We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit, and another booked!”
Review of The New Forest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Emery Down
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The New Forest Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Emery Down B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Return Visit, and another booked!”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Just returned from our second stay at the New Forest Inn. Another fantastic couple of days. Staff very friendly and helpful, meals in generous portions,( breakfast now Full English, eaten in Dining Area), and all excellent value. With the breakfast, we found we didn't need to eat again until the evening!!! As stated, this was our second stay here, and we've booked for a third stay in September/October. Excellent position for walking in the Forest,(50 metres and you're in the forest), and well positioned just 1.5 miles from Lyndhurst. Lovely large garden with ample seating, just right for a pint or two after that long walk!! Looking forward to September already!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    57
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
60
74
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The New Forest Inn is in a lovely position in the forest, but still close to Lyndhurst. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the evening meal was plentiful and good. As well as a popular restaurant, this is also a well-used proper local pub with a friendly atmosphere. However, our room was extremely small - no room for a chair or bedside cabinet or table etc - just a bed, wardrobe and cupboard (which contained a mini-fridge) and a shelf over the bed. It was clean and the furniture was good quality - except the mattress which was one of the lumpiest I have 'slept' on for years - please, please nice people, replace it very soon! The other disappointment was the breakfast, which as advertised, was a continental breakfast which was put in the fridge at 6ish the evening before. The breads didn't fit in the fridge so had to sit on the cupboard infront of the TV. Given the restrictions, the breakfast was decent quality and again generous especially the cheese and ham, but the croissants had lost their texture overnight and worst, there was no-where to eat it. I sat on the floor and ate off the windowsill; himself on the edge of the bed eating off his lap. It's a miracle the coffee didn't spill. Guys, when you have a great kitchen and tables downstairs, please give your guests the option of sitting at a table and even having a cooked breakfast, even if we have to pay a couple more quid for it. I see from an earlier review that this smallest double is often reserved for people with dogs - all I can say is an Alsation would never fit, and surely it would eat the breakfast before you can get to it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenwichjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed at the New Forest Inn for 4 nights over the New Year period as part of our decision making process in moving to the area. We were made to feel very welcome, the staff are friendly and efficient, the food is excellent (there is a good variety, and the portions are very generous) and the accomodation is very comfortable and spotlessly clean.Our only minor negative is that our room was only serviced once during our stay, but this is because we didn't actually ask for Location very quiet and peaceful.
This place is a real gem, and we would highly recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to stay, and/or eat whilst in the New Forest.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

I have just got back from staying at the New Forest Inn and would highly recommend it.

The staff were all very friendly and keen to help - at least 3 separate members of staff checked we had made our dinner reservation (they are a popular food pub).

It is set in a small picturesque village not far from Lyndhurst (by car or bicycle) and has direct forest access.

They are dog friendly (you can even take them into the restuarant for dinner!).

We were told we had the smallest double en-suite because that is the one they reserve for dog owners, but it was still more than adequate (and had a really powerful shower - shampoo was rinsed out of my hair in record time!).

The meal was very nice. Restaurant prices, but then it was restaurant quality food and served in nice surroundings.

The pub also has a lovely beer garden with plenty of seating.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxForce5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emery Down
3.7 mi away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#1 of 1 in Brook
698 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,024 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Forest Inn

Property: The New Forest Inn
Address: Lynddhurst, Emery Down, New Forest, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Emery Down
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Emery Down
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The New Forest Inn Emery Down

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing