We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beer!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Burley Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Burley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Excellent beer!!!!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Just stopped for a pint and it was fantastic, the fire was blazing away and very friendly, service great also so enjoy a cosy stop if your passing. I did not use the hotel so could not comment the rooms but as the place was impeccable I would have not doubts .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank debcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    84
    32
    13
    13
See reviews for
57
144
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DORSET
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Went to this pub with my husband , daughter and granddaughter yesterday and although we have been there many times over the past few years we had to walk out and go to the Queens Head across the road because the Burley Inn do not have high chairs , what an extremely shortsighted policy in a tourist area. We had a lovely meal in the Queens Head and were made very welcome. We will not be returning to the Burley Inn !!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MADGEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife and I travelled to Burley today for a wander around the shops and decided to have a bite to eat while we were there. The Queens Head was full so we walked to the Burley Inn where they had plenty of tables available-something that worried me a little but thankfully the fears were completely unfounded. We found a quiet window table and ordered drinks before choosing our lunch. My wife went for the half roast chicken and I opted for the steak and kidney pudding. Once our order had been taken at the bar (By a very friendly and helpful member of staff) we chatted for a bit and made use of the free wifi that was a nice touch.
We only had a short wait for the food to arrive and when it did we were both impressed. Both plates were full with roast potatoes and vegetables to accompany the main attraction and tasted every bit as good as they smelt. The only slight downside was that a couple of the roast potatoes were slightly firm in the centre which was a bit of a letdown but didn't really spoil the lunch at all.
After lunch our plates were cleared quickly and left to carry on our stroll round the village. All in all I was more than impressed with the pub-a feeling that has been shared by the majority of the reviewers on here-and would certainly return if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sibster8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Totally disappointed with the expensive and long winded lunch we endured in this extremely tired and smelly pub. The icing on the cake was complete lack of high chairs and baby changing facilities. This is totally unacceptable when you have a young child. 35 minute wait for a sandwich did not improve the experience. If it wasn't for the passing trade, the place would have closed many years ago!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We only visited the Burley Inn for lunch, one Saturday afternoon. The food was nice, good portion sizes, prices were reasonable too. The service wasn't brilliant as we sat with our dirty plates for a very long while. They were only cleared because we ordered pudding and the puddings arrived to a full table. I was also very disappointed (after the pub advertised itself as a family restaurant) that there were no high chairs. A young waitress told us that loads of people asked for them but the Manager wasn't keen on buying any.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed for one night in September to meet a relative. The room (top floor room 10) was quite pretty although the ensuite was small with the wash hand basin in the bedroom. It was a warm day and the room was hot as you are right up in the roof. The staff were very friendly and helpful even telephoning us the following day to say they had found our relative's gold locket in her room. The food we had in the restaurant was excellent as was the breakfast with a cold buffet and cooked to order hot food. Now the downside. The bed must have had the cheapest mattress money could buy as we could feel every spring as well as this we had the window open and were disturbed all night long by the cellar cooling fan from the club next door running intermittently all night long. I don't know if any of the other rooms had more comfortable beds but If you decide to stay there I would advise you to steer clear of room 10

Room Tip: Try a first floor room - avoid second floor room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I and our daughter stayed here for three days, and while some aspects of our stay were great, some were not. The hotel is a really old building (originally the doctor's surgery in the village) and as such, has loads of character. This is part of the charm of staying here, and we weren't worried about the creaky floors, odd shaped rooms, old style bathroom etc.
We did however have a problem with the mattress - all you could feel were springs - it was a shocker! We ended up taking the quilt out of the cover, and putting it under the bottom sheet.
We were told that they were upgrading the rooms, but hadn't got to our room yet. Also the toilet didn't flush properly - these two things could have been sorted out fairly easily I would have thought. That being said, the staff were fabulous, the dinners were consistently good with enormous servings - and the cooked English breakfast was great.
If you like lots of character, and old style pub food, then this may be for you, but if you like all that and to sleep well, maybe check to see if the bed has been upgraded!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
686 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
714 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,700 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burley Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burley Inn Hotel

Property: The Burley Inn Hotel
Address: The Cross, Burley, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Burley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burley Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Burley Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burley Inn Hotel New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing