We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor poor food and service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Buck - Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Buck - Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Burley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor poor food and service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Lifeless atmosphere with a barmaid who shouted so loud customers in the garden could hear her.
Roast beef and Yorkshire puddings stone cold and the kids portions wouldn't have been enough for our lap dog.
Very very poor and it was our wedding anniversary as well which upset my wife.
Setting excellent it has to be said.

Room Tip: Didn't stay in hotel just ate in restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    168
    40
    14
    13
See reviews for
129
374
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We attended on a lovely warm spring evening chosing to sit outside on the veranda. Big mistake!!

There were no complaints about the food at all. However, there wasn't any candles on the outside tables (ironically there were on the inside tables) and everyone outside was getting bitten to death. One table near us resorted to burning bits of paper to create smoke to keep them away. It would have been nice to have had the opportunity of a candle, as this may have assisted. We left immedately after eating as my husband suffered 30 bites in the short time it took us to get and eat our food. I think we must have ate a fair few of them as they were all around faces whilst trying to eat. Not the fault of the hotel but maybe candles or something could be put on the outside tables where people are sitting/eating. We wouldn't go there in the evening to sit outside again, which is a shame as they have a beautiful garden.

The other thing we didn't enjoy was paying the same price as the people inside who got full service (and no mosiquitoes) and we had to get our own cutlery, napkins, condiments from an outside station open to the eliments and insects. There was also children playing with everything on the station - who knows what was on their grubby little fingers.

The food was of a good standard and very enjoyable and they have a nice menu.

Room Tip: We didn't stay we were dining only as we are local.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Icklecottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was a fabulous place to stay on our way to Lulworth. In the middle of the new forest and surrounded with wild horses.
We had dinner last night which was really nice and our room was called an indulgence. Which was in the new part. Fabulous and I would really recommend it! We want to return for a long weekend.

Room Tip: Recommend the indulgence room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed in the Cosy Room and the Rufus Room. Both were lovely. Very nicely furnished, modern and clean. No disturbance from the pub / restaurant at this time of year (April off-peak) in these rooms at all. The beds are extremely comfortable. Nice touches with a food hamper instead of mini-bar fridge and fresh milk for the tea / coffee in room. Location is really beautiful, away from main road and surrounded by gardens and woods. Would definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very impressed with the White Buck on arrival, easy to find and very warm welcome at reception. Upon going to our room we were disappointed that it was right next to the Gents, but thats the price to pay for bringing our furry friend. When we opened the door the missus was instantly pleased with the room, large, well kept (apart from the mirrors which had been sprayed but forgot to wipe them) and a huge bed.

We dumped our stuff and immediately went out walking, loads of nice walks nearby, it really is in the heart of everything.

First night we slept very well until the morning when we were woken up by cleaning staff, but it was 8.30am by then so not too bad. Breakfast was superb, with a good buffet and a good full english, all washed down by fresh bread and tea/coffee.

The grounds are ample and with great weather a pleasure to spend some time in the bar garden area enjoying their cider/wine/beer...

Second night was equally comfortable and we made full use of the excellent bathroom area with fantastic wet room. Also forgot to mention a very nice welcome pack in the room, tea making kit and a reasonably well stocked goody basket (v pricey though!).

We ate exclusively at the White Hart during our stay, the first night we eat from the a la carte, and we had fantastic meals including a to die for toffee pudding. The Sunday daytime we could only choose from the Sunday menu and unfortunately the same reduced menu was all that was available for dinner... a bit limiting.

All in all tho, would go back, whilst expensive it gives reasonable value for money.

Room Tip: Knightwood is a lovely room, but as said is by the Gents, so may get a little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We were back in The New Forest for a few days with the children and this time stayed at the newly refurbished White Buck. What a difference from the dark, old-fashioned place we visited on our last stay here. The hotel is now light and airy but still with traditional and quirky features. There is a gorgeous bay window seat opposite the bar and the gun room is a great place to sit and relax after a day out walking, cycling or horse riding (all of which we did in the beautiful setting of the New Forest). The outside area has also been improved and is a pleasant place to sit in the sunshine. A huge brick oven has been built which promises dining with a difference in the summer. The food was delicious during our stay and service friendly. The hotel is within walking distance of Burley and it's central location is a big plus.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTSMOUTH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We have just had a weekend break at The White Buck upon arrival you couldn't ask for a nicer look as you drive up to the building , although we had to wait for our room to be prepared( not there fault we were early) we had the Rufus room ( outside room out of the hotel) when we walked in it looked lovely very spacious and a walk in shower ' basically fitted out for the disabled . We did have a problem with the glasses and surrounding area being a bit grubby ( not cleaned or dusted) we told the reception
And it was dealt with in our absence , no one came back to us and followed up the problem . Asking us if we were happy , we did think this was strange , the bar and restaurant staff were all very polite . There is a very nice atmosphere in the bar areas , we did find the menu with not much to our liking ( personal choice) for the second night we ate at the Burley Inn in the village ( found it reasonable cost and a good choice of home cooking)
It's our first trip to the new forest we will return ' albeit to another hotel

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Thisadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.8 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Buck - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Buck - Hotel

Property: The White Buck - Hotel
Address: Bisterne Close | Burley, Burley, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 4AZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Burley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Buck - Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Buck - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Buck Hotel Ringwood
White Buck Inn
The White Buck - Hotel Burley, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing