We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location for a short break in the New Forest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
england
2 reviews
“A great location for a short break in the New Forest”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We have just returned home after a wonderful break at Woodlands Lodge Hotel. The location is perfect, right on the edge of the forest. We were really impressed with the staff they are so friendly, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious.
We had some friends over one evening for dinner and the whole experience was marvellous.
We are going to return soon to this New Forest gem

Room Tip: Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank invisible1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    156
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
117
301
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2012

If you are looking to organise a wedding for 50-60 people ,I would highly recommend you give this hotel a look .Have just attended my son's wedding and can say everything to do with the wedding was fantastic .Location is ideal on the edge of the forest-very picturesque . The hotel is comfortable and you are made to feel at home .All the rooms are unique in their own way ,some have wonderful views of the forest , the groundfloor rooms have their own conservatories ,and others have luxuries eg, whirlpool bath.Cuisine -very high standard ,making use of local produce.All our guests were very complimentary about the food and the service of the friendly staff,.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magstur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We recently had a lovely stay at the Woodlands Lodge Hotel. The area is beautiful and we were lucky enough to stay in room 12 which looked out onto the vast garden. The country house decor in our room really suited the surroundings; it was comfortable and cosy.
The staff were friendly & attentive, checking we were happy with our room and enjoying our stay. The food was wonderful and it is fantastic that the produce is grown organically in their own vegetable garden.
We also hear the hotel is gradually being decorated so we'll definitely pay another visit to see the changes! Overall we'd certainly recommend a visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRWitches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We have used the resturant on several ocassions, and not once have we been disapointed, each time we have visited the staff have been extremley attentive, nothing being too much trouble.
The food is different, pulling this resturant apart from other local resturants and pubs, with a very good variation on the menu, a fair priced wine list, making this one of the best resturants in the area.
Please keep up the good work everyone at Woodlands Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We have just returned from another lovely few days at Woodlands. Since our last trip more great changes have taken place including a new lounge carpet (we think we were the first guests to walk on it). What hasn't changed is the friendly atmosphere and the helpful staff. It was a perfect location for a bit of Christmas shopping, the small quaint shops of Lymmington and the big shops of Southampton and then heaven back to the tranquility of the hotel where you can look onto the gardens and straight onto the forest.
We are already looking forwards to returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We just arrived back from the hotel after a short break away. The hotel is in a stunning setting with direct access to the New Forest. Our room was very comfortable and well equipt, the food was fantastic and of a high quality, and the staff service was very welcoming and friendly. We really couldnt fault the Woodlands Lodge. We had a very relaxing break away and will definately be back again soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in an Eves room which had bags of charm and was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Well - we stayed here in late October for the weekend of our first wedding anniversary. Let me tell you what the biggest problem that I had with this hotel was --> the smell. I CANNOT believe that no one else has written about it. The smell was AWFUL - it was an effluent, sewage smell. By the evenings it absolutely filled the lobby of the hotel. When you opened the front door, the smell smacked you in the face. The staff were aware of it because there were scented candles burning everywhere. In some places throughout the hotel, the smell seemed to be worse than others. And unfortunately, the hallway where rooms I think 12 and 14 were located, the smell was AWFUL. Which was really unfortunate given that it was our first wedding anniversary and we had chosen a deluxe room for a romantic getaway. We did let someone at the front desk know about the smell and he just said 'they were looking into it'. I suppose we should have complained more. But we knew that we were stuck with the hotel - all the hotels in the New Forest book up quickly and we happened to be there during half term - so there was nothing else available.

Also beware if you get a deluxe room. They all have fireplaces in them, but none of the fireplaces work. Which was another damper on my hopes of having a romantic weekend away.

Aside from the god-awful smell - this is a nice, charming hotel that is in a good location. It's right at the top of the New Forest, so it's easy to get to, unlike some other places like Lymington. The hotel is old world, shabby chic. So you should be prepared to see knicks, scratches and so on - but those things don't detract from the overall charm of the place and its decor.

But - Yes it's true - the beds, mattresses and pillows are a bit crap and not very comfortable. And yes it's true that even though the rooms have big whirlpool bathtubs, the whirlpool jets aren't so good. And yes it is also true that the shower isn't so good. But I think - those things wouldn't have bothered me at all if the place didn't smell so badly of sewage.

The free breakfast portions were small - but the quality of the food was good. But the room breakfast was served in was always pretty cold (windows were open to let fresh air in and to let that awful smell out). My husband seemed to think that they were either having a plumbing problem - or that they had a septic tank that was full and/or problematic.

I would never stay here again personally - BUT would I recommend the place to someone else? Maybe. Not for a romantic getaway though. But if you're travelling with friends or family and you just want to be in the New Forest and spend most of your time outdoors - you might like it. BUT before booking, I really would call them and ask them about the smell. Get some assurances that if it smells like sewage, you'll get a discount of some kind, or a full refund.

Room Tip: ASK ABOUT THE SEWAGE SMELL. Be wary of staying in (I think) rooms 12 or 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imogene A, Owner at Woodlands Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you had a bad experience with us. I can assure you that the smell has gone, and was an unfortunate experience for us because a pipe had separated and it was very difficult to locate - we had cameras and drainage experts in but it took getting the floor boards up to find the problem, which is now resolved.But we spent a week trying to resolve the issue. I am sorry that the smell in reception spoiled your stay. We were taking this very seriously and were trying to minimize any disruption to guests. If i had known you were unhappy with your room we would have tried to move you, although room 12 is generally very popular with guests because of its lovely garden view. We are a country house and all our rooms are decorated differently and have different bathrooms and bedroom set ups. If you found the duvet and pillows not to your liking we would have been happy to switch them for you? also, all our rates include breakfast and it is possible to take whatever you would like from the continental buffet and then the cooked breakfast is cooked to order so that you should never be wanting or leaving our hotel hungry! I am pleased that there were certain things you liked about us and would consider recommending us in the future. Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review. Best wishes Imogene Anglaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodlands
2.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
8.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
11.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Lodge Hotel

Property: Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Address: Bartley Road, Woodlands, New Forest SO40 7GN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Lodge Hotel is a charming Country House hotel well away from main roads set in three acres that open directly onto Hampshire's New Forest. The perfect base to relax, walk or enjoy the local New Forest attractions. Woodlands Lodge Hotel can also host, conferences, weddings and special events. We have The Hunters Restaurant on site which is open to non-residents and has been awarded an AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woodlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Woodlands
Woodlands Hotel Southampton
Woodlands Lodge Hotel New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing