We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Twixmas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley Kent England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific Twixmas”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Spent 4 lovely nights at Woodlands Lodge. Brilliant location, excellent for dogs as one can walk straight into the New Forest. Food deserves a special mention as it was of top quality which would not be out of place in a 5 star hotel! Nice relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borseygogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    159
    47
    18
    8
See reviews for
126
310
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Wanted to find a hotel that offered suites (we have 2 kids), had character and allowed us to walk eat and drink (not all together!). Comfortable environment (not stuffy), fabulous friendly owners and an amazing location - perfect for families who want quality and character. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Just spent a happy Xmas at the lodge. Fab atmosphere and food, staff and owners were so friendly. Thoughtful touches such as a small gift left outside the door on Xmas morning meant a lot. Very good value, would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Room 2 has lovely wooden beams and a top notch power shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarionK68_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Woodlands is a beautiful building in lovely setting and seemed perfect for a funeral tea but the service badly let it down. After waiting a long time in the entrance hall someone eventually arrived and showed us to the tea room where we were told to help ourselves to tea and coffee. The two men on duty were hardly seen. The sandwiches were made with very thick toasting bread complete with crusts. This was not what we expected from a 3 star hotel. We were also very disappointed with the lack of respect shown at a funeral tea because both men were in casual coloured shirts with no tie or jacket. Even if Woodlands is aiming for a different market that appreciates the casual approach this was disrespectful at a funeral.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imogene A, Owner at Woodlands Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Jenny
Thank you for your comments, i am disappointed that you did not find our service and style appropriate. We endeavour to uphold an excellent level of service to all our guests and even more so at emotionally difficult events. We were advised by the family that they would like a self service tea and coffee and for staff to be discreet, but i am sorry that you thought our service was lacking. The staff uniform is a coloured shirt without a jacket, to allow them t be recognised as staff and assist in freer movements during service, but in future we will ask when someone books a funeral tea if they would like staff in a jacket and tie, but i assure you that they were not being disrespectful simply wearing their uniform. We hope we have not caused further upset to you during an upsetting time and appreciate you taking the time to comment.
Best wishes
Imogene Anglaret
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

As we have a dog this hotel was perfect for us. The location is amazing with a 30 second walk to the open forest. So nice having a gas fire on the colder nights.

Food was of a good quality. Plenty of parking. Room was older in styling but well maintained. It looked as though they were in the process of updating so I will be interested in returning to see what they have done.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2012

is a nice hotel, service good and helpful, rooms great and restaurant and bar friendly and reasonable.
Cleanses was taken care of which is very good thing. Food was good and well served by good and fast service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Namie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2012

i APPRECIATE ALL THE HOSPITALLATY .
I ENJOYED MY STAY AT THE Woodlands Lodge Hotel, uk. I WILL DO IT AGAINE NO DOUBET.
i would recommend this to family and friends. especialy the food was good , i love it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodlands
2.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
8.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
714 reviews
8.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,041 reviews
11.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
437 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Lodge Hotel

Property: Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Address: Bartley Road, Woodlands, New Forest SO40 7GN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Lodge Hotel is a charming Country House hotel well away from main roads set in three acres that open directly onto Hampshire's New Forest. The perfect base to relax, walk or enjoy the local New Forest attractions. Woodlands Lodge Hotel can also host, conferences, weddings and special events. We have The Hunters Restaurant on site which is open to non-residents and has been awarded an AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woodlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Woodlands
Woodlands Hotel Southampton
Woodlands Lodge Hotel New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing