We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Emergerd Amazeballs!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of big blue backyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
big blue backyard
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Emergerd Amazeballs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Possibly not the most eloquent way to describe it, however this place was so awesome it took the words out of my mouth, rearranged them and then just created gurgling noises.

We loved everything about it.
The rooms? Wow
The food? We regretted going out and eating elsewhere. It was just.... oh!
The location? As long as you have a car you can easily get around to see the local area. It's also perfectly placed in a bushlands/beach area so you can walk down to the beach on a secluded track. The view and feeling on the otherside is wonderful.
Outdoor spa? I overused the spa mix and my funpolice partner had a heart attack but you can't fault the hosts on his bubble-phobia.
The hosts? Lisa was so lovely and kind whenever she came round to bring us our meals or let us know what was going on. Paul was the quiet culinary master stationed inside the main house. I wanted to hug him but felt that perhaps he may of been a little weirded out.

It's all in the details. You can tell Lisa and Paul have gone to a lot of trouble to make sure the tiny things are right. Hand written notes left next to bikkies, wonderful linens and furniture, welcome sign in unsual places, and making sure there was lactose free product available for my dairy-fearing partner.

Impressed. I think this is a one of a kind in Victoria, probably Australia. It was oh so terribly romantic.
All in all, i didn't wantt to stay for a getaway, i wanted to move in permanently.

Room Tip: Tried both the Bush and the Beach. I loved both and cannot choose. The bush has this gorgeous ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Datagorecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    15
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
173
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was a wedding anniversary journey....and many a years' anniversary journey it was..which made it so touchingly lovely. We have travelled quite extensively, but the Other 'Arf decided and booked the Big Blue Backyard. And he chose very well. Even though winter time, that did not detract from the beauty of the "Bush" accommodated he chose. Yes, the Big Blue Backyard would be extra special in summer, but it has beauty in winter too. Beautifully positioned to the back beach (for exhilerating walks) it is also private and secluded. We had a magnificent meal personally brought to us by Lisa on the first night (mouthwatering...and in abundance) and then enjoyed a pass to the Peninsula Springs the next day (stunning and relaxing). Close in proximity to Red Hill (think great restaurants and wineries) Lisa and Paul's little touch of paradise is exquisite for those who want a little time-out. Loved the decor of our "bush" room - airy, spacious and the outside spa was still used, even though it was winter. The bottle of champagne in the fridge for our wedding anniversary was easily quaffed. The handmade biscuits are a "must". All in all those special touches (the chalked welcome on the blackboard on the back of the bathroom door) make the Big Blue Backyard a very special place. Would we go again? Oh yes. We would.

Room Tip: Definitely have the outside spa - even in winter - it is still warm and lovely. Look up at the star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank athbrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Thank you to Lisa and Paul who have created a beautifully unique getaway on a sublime patch right on the edge of national park coastline. Out of the three themed rooms we chose the 'Bush Retreat' which was very comfortable - great heating, comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom and we loved the outdoor spa! Not to mention a very tasteful decor. Many extra touches to make the stay complete. And now to the food....Delicious, generous and as pretty as a picture! A stay here will not disappoint. We look forward to staying again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gemmaandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Big Blue Backyard is one of the most pristine, stylish, romantic, boutique getaways in Victoria. Having searched for weeks for a 5 star hotel, all I could find were out-dated accommodation and big brand hotels. I was truly impressed when I came across BBB. From the minute I had booked with BBB I received correspondence from our hosts, asking whether I had any specific requests, or dietary needs. I had booked for a big birthday as a surprise, and being quite particular about standards and with high expectation, I was very nervous about what would really be on offer; having fallen victim with prior holidays to the glamorous brochures only to be disappointed on delivery. But BBB did not disappoint.

On arrival our host Lisa met us at the end of a secluded, t-tree shaded driveway. Our room was warm and welcoming, complete with a bottle of local Mornington Peninsula sparking ready and waiting. By 7pm our pre-ordered 3 course dinner commenced and we were given adequate peace and privacy throughout, and by dessert Lisa advised that we would be left in peace for the rest of the evening and she would not return until breakfast the next morning. Needless to say we slowly made our way through the wonderfully generous tarte tatin whilst soaking in the outdoor hot-tub, listening to the waves crashing on nearby St Andrews beach, and admiring the starry sky above us. Surrounded by candlelight.

There are only three suites which makes for a pleasant, private and very personalised stay. The little touches such as homemade biscuits, fresh plants and flowers in the rooms, the dinner and breakfast brought to your room, and the complimentary late checkout (1pm), all added to the feeling of relaxation and enjoyment. The suites each present their own design, ours was African Safari, which we now refer to as the food safari given the generosity of the Lisa and Paul's catering.

After a relaxing evening, and a good nights sleep, breakfast arrived at the perfect time, as requested. Although admittedly not hungry after the previous nights feast, the breakfast was beautifully presented, fresh and healthy, complete with the days newspaper. We reluctantly checked out at 1pm with the promise of a return in summer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We came to the big blue backyard for a getaway for my 30th birthday. It was perfect! Lisa was there to greet us when we arrived and it felt like we were staying with friends. Lisa was very warm and welcoming - I'd never experienced this when coming to a B&B before. There was a bottle of bubbles in the fridge as a gift and there were lots of personal touches. The food was amazing! Each meal we had was just awesome, we especially loved the Spanikopita, and Paul was kind enough to give us the recipe. We will definitely come back here and thoroughly recommend it to couples looking for an escape. Thanks Lisa and Paul!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Wow.. Upon booking our room - I had a feeling it was going to special. And was definitely not diss appointed. We where pampered and well looked after from the minute we arrived. Not to mention - small little things, like a personal message left on the back of the
Bathroom door welcoming us. And special vegan biscuits left in our room. This place was a special treat for both if us and the wonderful owners made it one we will never forget. Thank you soooo much. We will be back!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Lisa and Paul are talented and creative people who have carved a beautiful and romantic hideaway out of the tea tree scrub, just back from the ocean. Their attention to detail and their commitment to quality, combined with their own very special sauce means that the Big Blue Backyard is a truly wonderful place. Combine it with a trip to the nearby hot springs (especially if you book a treatment and private bathing) for the ultimate in relaxation and indulgence.

Room Tip: Africa is the original suite, with an outdoor bath sunk into the deck. Combine with a bottle of cham...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minimole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Andrews Beach
3.6 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.7 mi away
Peppers Moonah Links Resort
4.3 mi away
Plantation House
Plantation House
#3 of 8 in Rye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harmony Bed & Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Weeroona Bed & Breakfast
3.7 mi away
Sunny Side Up B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to big blue backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about big blue backyard

Property: big blue backyard
Address: 56 Paradise Dr, St. Andrews Beach, Victoria 3941, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > St. Andrews Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — big blue backyard 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded barefoot luxury on the Mornington Peninsula.Smell the salt as you wind your way up Paradise Drive. An ankle height sign on the side of the road shows you into a treed canopied parking space...are you in the right place? A friendly welcome confirms you are and propels you along a boardwalk through the tangle of ti-tree toyour secret hideaway. Private, spacious, welcoming,all the time you can hear the ocean!This Award Winning, ocean beach hideaway for couples is ideally positioned to access all the bounty this stunning Peninsula has to offer. Tucked away enough to retreat and indulge. Meandering paths will lead you through the indigenous garden to the Chef’s kitchen filled with local produce or follow the blue painted stones over the dunes, to the stunning and often deserted St Andrews Beach.Each secluded hideaway, offers a spacious living area,light filled en-suite and sundrenched, sheltered deck with a double spa bath. Bathe by moonlight to the sound of bush and sea.Delicious long tray breakfasts are delivered each morning.Romantic candlelight dinners, prepared on request are served to the hideaway. A unique private dining experience!Friendly, discreet service creates an exceptional Australian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your big blue backyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing