We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The New Forest At It's Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingswood Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Ashurst B&B and Inns
Hook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The New Forest At It's Best”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I've never done this before, but I've always believed praise should be given where it's due. This B&B really is the ideal place to stay in the New Forest. Set in beautiful, quiet and peaceful grounds, the view from our room over the gardens was lovely. The proprietor was always helpful, cheerful and willing to offer advice for where to eat, visit and walk. Best of all, the breakfasts were truly gorgeous, made with local produce, healthy and very tasty. A breakfast definitely best enjoyed without ketchup or sauces to mask the flavours. We'll certainly be back and recommending this to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The New Forest quiet location within walking distance of Ashurst Railway station and 5 minutes drive from Lyndhurst was perfect for us.
A warm welcome and beautiful room and breakfast featuring local produce and fresh trout.
Overall, one of the best B&B stays we had in the UK in our 8 week tour!
We'll be back!

Room Tip: Book direct with owner rather than through the New Forest Visitor Centre to avoid 10% commission!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keval17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

A hearty welcome on a blissful autumn evening in the garden by the proprietors started a fabulous weekend that I and my friend will never forget. Homelike hospitality throughout including top tips for places to visit and dine in. An amazing breakfast too with options for differing appetites.
I basically couldn't fault it. There are even pubs and restauarants within a 5 minute walk of the somewhat magical wood gloved cottage.
If you need a relaxing break with homelike facilities and comfortable beds this is the ticket.
Christine couldn't do enough to help us and make it absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We wanted to find a B & B
So on the Internet we went
There was so many to choose from
And hours and hours we spent

But one advert jumped right out
It was a cottage in a wood
We really liked the sound of it
And the pictures were really good

Kingswood Cottage was the name of it
It had everything we wanted
Gorgeous rooms and lovely food
And as a bonus it wasn't haunted.!!

We booked and had a lovely time
It was perfect, but such a shame
And ideal place and nice people
But all it did was rain...! (Typical English Summer..!)

It was a lovely weekend though
With Christine, Paul and Magic
And when they stop doing B & B
It really will be tragic

We are hopefully going to go back
And in that lovely house we'll stay
And enjoy the peace and quiet
We'll just eat,sleep, rest and play

So if you are looking for a B & B
Kingswood Cottage is the best
We can highly recommend it
If far outweighs the rest....!!!!!

Sue & Dave, Widnes, Cheshire

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOOZ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We received a warm welcome on arrival and were served tea and biscuits in the pleasant garden. The proprietors kindly allowed us to leave our motorbike in the garage as the car parking area was soft gravel. Our room had a woodland outlook, was clean, a good size with simple decor. The bed was firm and comfortable. The room had dressing table, mirror and hairdryer, a good sized wardrobe, comfortable small sofa and adequate tea making facilities. The only down side was the tv reception was poor in the room, but that is a tiny niggle. The en-suite was small but reasonably well equipped, shower only, but no bath if you are used to one. The room servicing was of a good standard each day (we stayed five nights). The quality and choice of breakfast was good, well cooked and nicely presented. Good and hearty enough to keep you going. There was lots of information available on things to do, public transport timetables, maps of the area etc. The local area included quite a few places to eat and drink. The train station was a five minute easy walk with trains to Bournemouth, Christchurch, Poole etc. or Southampton and Waterloo. New Forest walks were close at hand. The area does not seem to have good O2 mobile phone coverage, which may be problem for some.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentGuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2008

We live in Lincolnshire and found this bed and breakfast through the New Forest toruist board.

This is a marvellous cottage nestling in an acre of grounds at the gateway to the New Forest. The hosts are friendly and welcoming and the breakfasts are amazing! Our room was spacious, extremely comfortable and had all that you could need for a restful holiday. There are superb eateries within walking distance, again with hosts who made you feel like you had been a local for years!

The extra icing on the cake was the good advice about where to go and what to see - this really enhanced our holiday. We were lucky enough to find the oldest pub in the forest, see deer being fed and have a wonderful boat trip. We were even given money off vouchers for certain places!

We came away wishing we had longer to spend in this lovely place and hope to return.

  • Liked — Friendliness of hosts and marvellous restful character of setting
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripadvisromember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashurst
2.6 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
523 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,647 reviews
8.7 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
296 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingswood Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingswood Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Kingswood Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10 Woodlands Road, Ashurst, New Forest SO40 7AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ashurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ashurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingswood Cottage Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kingswood Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingswood Cottage Bed And Breakfast Ashurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing