We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

The Norfolk Riddle Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Walsingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$51
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Situated in Little Walsingham, the Norfolk Riddle is a cosy neighbourhood-bistro-style restaurant, serving delicious locally sourced food and drink. With a deck area outside for summer, it's great in whatever the weather brings, for summer lunches, dining and parties, but you can keep snug by the woodburner in winter. Booking is very much advised to avoid disappointment.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We ate here at the end of June 2014 when we were staying in Walsingham. Despite the rather strange entrance through the fish and chip shop, the restaurant itself was nicely laid out, the staff friendly and helpful and the food delicious. My husband had a filo pastry cheese and pear starter and declared it to be "exquisite", which is praise indeed from him!

We intend to return to the area next year and will certainly be eating here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deddajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at The Norfolk Riddle Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to post this review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal, I have to say that I tried Herve's cheese and pear starter and I agree with your husband! It was delicious. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    77
    29
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“13th wedding anniversary meal”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We've just had the most fabulous evening at The Norfolk Riddle! My sister and her husband ate there last summer and raved about it so when we realised we,d be on holiday up here (from Surrey) for our wedding anniversary this year we booked to go and it surpassed our expectations! Staff were so very welcoming and friendly; wonderful ambiance and food was to die for - deep fried Brie and cured belly pork starters followed by Walsingham steak and belly pork mains, with poached pear in choc sauce and warm choc, almond and cherry brownie to finish - all absolutely exquisite. Also great value for money at under £22 per head for 3 delicious courses! All locally sourced and top top quality. We can't WAIT to come back up here next year for our hols and to return to The Riddle for another magical evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at The Norfolk Riddle Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for your review. We are so pleased that we lived up to your expectations for such an important evening. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Unpretentious gem!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

From the outside you could just walk or drive past because the Fish & Chip shop part dominates the High Street but the restaurant serves up some of the most fantastic food (you can have fish & chips if you wish) you will taste in Norfolk and when the weather is good the outside terrace is a lovely place to sit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackiestan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at The Norfolk Riddle Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
You are right, the restaurant does tend to be a bit of a surprise, but we are glad that you enjoyed your visit so much. Thanks for taking the time to post this review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Norfolk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wedding Anniversary Meal”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We couldn't have chosen better. Staff were particularly attentive, eager to please, described the various food options and generally made us comfortable. The variety of starters, main dishes and desserts was something of a pleasant surprise. Each was a subtle combination of tasty elements and in more than ample proportions. We were even allowed a single dessert and two spoons (the slow roast pork, main dish was very generous!). There's even a decent wine list (including a Luberon rose!).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Methuselah047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at The Norfolk Riddle Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
What a lovely review, thank you so much for your kind words, Herve, our Head Chef, and his team will be very happy to read all of your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Loved the Food but Service needs polishing”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is an informal restaurant that serves lovely food. I had roasted salmon with samphire which was delicious though I was disappointed to only receive two small new potatoes. The portion size of the rest of the meal was generous. The quality of the cooking is not matched by the service which is very friendly but amateur. We had take away haddock and chips later in the week which was terrific. Lucky locals to have such a good restaurant nearby.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clareexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at The Norfolk Riddle Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed the food so much. When you come back if you are concerned with portion size please feel free to mention it to our staff and they will make sure you are looked after. We are surprised that you were not completely happy with the service as our reviews are normally very good on that front, but we will certainly discuss your experience with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Norfolk Riddle Restaurant also viewed

 
Walsingham, Norfolk
 

Been to The Norfolk Riddle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing