We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Field House Cottages, front view.  Ours is the the left hand cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Field House Cottages, front view.  Ours is the the left hand cottage.
Looking down the front path at our cottage Cottage seen from the swing seat at the top of the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Field House Cottages, front view.  Ours is the the left hand cottage.
Looking down the front path at our cottage
Cottage seen from the swing seat at the top of the garden
Kitchen
Kitchen looking towards dining-room
Dining room
Dining room looking towards kitchen
Sitting room with wood burning stove
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom window
View from the main bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Single bedroom
View from single bedroom
Bathroom
View from the bath
First floor landing
June flowers along the front path
Evening light at the top of the garden
The sunny terrace at the back of the cottage
The back of the cottage
The wild flower meadow above the cottage
Rufus the Poppy Head
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Walsingham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs Mandy...
1 review
“Outstanding cottage”
Reviewed 15 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We had a truly memorable time in this wonderfully well equipped house with its exquisite garden and tasteful decor. The historic setting and idyllic countryside enhanced the whole experience and we will definitely be back. We arrived stressed and fraught and left fresh and energised. The pink garden swing seat, wild hares and local dairy were all highlights. We highly recommend this property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2018
We are so pleased that you enjoyed this special place as much as we do. The peace and the wildness of the countryside are a balm for us and it’s always such a pleasure when our guests feel the same way
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 29 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Lovely rural setting. Stunning wild flower gardens. Very comfortable and well equipped cottage which has been beautifully furnished with an eclectic mix of paintings and soft furnishings. We loved it and wanted for nothing. Great location with easy access to everywhere we wanted to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2018
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again another time - perhaps when there has not been such a period of drought for the poor garden!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katharine...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just delightful!”
Reviewed 27 March 2018 for a stay in December 2017

I am very elderly, but at 93 yrs I had the most delightful stay. The beds are extremely comfortable as is the sofa! (The stairs are steep but manageable) I came at Christmas and it was beautifully decorated and very warm. `The log fire blazed away and there were good films to watch whilst the rest of the party went out for windy beach walks with the dogs.
We had excellent local food and so much fun that I am longing to come again if someone will drive me there.
We were a party of nine ( one family took the cottage next door) but even so this cottage never felt too small with us all in it although it was quite snug!
A delightful stay in a delightful cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2018
We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope that you will return in warmer months - the joys of the summer months outside are a wonderful contrast to the comfort of sitting by the fire on cold winter days!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emily_lin...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A home from home in a beautiful countryside setting”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had a fantastic long weekend at this very pretty traditional flint cottage. Our dogs absolutely loved running wild on the expansive beaches at Holkham and Wells, both of which are an easy drive away. The cottage itself is warm, clean and cosy with a well kitted out kitchen and a very pretty garden which has lovely views out over the surrounding fields. The excellent Walsingham Farm Shop is well worth a visit. It was the perfect anti-dote to life in London and we hope to be back next year - thank you for a great few days!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2017
Dear Emily, We are delighted that you and your dogs enjoyed your brief stay and hope to welcome you back another time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return in the future. It is always a pleasure to share the place with people who appreciate the natural beauty of the surroundings so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hasenschn...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Somewhere Rather Special”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a lovely long weekend in this gorgeous cottage.

The interior is delightful and feels like you are visiting someone's lovely home rather than renting a commercial property. While being completely practical and well-equipped, it is also full of original art, oriental rugs and unique pieces of furniture that make you feel you are somewhere rather special.

Set among gentle hills, there are undisturbed views over the countryside for miles, the birdlife is abundant and we even saw hares leaping through the flowers in the front garden in the early morning! The pretty back garden backs directly onto a paddock and is large, with several different seating areas perfect for catching the sun at different times of the day.

There are good walks across the fields accessible from the lane and there is almost no passing traffic, which is perfect for children and dogs and anyone seeking a change from the bustle of everyday life.

It's an easy drive to the north Norfolk coast where beach walks abound, and the villages and towns nearby offer all the usual amenities plus a good selection of specialist food and antique shops.

The owner, Henrietta, was very helpful and keen to make sure that our stay was perfect.

It's the perfect location for a relaxing and inspiring break and writing this review is making me long to return before too long.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2017
Thankyou for these nice comments and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do hope you will come again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Notley, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in August 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
We are very pleased that you had a good holiday and how wonderful that it is making you think of buying somewhere in this beautiful part of the country.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing