We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good website designer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good website designer!”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Booked this hotel for a weekend get-away with my husband and dog, website photos looked great and I was looking forward to a relaxing weekend. I had booked a Deluxe Double after looking at the photos online and was disappointed on arrival to be shown to a much more dated room. My first thoughts were that 'doggy' people were put in these rooms, but after reading the other reviews, it seems not!

The room was dated with wall paper coming away in a couple of places, the carpets were badly stained in several places and the bathroom was circa 1980 and the whirlpool bath spat lots of little black bits out into the bath. On the plus side the bed was lovely and clean and the room was warm - I just expect more for the price. They are obviously in the process of updating the hotel but considering that the hotel itself only had one or two other guests while we were there, I imagine there were better rooms available.

The bar area was a little cold and uninviting, nothing there to attract you to spend any more time or money in it, which is disappointing for guests and owners! (We had a super evening meal down the road at The Gamekeepers Inn)

I booked the room on the strength of the website and the fact that they pride themselves on being dog friendly - unfortunately we didn't receive the dog towels/blankets/treats that other people seemed to have, but I suppose I could have asked.......and that is the main problem I have with this hotel. We were asked at time of checkout if everything was ok, but it was obvious to me that the hotel was hosting some kind of wedding venue open day and they had potential customers within earshot.

Being a polite kind of girl, I don't like to complain, certainly not in a situation where I could damage their business - however, I realise now I am complaining! I have a sneaking feeling that the hotel was more interested in potential wedding customers than they were in a couple just wanting a weekend away. Were they saving the best rooms for the open day? Who knows? The surrounding area is stunning but don't rely on that alone Woodlands!

Room Tip: Phone the hotel and request one of their updated rooms! Don't book online and hope for the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marydoll1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickySpencer, Owner at Woodlands Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you so much for your comment, it's always helpful to hear what people think.It is disappointing that you did not talk to us during your stay, as if we had known you were unhappy with your room or failed to get the dog treats or dog blanket we could have remedied this immediately. We are working towards improving many aspects of this small hotel and room decoration is certainly one of our top priorities. Indeed we are currently refurbishing several rooms, and this weekend we deliberately kept you as far away from any disruption as possible, so you would have a more enjoyable stay. We pride ourselves on being dog friendly but we only allow dogs in a certain number of rooms for obvious reasons and this unfortunately limited our availability for this weekend. I am genuinely sorry to hear you thought your room was not good value at £104.00 for a Saturday night including your dog. I can assure you it takes considerable extra effort to accommodate dogs.
On the Sunday morning we were very busy and I am pleased you were given the opportunity to air any grievences. Despite hosting a wedding showcase our guests are always our top priority and we are very disappointed you did not feel this was the case. We are not perfect but we are here to help all our guests as best we possibly can at all times. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to show you. Thank you once again Imogene & Robert Anglaret Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    156
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
117
301
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Heacham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My partner and our 2dogs(Lilly and bumbles ) have just returned from a lovely break at woodlands lodge..we had a lovely 4 poster room with a conservatory ideal for the dogs..a lovely touch if u have dogs there was a lovely welcome note and dog treats from the hotel dalmation with a throw and towel..
The breakfast was lovely and so was the evening meal I had mussels and they were fantastic..along with the chocolate fondant...
The woodlands lodge staff were all very friendly and helpful..And our room was serviced everyday we were there.
Woodlands lodge is in the perfect location next to the newforest for those lovely autum walks and local towns..I would recommend this hotel to others u wouldn't be disappointed,we look forward to staying there again..

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemrust30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Spent one Saturday night here for partner's birthday (Oct '11). Changed first room as we specifically chose this hotel for the whirlpool bath and first room did not have one. The next room was tired, had cobwebs and spiders in the shower! Sadly the whirlpool didn't work either. Staff did try to fix it but sadly could not. We did get a reduction on the final bill but very disappointed and envious when the upstairs room ran theirs!!!
Very noisy rooms, could hear voices, televisions, and snoring! Perhaps the new management should invest in some soundproofing when they revamp the bathrooms?
We were very aware that the hotel appeared to be understaffed. The reception area and bar were never manned and we watched customers trying to find members of staff for service.
Saying that, the hotel has a nice friendly, albeit, tired atmosphere, lovely grounds and is very relaxing.
I wish the new hoteliers all the best and hope that they bring the hotel up to a standard that makes them proud.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We recently stayed for 4 nights with 2 dogs and the hotel is a in perfect location as the garden backs on to the New Forest and we found a number of long walks. The hotel is under new management who are aware of the issues mentioned and are in the process of resolving them - they have some great ideas - some new bathrooms about to be fitted - which will make this a New Forest gem.
Personally feel that the housekeeping let the hotel down as they are not consistent and overlook some really obvious niggles ie a stained coffee cup was not replaced the whole time we were there.
On a positive note the new management are really welcoming and helpful and we would go back.

Room Tip: 2 of the Ground floor open straight onto the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineBoudier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

You can walk through the hotel garden into the new forest, which is lovely. Hopefully the new management will inject some fresh life into the hotel.
Rooms need properly cleaning (dead flies were everywhere) and no one had cleaned under the couch for ages. Some soundproofing could be put in, showers mended, etc.
Also, the restaurant needs a complete overhall. ~The food is really dire and at times the dining room smells of cheap fat.
Staff are friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, null, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Hotel was well situated for the New Forest and was quiet.
Service was good as was the breakfast and evening meal.
Bedroom was fine apart from noise from room above - voices and very creaking floorboards.

Room Tip: Ask for room on top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonb263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We have recently had a 4 night stay with our 2 year old daughter. We were very well looked after and staff were very friendly and kind to our daughter. They were very kind in giving us the milk required for our daughters bed time as we couldn't store any ourselves in our room. We had dinner in the hotel on the first night and this was delicious I had steak which melted and my husband had tuna which he said was delicious too. Our daughter was well catered for too! We all thought the breakfasts were delicious! The scrambled eggs were so tasty! We were looking forward to them on the wednesday morning our final morning but they were not as good! Perhaps a different chef on as breakfast was presented differently too!!
Our room clearly wasn't one of the updated ones? Rm11?? It was roomy and comfortable and clean but in need of a little tlc in regard to the bathroom suite and peeling wall paper! Room was a little noisy due to being next to water tank! Beautiful views over the gardens on the edge of the New Forest!! All staff very friendly and accommodating to any requests questions we had. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodlands
2.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
8.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
11.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Lodge Hotel

Property: Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Address: Bartley Road, Woodlands, New Forest SO40 7GN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Lodge Hotel is a charming Country House hotel well away from main roads set in three acres that open directly onto Hampshire's New Forest. The perfect base to relax, walk or enjoy the local New Forest attractions. Woodlands Lodge Hotel can also host, conferences, weddings and special events. We have The Hunters Restaurant on site which is open to non-residents and has been awarded an AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woodlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Woodlands
Woodlands Hotel Southampton
Woodlands Lodge Hotel New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing