We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hopefully will get better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodlands Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hopefully will get better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Spent one Saturday night here for partner's birthday (Oct '11). Changed first room as we specifically chose this hotel for the whirlpool bath and first room did not have one. The next room was tired, had cobwebs and spiders in the shower! Sadly the whirlpool didn't work either. Staff did try to fix it but sadly could not. We did get a reduction on the final bill but very disappointed and envious when the upstairs room ran theirs!!!
Very noisy rooms, could hear voices, televisions, and snoring! Perhaps the new management should invest in some soundproofing when they revamp the bathrooms?
We were very aware that the hotel appeared to be understaffed. The reception area and bar were never manned and we watched customers trying to find members of staff for service.
Saying that, the hotel has a nice friendly, albeit, tired atmosphere, lovely grounds and is very relaxing.
I wish the new hoteliers all the best and hope that they bring the hotel up to a standard that makes them proud.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    153
    43
    17
    8
See reviews for
114
296
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We recently stayed for 4 nights with 2 dogs and the hotel is a in perfect location as the garden backs on to the New Forest and we found a number of long walks. The hotel is under new management who are aware of the issues mentioned and are in the process of resolving them - they have some great ideas - some new bathrooms about to be fitted - which will make this a New Forest gem.
Personally feel that the housekeeping let the hotel down as they are not consistent and overlook some really obvious niggles ie a stained coffee cup was not replaced the whole time we were there.
On a positive note the new management are really welcoming and helpful and we would go back.

Room Tip: 2 of the Ground floor open straight onto the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineBoudier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

You can walk through the hotel garden into the new forest, which is lovely. Hopefully the new management will inject some fresh life into the hotel.
Rooms need properly cleaning (dead flies were everywhere) and no one had cleaned under the couch for ages. Some soundproofing could be put in, showers mended, etc.
Also, the restaurant needs a complete overhall. ~The food is really dire and at times the dining room smells of cheap fat.
Staff are friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, null, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Hotel was well situated for the New Forest and was quiet.
Service was good as was the breakfast and evening meal.
Bedroom was fine apart from noise from room above - voices and very creaking floorboards.

Room Tip: Ask for room on top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonb263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We have recently had a 4 night stay with our 2 year old daughter. We were very well looked after and staff were very friendly and kind to our daughter. They were very kind in giving us the milk required for our daughters bed time as we couldn't store any ourselves in our room. We had dinner in the hotel on the first night and this was delicious I had steak which melted and my husband had tuna which he said was delicious too. Our daughter was well catered for too! We all thought the breakfasts were delicious! The scrambled eggs were so tasty! We were looking forward to them on the wednesday morning our final morning but they were not as good! Perhaps a different chef on as breakfast was presented differently too!!
Our room clearly wasn't one of the updated ones? Rm11?? It was roomy and comfortable and clean but in need of a little tlc in regard to the bathroom suite and peeling wall paper! Room was a little noisy due to being next to water tank! Beautiful views over the gardens on the edge of the New Forest!! All staff very friendly and accommodating to any requests questions we had. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We had our wedding here last Friday and it was fantastic, the venue is ideal, the food and service was excellent and nothing was to much trouble, we wanted a very small informal wedding with our close family and friends arround us. Most of the guests stayed as we had the whole hotel for 24 hours, everyone loved their rooms as each one is different. I can not fault them on anything the whole wedding day went without a hitch and I would recommend it highly.
For a wedding venue the grounds,food, staff and rooms tick all the boxes, I will be returning very soon. The important thing to remember is that a wedding is about the people around you and feeling relaxed and this is the hotel to have it at for that.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

We had a 2 night stay & had both evening meals too.
Excellent room (9) with plenty of space, lovely bathroom with free standing shower & bath.
Lovely large bay window over looking the garden.
All meals excellent, good choice of wines, plenty of rooms to relax & read papers.
Owners & staff very friendly & efficient.
No complaints at all.
Perfect if you want an away from it all relaxing break.

Room Tip: Room 9 is spacious & has free standing shower + bath, with lovely views over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodlands
2.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
8.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Lodge Hotel

Property: Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Address: Bartley Road, Woodlands, New Forest SO40 7GN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Lodge Hotel is a charming Country House hotel well away from main roads set in three acres that open directly onto Hampshire's New Forest. The perfect base to relax, walk or enjoy the local New Forest attractions. Woodlands Lodge Hotel can also host, conferences, weddings and special events. We have The Hunters Restaurant on site which is open to non-residents and has been awarded an AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Woodlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Woodlands
Woodlands Hotel Southampton
Woodlands Lodge Hotel New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing