We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Anniversary break”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We got married at the Woodlands Lodge in June 2012, we hired the whole hotel and our wedding was truly amazing! Imogene and Robert could not do enough to ensure our special day was perfect.

So what better place to spend our first wedding anniversary than back at the Woodlands Lodge. We stayed in the garden suite (room 17) again and our room was clean, bright and welcoming. We enjoyed a cream tea in the garden which was superb! Our meal in the restaurant in the evening was delicious - you really MUST try the crispy eggs! The staff can't do enough for you, they are attentive and polite and a special mention must go to Alex.

The Woodlands Lodge is a wonderful hotel, the grounds are stunning and we spent ages just watching the chickens! The food is amazing and where possible they source local produce - and serve eggs from their own chickens! We were very sad to have to check out and go home. We will be back for our second anniversary if not before.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    159
    47
    18
    8
See reviews for
126
310
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Our Ladies Probus Club lunch at Woodlands Lodge (45 attended) experienced a friendly and helpful welcome from reception. A delicious lunch was served by excellent, efficient, unobtrusive staff. This is our second visit to this hotel for lunch and we have been equally impressed. I would not hesitate to book another luncheon for a large group of people and certainly recommend other groups to visit Woodlands Lodge for lunch.
President of Hythe and District Probus Club

Room Tip: This was for lunch only
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josie186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed for one night. When we used the shower in our room the receptionist and owner knocked on our door accusing us of damaging their property since a leak appeared in the hotel lobby which was caused by a leaking pipe from our bathroom (apparently) and was told not to use any of the facilities in our room. Not only were we falsely accused but the tone was incredibly aggressive and rude. We left the next day after we still had to pay the full price with no apology.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ja_hugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imogene A, Owner at Woodlands Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
I am disappointed to read your review, obviously because you did not have an enjoyable stay but more so that you felt you were held responsible for a leak which started from a pipe In your room. I am sure this is a case of cross wires, as this was a random leak, which could never be anybodys fault. It is true you were asked not to use appliances whilst the source was identified, but i am sure you understand this, as it could have been dangerous to you or a fellow guest if we did not take immediate action to identify the source and I apologise if in the rush to fix the problem you felt my husband was rude. I can assure you this was not his intention and was surprised by your review. It is a peril of an old building that every now and then things go wrong but we always try and rectify any discomfort caused to any guests, with a good humour and humbleness. We are genuinely upset that you had a poor experience and felt that you were not treated fairly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed here as a surprise for my son who was only back in the country for a few days. Nice hotel in a lovely setting. The staff were friendly amd very attentive. Good food both for breakfast and our evening meal. Happily stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Stayed one night here following a weeks break in Dorset .Location superb as right in the New Forest a two minute walk through Hotel grounds into woodland .Hotel room very clean and what you expect from a well run family hotel.

Very good meal in pleasent surroundings with attentive staff menu not extensive but food very good and locally sourced .

I would recommend this hotel for any couple wanting a peaceful break with comfortable accomadation and friendly hotel staff need to book at bank holidays however as understand busy in those periods .

Room Tip: Dont take basic room go for next level up
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We had a Sunday lunch here today and felt the need to write a review about our visit.. polite attentive (not too much!) staff, all very friendly, gorgeous setting even on a cloudy day.

The 3 course lunch was really quite special, presentation really quirky and attractive for all of our choices, desserts were sublime, especially my orange brûlée! the price of £17.50 per head for 3 courses plus tea/coffee is amazing!

Situated just on the edge of the Forest, with ponies in abundance. A real gem of a place.

The cream tea that passed by me during our meal looked fab!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keenwalkers45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarzana
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

What can be said other than thank you to Alex, Thom, Guy and everyone else for making our stay memorable. A perfect place to relax before or after wandering around the villages of the ancient New Forest to see and mingle with wild ponies, donkeys and cattle. The forest goes on forever; there are walking paths, pony roads, and roadless sections of forest and woods; it's all beautiful. Now let's get to breakfast: A range of delicious hot and cold options from which to choose, included in the price of the room (note: our room was very comfortable). Dogs allowed in the bar area and lounge. At lunch, chef cooks up fabulous homemade burgers. The dinner menu is lovely; will have to dine in next time. Cannot wait to return! Hey Thom, hug a wild pony for us, will you? We miss them. Sincerely, Laura & Jeff

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelTarzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodlands
2.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
8.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
714 reviews
8.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,041 reviews
11.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
437 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Lodge Hotel

Property: Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Address: Bartley Road, Woodlands, New Forest SO40 7GN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Lodge Hotel is a charming Country House hotel well away from main roads set in three acres that open directly onto Hampshire's New Forest. The perfect base to relax, walk or enjoy the local New Forest attractions. Woodlands Lodge Hotel can also host, conferences, weddings and special events. We have The Hunters Restaurant on site which is open to non-residents and has been awarded an AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woodlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Woodlands
Woodlands Hotel Southampton
Woodlands Lodge Hotel New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing