We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Hotel in peaceful New Forest Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Country Hotel in peaceful New Forest Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed the end of May before the bank holiday. Booked only a few days earlier and stayed two nights. The location was superb and very peaceful. Room was large and very clearn - double aspect with modern wallpaper but still with a country feel. Had dinner both nights and the meals were excellent, served in the beautiful dinding room, the food was presented extremely well. Location was great as there was plenty to see within only a short drive away. Also walked from the hotel straight into the New Forest where a deer ran past us. The weather was fantastic which made our stay even more enjoyable. Took advantage of the garden late aftenoon to relax. Would definitely recommend and go back sometime.
Mr & Mrs M. London

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    153
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
116
298
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We have visited the New Forest many times but the best way to relax off the everyday life is to stay at the Woodlands Lodge.
Price competitive, excellent dinner and breakfast, all clean and confortable, romantic atmosphere in our room and the garden looks like the fairytale's garden.
Beautiful footpath is passing through the garden and takes you into the New Forest!

Room Tip: after a walk you can enjoy a whirlpool in your bedroom - we had room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from a long weekend away. After reading reviews I decided to try this hotel as it sounded just right for a relaxing trip. We were not disappointed. On arrival the outside parts of the hotel were being refurbished so it was not a fantastic first impression but maintenance has to be done. From then on everything was lovely. We needed to change rooms and the staff went out of there way to meet our needs and offer to help us move. All throughout our stay all of the staff ( who seem to do a variety of jobs) were friendly and helpful. The suite we had was roomy, clean and had a lovely bathroom. The bed was spacious and so comfortable as were the pillows. ( want to know where to buy some!).
Breakfast was lovely and as we were so lucky with the hot weather it was perfectly situated near the very pretty garden in a conservatory. We dined twice in the restaurant and were impressed by the food and enjoyed the meal very much and thought it was good value.
The hotel is not too far from lots of places to visit if you're driving and has a nice pub within walking distance.. If I really had to find any fault it would be that some parts of the hotel decor could do with a bit of tarting up but as I said it seems that they are in the process of doing this.
I would certainly go back to this hotel as it proved to be a lovely place to splebd a perfect weekend in the new forest

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

The Woodlands Lodge Hotel is a comfortable, quaint home from home place to stay! We’re just back from our second visit in 5 years & although nothing very much has altered in the essence of the hotel, the new owners are trying to put a shine back on the place without taking anything away from its rustic charm!

Our room was clean & tidy with a view overlooking the Forest. It’s true the décor is a little dated, maybe a little shabby but the overall feeling you get at Woodlands is one of being comfortable, able to relax & generally unwind being yourself. For us one of the best things about Woodlands is the fact we are able to take our dog as all dogs are welcome ~ of course it goes without saying they must be well behaved! You are able to have the company of your pet everywhere apart from the restaurant, which is only right & proper.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FMacD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

it was unfortunately only a one night stay with my spouse but the hotel was lovely; a nice room, dinner and breakfast were both excellent and its proximity to the New Forest allowed us to take an early morning walk

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

This is a Country House Hotel with all the modern amenities. I found the staff here very pleasant and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. Dinner in the restaurant was what you would normally find in a 5 star hotel.
This Hotel is very dog friendly and they have large rooms to cater for them.
All in all a very pleasant experience and one in which I will return to. I would recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: As I took my dog with me I had a room with conservatory on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

We held a team meeting for work at this hotel in April. We all felt very well looked after, and we enjoyed our stay very much.

It was clear to us that the new owners of this hotel are trying really hard to ensure that their customers have a great experience. Since taking it on last year they have been gradually renovating as they go, and while not finished yet, it looks and feels great.

A great hotel in a lovely location with tasty food and excellent service, I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rudd_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodlands
2.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
8.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
11.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Lodge Hotel

Property: Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Address: Bartley Road, Woodlands, New Forest SO40 7GN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Lodge Hotel is a charming Country House hotel well away from main roads set in three acres that open directly onto Hampshire's New Forest. The perfect base to relax, walk or enjoy the local New Forest attractions. Woodlands Lodge Hotel can also host, conferences, weddings and special events. We have The Hunters Restaurant on site which is open to non-residents and has been awarded an AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woodlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Woodlands
Woodlands Hotel Southampton
Woodlands Lodge Hotel New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing