We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit”

New Forest Wildlife Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Ashurst
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy the amazing animals at this beautiful park, in the leafy New Forest, with its fabulous adventure playgrounds. Follow the woodland trails to see wallaby, European bison, wolves, wild boar, Scottish wildcats, lynx, foxes, pine marten, polecats, owls and ferrets. Meet the friendly deer and say hi to the playful otters, including the endangered giant otter. Feeding sessions, keeper talks and special events year round. Amazing playgrounds for under 6's and from 6yrs to 86yrs!!!
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We visited today on our way back from a break in the New Forest. This is a fabulous place with loads of owls, and otters. We spent ages watching the otters playing. Also there are deer, wolves, lynx and wild cats amongst other things. We saw most of the animals on display. There is a fabulous play park and the only thing that let it down was the fact there was no where to buy refreshments expect outside the gate, but talking to a lady who worked there, it appears that is on the agenda at some point in the future. When we return we will be prepared and take a picnic.

1  Thank craftycaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
There are newer reviews for New Forest Wildlife Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

714 - 718 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

A lovely afternoon visit with our three year old who enjoyed seeing all the different animals (as did we!). At certain times there were talks by the staff on different animals too. There are two separate parks, one for the smaller ones and another for six and over which were all good fun. Picnic facilities also available. We thought it was a great afternoon and will no doubt be back I the future.

Thank Rachel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

After parting with £21.00, myself and my partner saw a couple of butterflies, half a dozen field mice a depressed hedgehog, and an owl with anger issues.
80% of the enclosures were empty, unkempt and in need of TLC. The children's play areas must of cost thousands.... it's a pity this money wasn't spent on the long overdue overhaul of the animals enclosures. Perhaps the animals would be proud to show themselves in better kept surroundings. Dissatisfied, disappointed and won't be going again.

3  Thank Marvy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol H, Owner at New Forest Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

I cannot help but feel a little disappointed by your review. I can only assume you did not walk through the whole of the park despite a plan provided for every visitor with keeper talks listed and many plan signs around the park to guide you through.

We do not have any field mice but we do have Harvest Mice. Depressed hedgehog? Angry owl?

Did you think to mention your dissatisfaction to any retail staff on your way out?

Did you go to any keeper talks ? Did you see the deer, wallabies, wolves, wild boar, mouflon, giant otters, fox, pine marten, Scottish wildcat, bison, asian short claw otter, Eurasian otter, North American river otter, owls, lynx, pole cats, water voles, sousliks etc ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Bigger and better than I had expected. Well worth the entrance fee. Very informative and friendly keeper at feeding time. I had never seen wildcats, wolves, bison or a lynx before. We will definitely go again.
My only suggestion is to have more notices reminding visitors of the various feeding times, for those with poor memories.
I was surprised to read a very small number of terrible reviews. Ignore them. They say more about the writers than the Park.

2  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We visited on Easter Sunday as a last minute decision, which turned out to be an incredibly good one. It had been raining quite a bit so many people had stayed away, giving us easy viewing of many of the animals. There is a nice selection here and we got given lots of information by one of the keepers which always makes things more interesting.

I thought the price was very reasonable, we were there for about 3 hours before our journey home from the Forest. As mentioned in other reviews, the only toilets and refreshments are at the entrance which is a little odd, there is definitely room to add even a small tea bar somewhere else which I am sure would bring more revenue for the park.

Thank Jody2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Forest Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to New Forest Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing