We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Great Walsingham Barns Cafe
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Walsingham
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Ely
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The food was delicious and loved the concept...pies and tarts. Wonderful lunch :) We found the restaurant by accident but will definitely return and recommend it to others. Excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    37
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
1 review
“Fantastic (but don't tell everyone!)”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Fab staff, yummy food, best roasts and to top it all pies to takeaway!
A little off the standard tourist path but well worth a visit oh and the fruit compote is to die for.
Very accommodating (we dine with children) nothing too much trouble.
Reading other reviews makes you laugh! If you have to wait it's because food is being cooked (not microwaved) and busy staff mean a popular venue. Writing a review if you haven't eaten there???? No words!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“More than just a cafe-the best Sunday roast in Norfolk. ”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The Great Walsingham Barns Cafe is one of those places that once discovered you will return again and again.
They call themselves a cafe but they deserve to be thought of as a restaurant. They make delicious meals with quality ingredients and the friendly staff make it an experience that will keep you smiling all day.
The Sunday roast here is a triumph with fabulous gravy and all the trimmings. Sit inside or out and soak up the surroundings.
While you are there why not visit the shops in the converted outbuildings, enough interesting things to keep the most avid shopper happy.

Helpful?
2 Thank annadash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Light lunch was just the ticket”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Visited for a light lunch as a family of 4.

Despite sitting down just after a party of 14 had just ordered, we were attended to promptly enough.

I had a hot beef roll, my wife a seafood pie that she raved about. The children's food was also good.

The only disappointment was a take away cream tea. The fruit scones were lovely, but the chantily cream was yuk and there was no jam. This may or may not be the Norfolk way to do it, but it didn't work for me.

Worth checking out, but suggest ringing ahead, as we didn't, and we were quite lucky to get table.

Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Flawed Gem”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Whilst visiting the area we came across the cafe and decided to have a late lunch!
The service was polite and not over bearing. We ordered 2 of the lovely looking pies with chips and salad and a couple of drinks. The food was well presented but the mushy peas were tinned! and the cups, milk jug and tea pot were all chipped !
The overall quality was good but the prices were a bit steep for a small cafe, by maybe 20%. I would buy the pies from there again, but not to eat in at those prices !
Sorry think your being greedy !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb7267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Walsingham Barns Cafe also viewed

 
Walsingham, Norfolk
Walsingham, Norfolk
 
North Creake, Norfolk
 

Been to Great Walsingham Barns Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing