We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary Meal”

The Norfolk Riddle Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Walsingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$53
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Situated in Little Walsingham, the Norfolk Riddle is a cosy neighbourhood-bistro-style restaurant, serving delicious locally sourced food and drink. With a deck area outside for summer, it's great in whatever the weather brings, for summer lunches, dining and parties, but you can keep snug by the woodburner in winter. Booking is very much advised to avoid disappointment.
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We couldn't have chosen better. Staff were particularly attentive, eager to please, described the various food options and generally made us comfortable. The variety of starters, main dishes and desserts was something of a pleasant surprise. Each was a subtle combination of tasty elements and in more than ample proportions. We were even allowed a single dessert and two spoons (the slow roast pork, main dish was very generous!). There's even a decent wine list (including a Luberon rose!).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Methuselah047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at The Norfolk Riddle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

What a lovely review, thank you so much for your kind words, Herve, our Head Chef, and his team will be very happy to read all of your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 187 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is an informal restaurant that serves lovely food. I had roasted salmon with samphire which was delicious though I was disappointed to only receive two small new potatoes. The portion size of the rest of the meal was generous. The quality of the cooking is not matched by the service which is very friendly but amateur. We had take away haddock and chips later in the week which was terrific. Lucky locals to have such a good restaurant nearby.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank clareexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at The Norfolk Riddle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed the food so much. When you come back if you are concerned with portion size please feel free to mention it to our staff and they will make sure you are looked after. We are surprised that you were not completely happy with the service as our reviews are normally very good on that front, but we will certainly discuss your experience with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We went with friends for an anniversary supper and had a wholly pleasant experience. The restaurant abuts a chip shop which serves pretty good fish and chips -- an option on the restaurant menu -- but it is tastefully decorated, small, and quiet (as popular restaurants go). We had booked a table, which was good because the place was completely full at 7:30. Most dishes seem to be locally sourced and all were good, some great. A starter of duck leg with lime and ginger was excellent. Duck breast with a different sauce was a fine entree. Pork belly also featured as a starter and an entree, with different sauces, and both were good. A risotto with calamari was fine, though less than splendid (the calamari was good, meaty stuff, but the rest of the dish was a little tired). The wine list was small, but well chosen, and wine prices were reasonable. The staff was attentive and pleasant. The price of the food was entirely reasonable -- you would pay a lot more in a more fashionable town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Porcophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at The Norfolk Riddle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

You have obviously taken a lot of trouble over this review and we really appreciate the kind words and observations. Herve, our Head Chef will be delighted with your comments about the food and I am sure he will review the calamari dish. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A decent menu with good food. However there were far too many tables squashed together. Rather plain noisy decor. Average service. Not very good value for money. OWouldn't rush back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at The Norfolk Riddle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit as much as we would like. We have recently added leather seating pads to our chairs but understand that they can still be a little hard. We have taken note of all of your other comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Don't have any breakfast, or else ask the staff for ten minutes or so to walk round Walsingham between courses. The Norfolk Riddle are so remote in the countryside that they never heard of Nouvelle Cuisine, or perhaps they have a number of regulars who drive plough horses or thresh wheat by hand all day and are very hungry. The food is utterly unpretentious, very well prepared and served and portions are very generous indeed. It is astonishingly good value It must also be a pretty good employer as we have been going occasionaly for a number of years,ans there seems to be very littlechange of staff, who remain cheerful, helpful and unobtrusive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 34,064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at The Norfolk Riddle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thanks for your thoughtful comments, our team will be happy to hear your positive review of their service, many of them have indeed been with us for many years. Our Head Chef, Herve is a great asset to the business and as you noted his idea of portion sizes is quite generous!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Norfolk Riddle Restaurant also viewed

 
Walsingham, Norfolk
 
Walsingham, Norfolk
East Barsham, Norfolk
 

Been to The Norfolk Riddle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing