We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great cottage retreat with excellent facilities”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bee's Knees

THE BEE'S KNEES
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
THE BEE'S KNEES
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
THE BEE'S KNEES
View of the cottage across the gardens
Garden from across the farm pond where Moorhens and ducks nest
View of the cottages across the farm pond
Across the pond in Autumn
Front door - Welcome!
I live next door!
Living area and kitchen
Double Bedroom
View towards the Gazebo
The henhouse
Peacock butterflies are regular visitors
Ducks and moorhens live on the pond
Gazebo in which to enjoy that early evening drink and the last of the suns rays
Picnic overlooking the pond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Banham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
neilyoung...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great cottage retreat with excellent facilities”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a lovely weekend at The Bees Knees.

Dalene and Alex made us welcome from the moment we booked and went out of their way to do those lovely things that make all the difference when you are on holiday, including picking and dropping us off at the station (we don't drive); stocking up the fridge with a welcome pack (with a vegan & veggie flavour) and making our dog, George, so welcome (special treats; bowls and there was even a throw for the sofa so he could come sit with us!)

The place is fantastic and very recently done up with a really well-stocked kitchen (lots of gadgets - you could bake if you wanted to; a larder with useful stock food items, a dishwasher and a washing machine), the bathroom/toilet are small yet all that you could need (I have to have a bath wherever I stay and they have made use of one, lots of hot water and a nice selection of products); the main bedroom was a good size and we slept well and the main kitchen/dining/lounge space is kept really toasty with a gas fire, the sofa was really comfortable and we loved having lots of trashy TV via Sky and a bunch of DVDs we could watch.

In short, this let has been really thoughtfully conceived and put together, with Dalene and Alex clearly making a real investment in the property and thinking about what people would want to have a comfortable, enjoyable stay - the big and the smaller things with a personal touch. I wish them every success and would strongly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sky TV and sofa with a very comfy blanket
Liked least: Location is not the most beautiful but if you had a car you can get to coast fairly quickly (30/40 minutes) and it is a great base
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comments and it was lovely to meet you both and it makes me very happy that we made your stay such a good one and that you felt so welcomed. We were sorry that you were not well when you were here so could not make the best of the gardens and the surrounding areas, but pleased that you found enough easy watching trashy TV to keep you amused:) We look forward to welcoming you both and the divine George again sometime. Kindest regards, Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave T
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 18 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This was our second visit to the Bees Knees and it was just as good as the first. Dalene and Alex are wonderful hosts and it was lovely to see them again. They even remembered that our son likes monsters university, and had a small gift waiting for him. We stayed for two nights between Christmas and new year, and the cottage was as clean, well equipped and beautiful as the first time we stayed back in July. The welcome pack was lovely (again) and the cottage is so warm and welcoming. It is a true home from home. I would wholeheartedly recommend this cottage as THE place to stay if you are visiting the area. We will again definitely be back in the not too distant future. Thank you Alex and Dalene - you have a gem of a cottage!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything-the place really is that good!!
Liked least: Leaving at the end of our stay!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2015
Thank you for your very kind review and belated Happy New Year greetings to you. It was lovely to see you all again and we are so pleased that the cottage lived up to your memory of your stay in July - we do try and it is very pleasing to realise that we are making people feel welcome. We look forward to seeing you again later in the year when hopefully the weather will be kinder!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful experience”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Arrived on Xmas eve to a wonderful welcome we were upgraded to The Borrowers - it's beautiful, and the welcome pack was far above and beyond what you would expect. We only stayed two nights but wished it had been longer. We definitely will be back and can not recommend highly enough - Tina & Dick

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2014
Thank you Tina and Dick and it was our pleasure to make your Christmas as special as we could. We look forward to seeing you again and hope you will be able to stay longer next time!! Wishing you both a very Happy New Year! Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urimmakeu...
1 review
“Fantastic !!!”
Reviewed 22 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

This house is fantastic for holiday!!!! Such a lovely house. Kitchen is well equipped. Prepared lovely food when we arrived.
I will definitely go there again.


Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2014
Thank you Yurim it was lovely to host you and your friends and especially the two fabulous dogs in their colourful Christmas jumpers! Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year to you all. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A pure haven in the Norfolk countryside”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This cottage really exceeded my expectations.The warm welcome and the welcome package ensured that our weekend away began on a high note. We were thoroughly looked after with Dalene and Alex going out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and happy.

It had the feel of a home away from home and felt like visiting people we had known for years. It had all the amenities you could need and more. The bookshelf and board games made me very happy but the whole cottage was finished to such a high standard that every bit of it was just as good as the last.

I can't think of anywhere that I would rather have spent the weekend and I will most definitely be returning again. A gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: That I couldn't move in!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
It was an absolute pleasure to host your reunion and we were so pleased that you had such a good time - you arrived as strangers and we parted as friends and who could ask for a more perfect outcome! We look forward to seeing you again next year. Kindest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenC75
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“High Quality Spacious Property”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is a spacious recently refurbished property in a quiet rural area with extensive gardens and plenty of room to relax and recharge your batteries. The hosts had provided an unusually generous range of local produce for our stay and the kitchen was extremely well equipped so we could have easily eaten at the cottage every day but with a number of good local restaurants (see other reviews), that would be a missed opportunity.

After thinking for a long time, our only minor niggles were the tightness of space in the upstairs wash room, the very firm matress and the slight pet smells in the living room for the first few days.

We'd strongly recommend this cottage to other couples or families looking for a Norfolk rural getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome pack
Liked least: The overly firm matress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
Thanks for the review and we are pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay in The Bee's Knees with us. It was a shame you didn't mention the mattress to us as we could have provided you with a feather topper which would have helped - remind us should you come to stay again! Kindest regards. Dalene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieRKin...
Henlow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Just what the Dr ordered!”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We were in need of
a relaxing weekend and The Bees Knees delivered. The welcome pack was thought out and gratefully received. Attention to detail across all aspects of this lovely cottage did not go unnoticed. Our 15 week old baby enjoyed the bath toys and the selection of books was fantastic. There was seemingly nothing missing in order to enjoy a self-catered stay. All too often we have had to go out and buy washing powder etc when self-catering but not here! Thank you for a really lovely and relaxing break. We shall be back when Lucy is a little older.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2014
It was our pleasure to have you all to stay and we are so pleased that it was just what you needed and that Lucy, an absolute poppet, enjoyed herself, and not forgetting Buster the Beagle! We look forward to welcoming you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing