We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely peaceful and relaxing getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Purlins Holiday Annexe
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Purlins Holiday Annexe
Entrance to Purlins Converted Coach House and Stables Josie in front of Patio Door Entrance to Annexe
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Purlins Holiday Annexe
Entrance to Purlins Converted Coach House and Stables
Josie in front of Patio Door Entrance to Annexe
View of Annexe from Car Park
Annexe and Garden view
Looking North to Living Room Window
Guests' Private Garden
Three aspect Spacious Bedroom
View on Entrance
View looking South out of Patio Entrance
Looking into Bedroom from inner hallway
Living Room viewed from kitchen
Double aspect Living Room from hallway
Kitchen viewed from Living Room
Modern Bathroom with shower/bath
Your Hosts Kay and Peter
Their dogs, Josie & Jess
Our New Forest Neighbours
Rose in bloom in June
Winter Wonderland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashurst, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hellenbal...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely peaceful and relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Woodlands, New Forest. Beautiful surroundings, lovely walks all around and easy to get to. Great as a base for travelling all around the new forest and was a lovely place to spend time as a couple. Has own garden to relax in during nice weather and Kay was lovely. Thanks Kay for a great break!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
Thank you Helen for your lovely review. I am so pleased you really enjoyed your stay here. Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meander50...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well equipped accommodation”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Pleasant accommodation in the New Forest less than 4 miles from Lyndhurst.
The bed was very comfortable in this spacious annexe.
The owner has a plug in air freshener that seems to mask the otherwise slightly 'musty' smell on entering the annexe.
The kitchen is well equipped though has no washing machine.
Overall a good place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy bed!
Liked least: The slightly musty smell in the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming, well furnished, generous accomdation in beautiful, peaceful area a”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Purlins Holiday Annexe. After a dismal drive in rain, we were warmly welcomed by our thoughtful hostess. Complimentary milk, tea bags and chocolate biscuits were left for us,as well as instructions for switching on the fire!
The appartment is spotlessly clean ,very comfortable and has a pleasant view of the private garden. Accidental damage (broken curtain hooks and bloodstains on the bedding from an existing wound) were dealt with efficiently and considerately. The surrounding area is beautiful and very tranquil.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Thank you for you review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Purlins.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review I am so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and staying at Purlins. I hope to welcome you again in the future should you wish to have another visit to the beautiful New Forest
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thank you. I am so pleased you enjoyed yourselves
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LillyRose...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Shame about the water leak!”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I wish I could write a more positive review because Kay, the owner is really nice but there were significant problems with the property.
On arrival we were told that there had been a water leak from the owner's ensuite which is directly above the annexe. Apparently the water had flooded for quite a few hours and had soaked the walls of the building. This meant that the property was really damp and cold, we had to keep the electric heater on almost the whole time we were in, despite the weather being mild. Even the box containing our cereal went soggy! The worst problem for me was that there was black mould inside the cupboard containing all the crockery and glassware. This was very unpleasant and had an awful smell. I know that Kay had tried to clean the property, the bleach smell was overwhelming, and a plug in air freshener had been put in the bedroom but this didn't really help at all.
I feel very strongly that we should have been told about the problems prior to arrival and been given the opportunity to either cancel or have a reduction in the cost to compensate for the unpleasantness.
Without the water problems the property would have been ok. The garden area is nice and the inside is adequate but rather dated. There was also quite a lot of noise from the owner's two dogs which could be a problem if you're not a dog person.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounding area.
Liked least: The damp and black mould.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
I am so sorry that the guests were unhappy with the accommodation after the unfortunate water leak. The central heating is on all the time and operated by individual thermostats on every radiator so there was no reason for them to be cold. Unfortunately since the leak the predominantly wet weather has not helped. The effected kitchen cupboard could not dry out fully due to the doors being closed most of the time so mould grew during their stay for whivh I am truly sorry but I was not made aware until they were leaving. The doors have been removed for a while to let air circulate and there has been no mould since.
I have always received good reviews from guests, many of whom return regularly. On hindsight perhaps I should have cancelled the booking
but didn't want to do this at such short notice and leave guests with potentially no accommodation for their holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Philip...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, great location and great time had by all!”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in Purlins. Kay was particularly friendly and helpful and was always on hand when needed although, she also respected our privacy.
The annex was well stocked with all necessities and was very clean and cosy. Plenty of local places to eat out that served excellent food and many within walking distance. There were also some good shops to buy food and drink when we preferred to stay in.
We particularly liked stepping out of the door straight into the middle of the New Forest without having to drive. Having said that, we enjoyed visiting lots of places that were just a short drive away such as Bucklers Hard, Lyndhurst and Furzey Gardens. In fact, we left knowing that we would be returning because there was so much we didn't get to see during our weeks stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locality
Liked least: Getting on and off the drive
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing