We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little gem especially if you have a dog” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Forest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Emery Down
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The New Forest Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Emery Down B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Little gem especially if you have a dog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We have stayed here three times over last two years with our dog and we absolutly love it! The rooms are comfortable the location couldn't be better right in the heart of Forest ideal for long walks and cycling. Food is excellant and staff are very Accomodating. Pub has local village atmosphere. We will definatley be returning in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathjonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    54
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
49
68
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bassett, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

My friend and I visited the Inn this evening, for a vegetarian meal.
The food we chose was ok, but not delicious as we would have hoped.
The service was good, but the big let down was sauce in sachets!!
Not a good look, might as well been in a fast food restaurant!!

I suggest you get rid of tacky sauce in sachets, and produce veggie food that is cooked well and with flavour!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Would go here again, as it's on a regular route through the New Forest for us. Food is excellent, and so is the service. Made to feel very welcome in a fantastic Dog friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CEVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Just returned from our second stay at the New Forest Inn. Another fantastic couple of days. Staff very friendly and helpful, meals in generous portions,( breakfast now Full English, eaten in Dining Area), and all excellent value. With the breakfast, we found we didn't need to eat again until the evening!!! As stated, this was our second stay here, and we've booked for a third stay in September/October. Excellent position for walking in the Forest,(50 metres and you're in the forest), and well positioned just 1.5 miles from Lyndhurst. Lovely large garden with ample seating, just right for a pint or two after that long walk!! Looking forward to September already!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

The New Forest Inn is in a lovely position in the forest, but still close to Lyndhurst. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the evening meal was plentiful and good. As well as a popular restaurant, this is also a well-used proper local pub with a friendly atmosphere. However, our room was extremely small - no room for a chair or bedside cabinet or table etc - just a bed, wardrobe and cupboard (which contained a mini-fridge) and a shelf over the bed. It was clean and the furniture was good quality - except the mattress which was one of the lumpiest I have 'slept' on for years - please, please nice people, replace it very soon! The other disappointment was the breakfast, which as advertised, was a continental breakfast which was put in the fridge at 6ish the evening before. The breads didn't fit in the fridge so had to sit on the cupboard infront of the TV. Given the restrictions, the breakfast was decent quality and again generous especially the cheese and ham, but the croissants had lost their texture overnight and worst, there was no-where to eat it. I sat on the floor and ate off the windowsill; himself on the edge of the bed eating off his lap. It's a miracle the coffee didn't spill. Guys, when you have a great kitchen and tables downstairs, please give your guests the option of sitting at a table and even having a cooked breakfast, even if we have to pay a couple more quid for it. I see from an earlier review that this smallest double is often reserved for people with dogs - all I can say is an Alsation would never fit, and surely it would eat the breakfast before you can get to it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenwichjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed at the New Forest Inn for 4 nights over the New Year period as part of our decision making process in moving to the area. We were made to feel very welcome, the staff are friendly and efficient, the food is excellent (there is a good variety, and the portions are very generous) and the accomodation is very comfortable and spotlessly clean.Our only minor negative is that our room was only serviced once during our stay, but this is because we didn't actually ask for Location very quiet and peaceful.
This place is a real gem, and we would highly recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to stay, and/or eat whilst in the New Forest.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank summerjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

I have just got back from staying at the New Forest Inn and would highly recommend it.

The staff were all very friendly and keen to help - at least 3 separate members of staff checked we had made our dinner reservation (they are a popular food pub).

It is set in a small picturesque village not far from Lyndhurst (by car or bicycle) and has direct forest access.

They are dog friendly (you can even take them into the restuarant for dinner!).

We were told we had the smallest double en-suite because that is the one they reserve for dog owners, but it was still more than adequate (and had a really powerful shower - shampoo was rinsed out of my hair in record time!).

The meal was very nice. Restaurant prices, but then it was restaurant quality food and served in nice surroundings.

The pub also has a lovely beer garden with plenty of seating.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxForce5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emery Down
3.7 mi away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#1 of 1 in Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
4.0 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
7.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Forest Inn

Property: The New Forest Inn
Address: Lynddhurst, Emery Down, New Forest, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Emery Down
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Emery Down
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The New Forest Inn Emery Down

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing