We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous New Forest hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fabulous New Forest hotel”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We have just returned from our first visit to The Woodlands Lodge Hotel and would recommend it highly. The lounge, dining room and bar are of a high standard and our bedroom was spacious and well appointed, with everything needed to make our stay relaxing and comfortable. The hotel is privately owned and we were made to feel very welcome; nothing was too much trouble. Our two retrievers always go on holiday with us, so facilities to meet their needs are at the top of our list. Our dogs were made very welcome, right down to treats and their own towels in our room. At the rear of the hotel there are some nice gardens, with access from both the front and back of the hotel, and beyond that there is a paddock from which a gate leads directly into the forest; dog heaven! The dogs were allowed everywhere except the dining room, as one would expect, and joined us for our evening meal and breakfast in the bar area. This hotel is by far the best we have stayed in in the New Forest (and we’ve tried quite a few!). We don’t usually post comments, but felt it might be helpful to share our very positive comments. Well done Woodlands Lodge; we’ll most certainly be back to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    159
    47
    18
    8
See reviews for
126
311
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Staff are brilliant, simply doing their absolute best, and the garden has a gate straight on to the forrest. Those are the best bits. The breakfast is OK, but I did have an excellent Ceasar salad bar snack which was more than sufficent and really really tasty..Our room is one of 2, yet to be refurbished, and as its an old room, I don't think it motivates the cleaners much either. I did not manage to see a refurbished room, but if in keeping with the public areas, will no doubt be well done. I am lead to believe the present owners, who are on hand and very helpful, bought the hotel 3 years ago and are refurbishing it a room at a time. If you have a dog or 2 this is place is well worth a visit. It is situated in a great spot,and yet away from the hustle and bustle of nearby Lyndhurst. We only eat breakfast and a bar snack so can't coment on the chef's 1 AA rosette. numerous hotel guests, with and without dogs were return visitors, always a good sign. When booking, ask for advice on rooms, 2 appear to have their own exit onto the garden, brillant if you have a dog in tow. I would tend to phone the hotel before or at time of booking, as the staff genuinly want to helpand are forthcoming with good advice.

Room Tip: Call reception, they are great and check if they have a wedding booked, did get a tad noisey but did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AcornKiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

A quiet family run hotel in the middle of nowhere - which is by the way a compliment. Staff were friendly and attentive Food in the restaurant is very tasty with an adventurous menu The real winner however is that it is very quiet, right on the edge of the New Forest and as a result a great place to relax

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReadingRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A very pleasant stay in a privately owned hotel in the heart of the New Forest. Friendly and attentive staff but hotel could benefit from a few improvements. Decor was a bit tired, our on-suite definately needed refurbishing, bit smelly!. At first glance the menu looked interesting but did not live up to the promise as the food was generally over cooked.

Room Tip: Choose a garden room as thry give the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Agnes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

What a wonderfull day the hotel gave Matt and Sarah .Nothing was too much trouble.Service first class and food to die for.Well done to chef and his team.A really good setting for anyone thinking of anywhere to hold an event.Yes the hotel have the odd problem but it has character and if your lucky you get New Forest ponies coming into the car park thrown in.Thanks to all the crew.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the garden and wood beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel. Very dog friendly and a perfect setting. The location is perfect to explore the area and the walk behind the hotel is superb. Second stay here and we were not disappointed.
Enthusiastic and courteous staff make the stay comfortable.
Nice room ( no 5), and a mention too for the local pub the gamekeeper.
Breakfast on the second day not quite as exceptional as the first morning otherwise would have been a five. But still excellent and unique place to stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zulf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I held a business function at the Woodlands Lodge Hotel yesterday, and can't recommend it highly enough. The location is beautiful but easily accessible; there is adequate car parking; the room was ideal for my needs; and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EcoFrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodlands
2.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
8.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
351 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,705 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
836 reviews
11.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Lodge Hotel

Property: Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Address: Bartley Road, Woodlands, New Forest SO40 7GN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Lodge Hotel is a charming Country House hotel well away from main roads set in three acres that open directly onto Hampshire's New Forest. The perfect base to relax, walk or enjoy the local New Forest attractions. Woodlands Lodge Hotel can also host, conferences, weddings and special events. We have The Hunters Restaurant on site which is open to non-residents and has been awarded an AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woodlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Woodlands
Woodlands Hotel Southampton
Woodlands Lodge Hotel New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing