We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2012

As a traveler from Canada wanting a relaxing friendly place to stay in the New Forest, the Woodlands Lodge Hotel was perfect. The staff were warm, welcoming and helpful in all aspects. The food was excellent and the ambiance wonderful. Only a few steps away from being in the forest and seeing the ponies was an exciting opportunity. I'd highly recommend staying here and will definitely return one day.

Room Tip: Rooms were spacious, well appointed and had every amenity. Top floor rooms might tend to get a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

I haven't written a review for years, but relied so much on other reviews when booking a recent weekend away, that I felt I should air my disappointment. Just to put you in the picture, we are not a fussy couple by any means, we have realistic expectations and are a normal working 40's couple in need of a well earned break.

Firstly, on a positive note, the hotel was very clean and the location and gardens were lovely. End of positive.

When we arrived the hotel looked nice from the outside, newly painted and well kept. However, when we went in we were very surprised by the odd reception...or lack of one! A random office desk in a lobby, which we discovered was frequently unattended, with the room keys hanging behind it easily available to anyone. (especially when the door is left unlocked all night! )
It was very unwelcoming. I was very surprised by the decor as I was expecting a luxury feel. The receptionist did not seem pleased to see us, but showed us to a room which was not as we had requested. ( no spa bath ). We returned to the lobby where we were asked to wait. After half an hour not knowing what was happening the owner then came and reallocated us a room.
The room was pleasant enough, but did need redecorating as it was tired and old fashioned..you do expect more from a'luxury' hotel though I think the rooms are all in the process of this. It was clean however,with a nice view and a spa bath, though the bath was slightly tempramental and needed resetting a couple of times!
The main let down for us was the staff. Whenever we came into contact with them they never said hello, good morning or acknowledged us at all. We seemed an inconvenience. They all seemed stressed and overworked, probably due to the fact that there was a handful of them doing everything. There was no consistant person on reception or at the bar due to multitasking.
The waitress and waiter we had for breakfasts were very stressed and rushed us in an unfriendly manor. The manager was setting up for a later function around us while we were still eating which made us feel very awkward, especially as he did not say good morning or smile even! The food however was lovely... the chef is good, though we did see him take the manager outside to vocalise an issue he obviously had, none of them seemed happy!
One morning after breakfast, we headed back to our room to find the cleaning staff and other waiting staff were sitting on the corridor floor eating crisps and chatting. Again it just seemed unprofessional and made us feel uncomfortable. Our room was not replenished with tea, coffee etc on one morning so we had to request this at reception ( when we found someone there).
I think the hotel is liked by dog owners. Alot of the positive reviews seem to be from those able to take their dog and are obviously grateful for this. I don't understand otherwise how people can't pick up on the negative atmosphere here. We spoke to another couple staying there who said they had also noticed a cold atmosphere and had to change rooms.
It is a real shame that the best is not made of this place. It could be heaven due to it's location and food, but it needs some attention to detail to make it 'a luxury country hotel' as it is advertised. It is definately not this and is way overpriced in comparison with what's available locally for the same money. (I have tried a few in this area before! )
I hope the owner ( who by the way was the only friendly person we came across) is able to turn things around, I'd like to go back IF improvements in staffing,appearance and professionalism were put into place!
x

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking gardens. And one that has been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yveford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We chose Woodlands Lodge for our weekend away, and wanted to take our lovely Boxer dogs with us. We have been a couple of times previously, but not since the new owners took over. We were not disappointed; it was the same relaxed atmosphere, great food, comfy bedroom, pet-friendly hotel we had experienced before.

The new owners have freshened up the exterior and the bathroom in the Compton Garden suite was much improved.

We ate in Bentley's restaurant on both nights and we were not disappointed with either the quality or the presentation of our meals.

We did have a few niggles which we have already brought to the owners' attention, but overall our return visit was a perfect weekend getaway.

Room Tip: If travelling with your dog, choose a ground floor room. Both have conservatories and open directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed the end of May before the bank holiday. Booked only a few days earlier and stayed two nights. The location was superb and very peaceful. Room was large and very clearn - double aspect with modern wallpaper but still with a country feel. Had dinner both nights and the meals were excellent, served in the beautiful dinding room, the food was presented extremely well. Location was great as there was plenty to see within only a short drive away. Also walked from the hotel straight into the New Forest where a deer ran past us. The weather was fantastic which made our stay even more enjoyable. Took advantage of the garden late aftenoon to relax. Would definitely recommend and go back sometime.
Mr & Mrs M. London

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We have visited the New Forest many times but the best way to relax off the everyday life is to stay at the Woodlands Lodge.
Price competitive, excellent dinner and breakfast, all clean and confortable, romantic atmosphere in our room and the garden looks like the fairytale's garden.
Beautiful footpath is passing through the garden and takes you into the New Forest!

Room Tip: after a walk you can enjoy a whirlpool in your bedroom - we had room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a long weekend away. After reading reviews I decided to try this hotel as it sounded just right for a relaxing trip. We were not disappointed. On arrival the outside parts of the hotel were being refurbished so it was not a fantastic first impression but maintenance has to be done. From then on everything was lovely. We needed to change rooms and the staff went out of there way to meet our needs and offer to help us move. All throughout our stay all of the staff ( who seem to do a variety of jobs) were friendly and helpful. The suite we had was roomy, clean and had a lovely bathroom. The bed was spacious and so comfortable as were the pillows. ( want to know where to buy some!).
Breakfast was lovely and as we were so lucky with the hot weather it was perfectly situated near the very pretty garden in a conservatory. We dined twice in the restaurant and were impressed by the food and enjoyed the meal very much and thought it was good value.
The hotel is not too far from lots of places to visit if you're driving and has a nice pub within walking distance.. If I really had to find any fault it would be that some parts of the hotel decor could do with a bit of tarting up but as I said it seems that they are in the process of doing this.
I would certainly go back to this hotel as it proved to be a lovely place to splebd a perfect weekend in the new forest

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

The Woodlands Lodge Hotel is a comfortable, quaint home from home place to stay! We’re just back from our second visit in 5 years & although nothing very much has altered in the essence of the hotel, the new owners are trying to put a shine back on the place without taking anything away from its rustic charm!

Our room was clean & tidy with a view overlooking the Forest. It’s true the décor is a little dated, maybe a little shabby but the overall feeling you get at Woodlands is one of being comfortable, able to relax & generally unwind being yourself. For us one of the best things about Woodlands is the fact we are able to take our dog as all dogs are welcome ~ of course it goes without saying they must be well behaved! You are able to have the company of your pet everywhere apart from the restaurant, which is only right & proper.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FMacD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodlands
2.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
8.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
756 reviews
8.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
832 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,782 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Lodge Hotel

Address: Bartley Road, Woodlands, New Forest SO40 7GN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Price Range: £68 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Lodge Hotel is a charming Country House hotel well away from main roads set in three acres that open directly onto Hampshire's New Forest. The perfect base to relax, walk or enjoy the local New Forest attractions. Woodlands Lodge Hotel can also host, conferences, weddings and special events. We have The Hunters Restaurant on site which is open to non-residents and has been awarded an AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Woodlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Woodlands
Woodlands Hotel Southampton
Woodlands Lodge Hotel New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing