We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home with brilliant staff :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Forest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Emery Down
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The New Forest Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Emery Down B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from home with brilliant staff :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were a party of four and arrived on Friday evening for a two night stay. As soon as we arrived the staff we so friendly and accommodating...from keeping our bikes in their storage shed, offering to print maps and sharing a bit about the area!
Admittedly there was a beer festival on...so how could you not enjoy it...but that with the daily hog roast, the fabulous English breakfast and their dinner menu....great place.
We really loved the location, rooms were good but hats off to the very friendly and hardworking staff.
Many thanks from the 2 Americans, the Scot and the Southampton one!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottishlassinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    54
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
49
68
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a drink yrs ago and always said we would return one day for a meal. We finally did on our way home from southbourne on a Sunday evening. We were greeted warmly as we arrived and told to chose any table that wasnt reserved. All tables had a reserved sign!!! we were then told it didnt matter just chose any, cos none were actually reserved. Strange???
Anyway we chose our table and our meals and were dealt with quickly and efficiently. Food was nice and service good. Did think it was a bit pricey though.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mjbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We were staying in a holiday cottage in the village and ate at The New Forest Inn on 5 evenings during the week. Obviously we wouldn't have returned if we didn't like it!! Each meal was very tasty, well presented, generous portions, reasonably priced and a pleasure to eat. All the staff made us feel very welcome. We will certainly go back when next in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Always stop, even if its only for a drink. Congrats to the owner for the face lift in the ladies loo. Much needed, and done very well. I was quick enough to review it previously so only fair to say the work has been done

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Really like this place. We stayed here with the dog and enjoyed the food and the ales. Great location too. Accommodation needs a few little touches though for a higher star rating from me. There was no bulb in the main light. The towles were very small and old. There was only one small bottle of shower gel left for two of us for two nights.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tristosterone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The misses and I come across this pub just through luck as we went for a drive in the forest we went inside and sat down was not a clean table in sight, then a couple told us they were leaving so we had empty plates on the table, after around 20 minutes of deciding we came to the idea it was very expensive for food but the food when It came after a 20 minute wait was very nice indeed massive portions and I would recommended this place to anybody if they are going for food

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 936Paul_S936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We decided to get food on the way back from a day out at Bournemouth. We found the New Forest Inn on this website as we were looking for a restaurant/pub where we could take our dog as well.
We was not disappointed. We were sat down straight away, only waited about 10-15mins for the food which was homemade and really nice. I would recommend the Steak and Ale pie with chips, the beef just melted in your mouth. You get a very good portion, so much we could not fit in dessert. There were 3 dogs in the eating area including our Bearded Collie. She got fussed and was given a dog biscuit, which I thought was a lovely gesture. Would love to go back there again as it's hard to find good food and a warm welcome for your dog as well. A really pleasant experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emery Down
3.7 mi away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#1 of 1 in Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
4.0 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
7.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Forest Inn

Property: The New Forest Inn
Address: Lynddhurst, Emery Down, New Forest, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Emery Down
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Emery Down
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The New Forest Inn Emery Down

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing