We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”
Review of Forest Gate Lodge

Forest Gate Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Forest Gate Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Ashurst B&B and Inns
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed one night on our way to the Isle of Wight, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The owners are very friendly and very well versed with the surrounding area which they are only too pleased to share their knowledge with you. Breakfast was very good, especially the cooked meal as there was no a spot of fat on the food and the fresh fruit salad was a welcome sight. The rooms are standard but quite adequate for a nights stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    21
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
31
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We originally choose the Forest Gate Lodge for it's location, which is great for exploring the new Forest.
We found the room to be very comfortable and clean and it was an adequate size for the 2 of us.

The breakfasts were great and the hosts were very friendly and welcoming. Everything you need from a short stay.

I recommend the Happy cheese pub for food, which in the week we went they had just started a new menu. Good food at a reasonable price that is also a very short walk from the BnB.

The only negative I have is the same as the last reviewer and that is as a man the toilet seat in the bathroom that doesn't stay up was getting abit frustrating and the mirror wouldn't stay in an upright position. But these are just minor issues.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adz1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at Ashurst for a wedding nearby. We decided to stay 2 nights and do some walking. Centrally located near the shops and 3 pubs. We tried Asha Indian restaurant as well as the Happy Cheese pub and the Forest Inn all o which were lovely. Room was a good size, TV and hot drinks provided. A few points for improvement: the toilet seat wouldn’t stay up so rested heavily on your back while you used the facilities, main light didn’t work and mattress wasn’t the best. Breakfast was good, but our orders got mixed up on the first day so waited about 30 minutes for ours. This was spotted straight away by the staff (the other table hadn’t even ordered yet) and could have been solved but the man who received our order wouldn’t pass it over!! Overall a pleasant B&B for the price paid.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy187045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Forest Gate Lodge for a couple of nights on 6 and 7 May 2012 and absolutely loved our accommodation. The hostess (Val) was extremely warm and hospitable. Our room was beautiful - it was cleaned and the sheets turned down everyday. There was tea, coffee and mineral water provided in the room and the sachets were replaced and stocked afresh everyday. There are a lot of nice pubs and restaurants within 5 min walking distance from the lodge. There is also a grocery store close by in case you ever need anything. And the best part about this BnB was the breakfast which was out of the world - home cooked full English breakfast! We would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ipshita816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2012

A fantastic friendly b&b. Stayed here with my partner as a last minute week break and would definitely say this has been one of our favourite New Forest accommodations! Clean, tidy and friendly owners! Added perks like pot of tea on arrival and iPod dock in room! Great location and country pubs. Can't wait to return! Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed at the B&B for 1 night. Room was clean; tidy and very quiet. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. Great breakfast and good location - walking distance to the New Forest and they also stored our mountain bikes overnight. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashurst
2.8 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
1.3 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
5.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
2.7 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
6.0 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Gate Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Gate Lodge

Property: Forest Gate Lodge
Address: 161 Lyndhurst Road, Ashurst, New Forest, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ashurst
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest Gate Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Forest Gate Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Gate Lodge Ashurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing