We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic hotel with wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here for a romantic birthday getaway The location is perfect for a wander into the forest from the hotel's rear garden. We did not have dinner at the hotel but the breakfast did not disappoint. What made our stay outstanding was the helpful, friendly staff. We are definitely recommending the Woodlands Lodge to our circle.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann_Marie4444803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    153
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
116
298
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Lovely hotel - with a very enthusiastic and innovative chef who wasn't afraid to ask for feedback on the food. We had the four poster room with balcony over the garden - the gate led straight out onto the forest with superb walks. The dinner was excellent - with several choices every evening and breakfast was served in the conservatory freshly cooked - and plentiful. The drinks were reasonably priced and the house wine was excellent. The owner was very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was nice and relaxed. Charming place to stay - so quiet and peaceful - would go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were a group of 6 adults & 4 children staying for a summer weekend. The owners went out of their way to make sure those of us with young children had child-friendly rooms. We we're also given top tips on making the inevitable trip to Peppa Pig World 10 mins away, as well as child-friendly places to eat in the area. Breakfast was great - loads of choice, and the grounds are worth walking around as they back on to the New Forest itself. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenMoriartyGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

After great day in Peppa Pig World we decided to stay locally over night. Found Woodlands Lodge and phoned them at 9pm asking for a room. Manager prepared one for us at last minute, chef stayed over to cook for very hungry kids.
In the morning next day we realised how lovely and charming place we are in, old style rooms, beautiful garden and delicious breakfast with view of the forest.
Will come back there for sure.
Lovely hotel with great staff.
THANK YOU!!!
Kasia, Greg, Lily and Nathan

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg_Cov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed in the garden suite which was simply outstanding! look forward to staying there again in the near future!
Spacious accommodation with conservatory leading out to private garden, separate living area and a bathroom to die for! free standing bath with separate shower...
We didn't eat at the hotel but shared a lovely (and reasonably priced) bottle of wine!
In my opinion extremely good value for money

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Room (suite) was great in the roof with plenty of character and space. The cook was very accommodating to our dietary special needs. Breakfast was very good. Full English to cereal and poached haddock – yum!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHubby2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel is located on the outskirts of the New Forest. When we walked through the door, we felt like we had entered into a large country house rather than a hotel, we were greeted with a warm welcome. Once checked in we were lead to the first floor and shown to our room which was really charming and rather grand with a queen size bed. We had fabulous views over the back garden which when on further investigation took us through to a large woodland which back on to the edge of the New Forest. Although the bed took some getting used to as the mattress was firmer than we normally sleep on, the shower in the en-suite bathroom could do with being replaced or the water pressure being improved.

As we did had not stayed at the hotel before we were unsure as to what pubs/restaurants were in the area, therefore we ate in the restaurant at the hotel in the evening. Although we had booked a table for 7.15 pm we were not actually shown to our table until 8 pm. We could not fault the food, but the service in between courses was a tad long. However, as this was only an overnight stay, when we went for breakfast the following day, the service was much quicker and the breakfast piping hot. The hotel is located 7 miles from Lyndhurst which is ideal if you want to have a walk round, and is ideal for the New Forest Visitor Centre.

We will use this hotel again, but will probably eat out at one of the local pubs instead.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroLew2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodlands
2.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
8.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
11.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Lodge Hotel

Property: Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Address: Bartley Road, Woodlands, New Forest SO40 7GN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Lodge Hotel is a charming Country House hotel well away from main roads set in three acres that open directly onto Hampshire's New Forest. The perfect base to relax, walk or enjoy the local New Forest attractions. Woodlands Lodge Hotel can also host, conferences, weddings and special events. We have The Hunters Restaurant on site which is open to non-residents and has been awarded an AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woodlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Woodlands
Woodlands Hotel Southampton
Woodlands Lodge Hotel New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing