We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Buck - Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Moorhill House Hotel(Burley)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Burley Manor(Burley)
US$305
US$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Lodge Hotel(Brockenhurst)(Great Value!)
US$154
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cloud Hotel(Brockenhurst)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$347
US$337
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmer Lawn(Brockenhurst)
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa(New Milton)
US$871
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (978)
Filter reviews
978 results
Traveller rating
629
251
60
19
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
629
251
60
19
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindulgence roomnew forestwalk in showerhomemade biscuitslovely hotelcomfy roomroll top bathlittle touchesbeautiful locationbar areaexcellent staythe pubexcellent foodopen firestayed for one nightrelaxing stayan evening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
894 - 899 of 978 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We have just recently stayed for 2 nights and had a brilliant time. The room was beautiful, clean and quiet. The service was second to none. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and made the time to chat with you and make you feel like an old friend. The food was absolutely splendid. It was so lovely that we are going to visit again (and it is a very long drive from the North to get there). I would recommend The White Buck to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ctut24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteBuckInnManager, Manager at The White Buck - Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

It is always lovely to see that the hard work the team put in is really starting to pay off. We love showing off our hotel/pub to everyone as we are really proud of how the White Buck is developing since its refurbishment.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards
Annette Patnell
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We have stayed here several times which speaks for itself. The rooms are beautifully furnished with quality linen and lots if specially little touches. The only thing that I'm not so keen on are the doors to the ensuit, they look really lovely and I appreciate the aesthetics, but the light shining through in the middle if the night if you use the bathroom? I did not put this in previous
Reviews as it seemed picky but sorry had to this time.
Do love this hotel and would recommend though.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beverleyb276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteBuckInnManager, Manager at The White Buck - Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hi Beverley,

Thank you for your review, we are in fact snagging at the moment as the 6 month refresh is up so all the little things that us and our guests have spotted and mentioned are being dealt with.

We hope when you come back there will be no more little issues but we are always happy to have these pointed out so that we can fix them.

Kind regards
Annette Patnell
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed here for August bank holiday weekend and loved it. The rooms are so nice you forget you are actually staying in a pub and the location is perfect for exploring all that the New Forest has to offer. It is important to remember that it is a pub though so don't expect everything that you would find in a hotel such as room service and flexibility over eating (we were told we couldn't have anything other than sandwiches from the menu in our room). That said the staff were in the main extremely polite and helpful and I'm sure we will return

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusyTraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteBuckInnManager, Manager at The White Buck - Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your review, we are looking at broadening our offerings on rooms service currently, but due to there not being anywhere to really eat in the rooms other than sitting on the bed we do only currently offer cold food or continental breakfast in the rooms.

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Annette Patnell
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We found The White Buck on the internet whilst searching for a one night stay at a dog friendly hotel in The New Forest, to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
With a small amount of uncertainty we booked in but were so thankful that we did!

The staff were all helpful, polite and welcoming, the rooms were superb, clean and had everything we needed, plus a bowl of welcome biscuits for our dog (nice touch!!).

The décor, bar area, restaurant, garden, food, service, lobby, communal areas, Gun room, all just WOW, we just couldn't have chosen better, especially for the money.

We will be returning when work and funds allow and can highly recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

Many thanks to all of the staff who made our anniversary so special.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cliff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteBuckInnManager, Manager at The White Buck - Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hi Cliff,

Thank you for your review, it is always so lovely to hear when we get it right and I love the heading you chose.

We pride ourselves on making it a place to stay for everyone, including the Woof's and hope that we will welcome you all back soon.

Kind regards
Annette Patnell
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed in the Rufus room which was beautiful. Large comfy bed, massive bathroom. Even had our own car park spot right next to the front door of the room!
Breakfast in the morning was delicious and plenty of it.
The meals in the evening are wonderful, probably some of the best food I have ever had.

Will defiantly return in the near future!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShermieAdventureClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteBuckInnManager, Manager at The White Buck - Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. The Rufus room is one of my favourites, especially with the little patio area as well. It was designed to be an accessible room so has something for everyone.

I shall of course pass on the food compliments to the kitchen, they love creating the specials and really strive to offer home cooked, local food.

Hopefully we will see you again, for some more great food and the Rufus room again?

Kind regards
Annette Patnell
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews