We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Worth a Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Room (suite) was great in the roof with plenty of character and space. The cook was very accommodating to our dietary special needs. Breakfast was very good. Full English to cereal and poached haddock – yum!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHubby2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    153
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
116
299
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel is located on the outskirts of the New Forest. When we walked through the door, we felt like we had entered into a large country house rather than a hotel, we were greeted with a warm welcome. Once checked in we were lead to the first floor and shown to our room which was really charming and rather grand with a queen size bed. We had fabulous views over the back garden which when on further investigation took us through to a large woodland which back on to the edge of the New Forest. Although the bed took some getting used to as the mattress was firmer than we normally sleep on, the shower in the en-suite bathroom could do with being replaced or the water pressure being improved.

As we did had not stayed at the hotel before we were unsure as to what pubs/restaurants were in the area, therefore we ate in the restaurant at the hotel in the evening. Although we had booked a table for 7.15 pm we were not actually shown to our table until 8 pm. We could not fault the food, but the service in between courses was a tad long. However, as this was only an overnight stay, when we went for breakfast the following day, the service was much quicker and the breakfast piping hot. The hotel is located 7 miles from Lyndhurst which is ideal if you want to have a walk round, and is ideal for the New Forest Visitor Centre.

We will use this hotel again, but will probably eat out at one of the local pubs instead.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroLew2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fareham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

What a little treasure this hotel is. Spotlessly clean and charming. We were lucking enough to be upgraded to one of the eve's suites which was very spacious. The bathroom was immaculate with huge towels and complimentary cosmetics and plenty of tea/coffee making facilities.
We only stayed one night and never had an evening meal but the breakfast was wonderful. Stunning view over the garden which has access directly in to the new forest.

It missed out on a five star rating for me as there was no where to smoke outside for us smokers without getting cold and wet as unfortunately it rained during the evening we stayed.

Other than that it was perfect.

Room Tip: I am sure it really doesn't matter as they all look really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camelia2844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
center
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This country house hotel is just beautiful.
it has a beautiful garden and you can walk directly to the forest.
We had a lovely 3 hours walk with our dog in the area.
You get everything you need in this hotel: spacious room, lovely breakfast, parking space, free wifi and great location to explore New Forest.
the staff was really friendly, and we love the fact we could bring our dog to stay with us in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UdNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is a genuine dog friendly hotel
The garden room was good size
The food was great and fresh and tasty
The hotel is genuinely dog friendly and you can eat your meals in the conservatory with your four legged friend as company
The housekeeper needs some extra detail but every thing else is great
If you want a nice hotel nice area with good service and food and genuinely dog friendly look no further if housekeeping duties were better then this would be a 5 pluss for me
The dogs get their own towels and blankets and even a treat
It is so nice to have a genuine dog friendly hotel of this calliper and great area well done
Our particular room was not clean but that was one person not doing job correctly not the hotel but as we stayed in that room it effected us so that is why we have given the low mark but that is not the case of the hotel in general and the lady on duty offered to rectify it but we were so tired but the housekeeper does need to do job better in all rooms

Room Tip: Room 17 is great for families and less mobile also if you have dogs Give it a try we're please...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farrington1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a night in August as we wanted to do some walking, cycling and relaxing in the New Forest. The location of the hotel is great - you can walk through the garden and straight into the New Forest.

We received a friendly welcome and were shown to our deluxe double room, which was quite nice. The room was nicely decorated and the bathroom was generally good. The only problem was the shower - it was great in the evening, but for a while in the morning there was no water at all - not ideal when you're standing there with shampoo in your hair and unable to wash it off! There was some noise from the corridor outside - banging doors etc - but I suppose this is pretty much unavoidable in most hotels.

We ate in the hotel restaurant, which was a good experience. We were served drinks in the lounge area overlooking the gardens while we looked at the menu. The service was great, and so was the food, especially the plate of four yummy desserts which we shared.

Overall, I'd highly recommend the New Forest for walking and cycling, and if we return I'd be happy to stay in this hotel again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gladioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Have just spent a very enjoyable few days with our family to celebrate our golden wedding anniversary at the Woodlands Lodge Hotel. Robert,Bob and Alex made our stay first class,the grand children quickly relaxed with the easy style of Bob and Alex in the dining room and loved the food, empty plates are always a good sign!! I would certainly recommend the restaurant where the food is well cooked, presented and of high quality, well done chef. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and hope to return in the future The efforts of everybody made out stay memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PicklesFarnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodlands
2.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
8.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
11.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Lodge Hotel

Property: Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Address: Bartley Road, Woodlands, New Forest SO40 7GN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Lodge Hotel is a charming Country House hotel well away from main roads set in three acres that open directly onto Hampshire's New Forest. The perfect base to relax, walk or enjoy the local New Forest attractions. Woodlands Lodge Hotel can also host, conferences, weddings and special events. We have The Hunters Restaurant on site which is open to non-residents and has been awarded an AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woodlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Woodlands
Woodlands Hotel Southampton
Woodlands Lodge Hotel New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing