We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly peaceful place in the New Forest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingswood Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Ashurst B&B and Inns
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfectly peaceful place in the New Forest”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This bed & breakfast is a really lovely, comfortable and friendly place, very conveniently situated within 5-6 minutes walk from Ashurst Railway Satation, 10 minutes from Southampton Central and with direct trains to London Waterloo. We have just returned, restored after 4 days of being pampered by the kind and helpful owner, fattened up on delicious breakfasts and thoroughly rested by the stay in our comfortable, charming and spotlessly clean room.

The cottage is in a very peaceful position, up a drive and well away from any sound of traffic - in fact we were greeted by beautiful birdsong every morning, and the gentle hoot of an owl in the evening... magic!

This is one of those really special places which are quite rare to find - we were made to feel so very welcome, and we will certainly return to it again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geecee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My friend and I have just spent 3 nights in this delightful B & B cottage and cannot fault it. The cottage itself is in an convenient but quiet location and has a lovely garden too (sadly we couldn't enjoy this personally as it rained the whole time!) Christine and Paul made us feel very welcome, with Christine giving freely of advice and tips about local transport, where to visit and eat out. The breakfasts are beautifully cooked and presented, with plenty of choice. Our twin bedded room was homely and had everything you could require, including very cofortable beds. I would not hesitate to recommend this B & B and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

For our weekend in the New Forest we wanted somewhere central offering a good standard of accomodation and peace and quiet. We found all we wanted and more here.

The cottage is situated in a wonderful location; set well back from a quiet road, surrounded by trees, with a huge mature garden which has a tiny brook running through it. There was no need to drive to a forest walk, crossing the road takes one into a lovely wood with resident deer.

Being near Lyndhurst, the cottage is ideally situated for most of the New Forest. Despite the cottage's apparent seclusion, a short walk into Ashurst gave access to nice pubs and a lovely little bistro.

The standard of accomodation was as high as the outside suggested. We booked all three rooms so saw all that the cottage has to offer. Each was quite large, beautifully furnished and scrupulously clean. Guests have the use of the dining room and conservatory and once again they're furnished to a high standard and very comfortable.

Breakfast was both mouthwatering and very filling, with most ingredients sourced from local suppliers and so tasty. The highlight here was the home made plum jam: simply delicious!

The highlight of Kingswood Cottage was for us, the welcome we received. Christine, the owner, was really nice and looked after us superbly; nothing was too much trouble for her, a really genuine person. We even got to spend time with her 14 week old lab puppy: possibly the cutest dog in the world!

If you're looking for a B&B in the New Forest, look no further.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkOS373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I've never done this before, but I've always believed praise should be given where it's due. This B&B really is the ideal place to stay in the New Forest. Set in beautiful, quiet and peaceful grounds, the view from our room over the gardens was lovely. The proprietor was always helpful, cheerful and willing to offer advice for where to eat, visit and walk. Best of all, the breakfasts were truly gorgeous, made with local produce, healthy and very tasty. A breakfast definitely best enjoyed without ketchup or sauces to mask the flavours. We'll certainly be back and recommending this to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The New Forest quiet location within walking distance of Ashurst Railway station and 5 minutes drive from Lyndhurst was perfect for us.
A warm welcome and beautiful room and breakfast featuring local produce and fresh trout.
Overall, one of the best B&B stays we had in the UK in our 8 week tour!
We'll be back!

Room Tip: Book direct with owner rather than through the New Forest Visitor Centre to avoid 10% commission!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keval17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

A hearty welcome on a blissful autumn evening in the garden by the proprietors started a fabulous weekend that I and my friend will never forget. Homelike hospitality throughout including top tips for places to visit and dine in. An amazing breakfast too with options for differing appetites.
I basically couldn't fault it. There are even pubs and restauarants within a 5 minute walk of the somewhat magical wood gloved cottage.
If you need a relaxing break with homelike facilities and comfortable beds this is the ticket.
Christine couldn't do enough to help us and make it absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We wanted to find a B & B
So on the Internet we went
There was so many to choose from
And hours and hours we spent

But one advert jumped right out
It was a cottage in a wood
We really liked the sound of it
And the pictures were really good

Kingswood Cottage was the name of it
It had everything we wanted
Gorgeous rooms and lovely food
And as a bonus it wasn't haunted.!!

We booked and had a lovely time
It was perfect, but such a shame
And ideal place and nice people
But all it did was rain...! (Typical English Summer..!)

It was a lovely weekend though
With Christine, Paul and Magic
And when they stop doing B & B
It really will be tragic

We are hopefully going to go back
And in that lovely house we'll stay
And enjoy the peace and quiet
We'll just eat,sleep, rest and play

So if you are looking for a B & B
Kingswood Cottage is the best
We can highly recommend it
If far outweighs the rest....!!!!!

Sue & Dave, Widnes, Cheshire

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOOZ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashurst
2.6 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
562 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
303.8 mi away
Woodland House Hotel
Woodland House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
139 reviews
6.1 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,176 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingswood Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingswood Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Kingswood Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10 Woodlands Road, Ashurst, New Forest SO40 7AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ashurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kingswood Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingswood Cottage Bed And Breakfast Ashurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing