We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (814)
Filter reviews
814 results
Traveller rating
326
266
117
65
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
266
117
65
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new forest pool and sauna dog towels red letter day staff were all friendly hotel is situated lovely location off the beaten track tucked away friendly hotel wedding venue short break family room four poster bed each evening dinner menu lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 814 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

On Booking.com and the actual website, the rooms looked well kept, clean and modern.

When we arrived, we were sorely disappointed, our room was a massive let down as the room looks nothing like the photos.

We asked for a twin room and got two single beds pushed together. The plug sockets were behind the bed and we had to move furniture to access. The bathroom light switch was difficult to find. Personally, The bathroom needs a complete overhaul.

Breakfast was poor, we had to check our own names of the list along with other guests. No staff around to seat us or offer us any tea or coffee.
No bacon, only one sausage left at 8:30am, mushroom and beans were cold.

When we checked in, staff didn’t advise us about the wedding, music was played loudly till 12pm. (Not great if you had kids)

The only great thing about this hotel is the location, I personally wouldn’t recommend staying here.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Off the beaten track is Moorhill House Hotel. I found it to be a bit tired and in need of redecorating. An old fashioned house with steep stairs , but large garden and adequate parking
A quite weekend away with my wife was shattered by a vibrant wedding of some people from Brazil.
We were told that dinner would be later than planned , due to the wedding over running
Dinner was a bit disappointing I expected better.
The wedding seemed to dictate other guests requirements
Nice people and obviously exited at getting married, but noisy , noise went on with loud wedding guests leaving at up to 2 am
We could have been warned it’s a wedding venue.
Breakfast was adequate.
Staff in bar and reception slow. Toilet took a quarter of an hour to fill up so laid in bed listening it to. It.
All in all a good week application a bit by wedding and slow service.
Would I come back ? Yes , providing no weddings and service improved
I would give this a 6/10 with room for improvement

Stayed: July 2018
Thank rtr2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

I travel a lot for business staying away 4-5 nights each week.

Booked the Moorhill on the off chance and so glad I did.

Missing the turning off as it is a bit hidden but as you will discover this is part of the charm.

Once down the drive its like stepping into Narnia as it's a different world... For the better.

I feel I love with this place from the off.

The rooms were well layed out and Spacious.

I didn't done as I'm on a strict diet and arrived too late to get something prepared (+ the England semi final match was just about to start!)

The relaxed atmosphere of this place has to be experienced especially sitting in the garden in a summer evening.

Will definitely be back soon and will bring my wife next time.

Keep up the good work.

..and thank you :-)

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Gareth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Tucked away down a narrow track, great for walks in the forest accessed straight from the car park, but could imagine it causing issues in busy seasons as there are few passing places. Dogs made welcome, towel supply for paw wiping at the entrance. Breakfast enjoyable, but the soup and sandwich I had one evening was bland, and another first time visitor I met hadn't enjoyed their meal at all. Nice place to stay if you are a pet owner

Stayed: May 2018
Thank OneStep4ward14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

I wanted a quiet weekend and that's what I got in this wonderful hotel.

Off the beaten track and secluded in the heart of the forest.

Food was excellent if you book dinner when you book your room don't forget there's a £25 limit...I forgot so had extra charges would have been good for them to clarify this on check in

Staff were wonderful

Will definatly return

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank TamsenWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews