eat at the hotel for evenings but found lovely pubs near by.
Hardly saw any staff around.
Room was nice and clean. Creaky floorboards though!!!
My boyfriend used the pool and sauna, which was ok!Would recommend the hotel to have some loungers by the pool instead of just chairs.
No one ever at the bar, think this is a request service.
Check out was quick and efficient and was told that my £50 would be released. After 2 days in the Newforest we was going straight to a different holiday to Great yarmouth. Checked my bank after 1 day and no money still in my account,Was told by them that it would take 5 working days!!!!!!! Was not told this during check in nor check out. This is why i have rated them 3 stars, and would have rated them higher if it wasn't for this problem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank kokochoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Moorhill House Hotel. I am however sorry you experienced some service issues at the bar. This is not our usual level of service and I have passed your feedback to the General Manager. Unfortunately creaky floorboards are part of the character and age of the hotel, however our maintenance team do try to reduce this as much as possible. We pre-authorise all our guests for the remaining balance and we would like to apologise for the delay of the funds being released back to your bank. It is standard procedure that as soon as our guests check out, the bank is notified. I am pleased that you had an overall good stay and enjoyed the swimming pool. . I do hope you will consider returning for another visit in the future and thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife & I stayed here 11-12 July 2014 for a weekend away in the new forest.

We booked via there central reservations telephone number and were warned that a wedding will be taking place on the Friday night but was told "don't worry" we will put you in one of our quitter rooms which is upstairs over the front entrance so will be away from the noise of the wedding (room no 5) what a dump !!!!!

just getting to the room the floor was creaking but on entering through a glass panelled wall with a door we entered the room to find that curtains were it with regards to privacy so every time somebody walked pass the door the floor creaked

Anyway inspecting the room it was dirty, the windows seals, worktops, ipod player & tv remote all looked like they had not been cleaned for months and the carpet needed a good hover.

In the bathroom the showerhead was blocked so I had to clean it to get a water jet, the toilet roll holder was a free standing chrome unit that had dust & rust all around the base & standing next to the toilet god only knows how it got wet to start rusting !!!

Anyway after having an evening meal at the hotel (in which the food was lovely 10 out of 10) we went to the bar for a drink (which was full of the wedding party) so waited a long time to be served as there was only one member of staff serving!!!!

A man ordered a Archers & lemonade which the person behind the bar started to put in a pint glass !!!!!!

My wife ordered a vodka & lemonade which the bar staff put the lemonade in the glass first then could not find the vodka so my wife said its behind you in the optic, it was like no body knew what they were doing.

Eventually bedtime came, so we went to our room at approx. 11:45 ..........to sleep then at 12:45am we were woke up by shouting and banging doors so rang reception to ask what all the noise was to find out that we had been put in a room above the bar area !!!
And the banging door was the main reception door as all the drunk wedding guests leaving..so was so mad on asking when the bar closes was told not until 1am

So we asked to be moved NOW which reception sent up a member of staff to show us to a better room in a quieter location ?

So we moved rooms at 12:50am to a room which looked like it was in a different hotel, it was modern, bigger, BUT still not very clean as the carpet had all sort of stains & hair on it but we were so tired went to bed.

Next morning went to breakfast to find out that it was the same staff member that showed us to the room at 12:50am and went on to say "sorry I have only been here 3 weeks"...in fact we did not see any member of staff that had a clue.

Breakfast on the second morning was just a joke, we ordered our breakfast 3 times with the different members of staff which they got wrong and on checking out was given our balance to pay and did not even get asked if our stay was ok or sorry for the room move/noise etc.

Most premier Inns we have stayed at are far more value for money !!!!!!!!!!

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED !!!!!

Room Tip: We had two rooms, room 5 and 32 both not good as walls paper thin so noise a problem, speaking to ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Mark_A_Hunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
407 reviews
9.0 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
833 reviews
6.6 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
901 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorhill House Hotel

Address: | Shappen Bottom, Burley, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Price Range: £52 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Moorhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorhill Hotel Ringwood
The Moorhill Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel Burley, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing