We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home from home in a beautiful countryside...”
other travellers have booked this property
Field House Cottages, front view.  Ours is the the left hand cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Field House Cottages, front view.  Ours is the the left hand cottage.
Looking down the front path at our cottage Cottage seen from the swing seat at the top of the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Field House Cottages, front view.  Ours is the the left hand cottage.
Looking down the front path at our cottage
Cottage seen from the swing seat at the top of the garden
Kitchen
Kitchen looking towards dining-room
Dining room
Dining room looking towards kitchen
Sitting room with wood burning stove
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom window
View from the main bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Single bedroom
View from single bedroom
Bathroom
View from the bath
First floor landing
June flowers along the front path
Evening light at the top of the garden
The sunny terrace at the back of the cottage
The back of the cottage
The wild flower meadow above the cottage
Rufus the Poppy Head
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Walsingham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
emily_lin...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A home from home in a beautiful countryside setting”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had a fantastic long weekend at this very pretty traditional flint cottage. Our dogs absolutely loved running wild on the expansive beaches at Holkham and Wells, both of which are an easy drive away. The cottage itself is warm, clean and cosy with a well kitted out kitchen and a very pretty garden which has lovely views out over the surrounding fields. The excellent Walsingham Farm Shop is well worth a visit. It was the perfect anti-dote to life in London and we hope to be back next year - thank you for a great few days!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2017
Dear Emily, We are delighted that you and your dogs enjoyed your brief stay and hope to welcome you back another time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return in the future. It is always a pleasure to share the place with people who appreciate the natural beauty of the surroundings so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hasenschn...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Somewhere Rather Special”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a lovely long weekend in this gorgeous cottage.

The interior is delightful and feels like you are visiting someone's lovely home rather than renting a commercial property. While being completely practical and well-equipped, it is also full of original art, oriental rugs and unique pieces of furniture that make you feel you are somewhere rather special.

Set among gentle hills, there are undisturbed views over the countryside for miles, the birdlife is abundant and we even saw hares leaping through the flowers in the front garden in the early morning! The pretty back garden backs directly onto a paddock and is large, with several different seating areas perfect for catching the sun at different times of the day.

There are good walks across the fields accessible from the lane and there is almost no passing traffic, which is perfect for children and dogs and anyone seeking a change from the bustle of everyday life.

It's an easy drive to the north Norfolk coast where beach walks abound, and the villages and towns nearby offer all the usual amenities plus a good selection of specialist food and antique shops.

The owner, Henrietta, was very helpful and keen to make sure that our stay was perfect.

It's the perfect location for a relaxing and inspiring break and writing this review is making me long to return before too long.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2017
Thankyou for these nice comments and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do hope you will come again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Notley, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in August 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
We are very pleased that you had a good holiday and how wonderful that it is making you think of buying somewhere in this beautiful part of the country.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
So pleased you all had a good stay and enjoyed this lovely rural location...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lonerange...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This lovely flint cottage feels like home from home. The owners helpfully left comprehensive information regarding the local area in addition to the cottage information. This place is as lovely on the inside as it is on the out, being well furnished and cosy including incredibly comfortable beds. Lovely art work adorn the walls in every room , you have the sense you are staying at a friends with good taste, rather than a rental property. It is very well equipped with dishwasher, washing machine, two fridges , two ovens, electric blanket and wood for the wood burner in the lounge, which were all put to good use. We loved having a roaring fire to warm us up after spending the day out under the big Norfolk skies . If you like complete peace and quiet and getting away from it all , this cottage is ideal . If you stay here, there is no need to travel far to enjoy the area, only a few minutes to local shops, pubs, restaurants and the coast. This holiday was definitely the rare exception of the cottage being as lovely as the area I was visiting . I hope to return in the summer to enjoy the lovely garden which backs onto open fields and perhaps get a glimpse of the local Barn Owl , who remained elusive this time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of being home from home and not at a rental property.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
It's such a pleasure to welcome guests who feel this is like home from home. I'm sorry you missed seeing Barnaby the Owl though - he is a very frequent visitor in the early mornings!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenBen...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Delightful end of terrace cottage in the sticks but near everything”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Henrietta organised our family of four stay brilliantly. Instructions and directions all good. The cottage had everything we needed and was really charmingly decorated, a real home from home. Would happily return in the summer as we barely got to explore the area. So many lovely (enormous) beaches in the area and so many gorgeous coastal villages to mess about it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was isolated and quiet but close to several villages with great amenities for our stay
Liked least: The garden is a little scruffy
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
So pleased you had a good stay and hope to see you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing