We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
The entrance to the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The entrance to the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
The entrance to the cottage
The cottages from the garden
Garden and The Borrowers
Supper for two
Your welcome pack
The kitchen
The coffee menu
Soak away the cares of the day!
Bathroom
Relax and watch Phil the resident pheasant from the decking
The old well
Ducks nest here
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Banham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma B
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy Getaway”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a lovely 2 night stay over valentines weekend, with our 1 year old dog. We couldn't fault a thing. We were given a lovely warm welcome by the owners, and a lovely valentines hamper had been left along with some useful everyday essentials. We used the Smial on the first night which is a true novelty and very different to the average BBQ. Our dog loved exploring the massive garden and despite snow, had the time on his life. Have already recommended this gem to a friend, and are hopeful to return ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The only thing we could fault was the WIFI however we believe this is an area issue as opposed to a problem at the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Thank you Emma it was a pleasure to have you to stay and we are so pleased that you enjoyed The Smial and that Toby had such a good time in the garden despite the weather. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kindest regards. Dalene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“The jewel in Banham!”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

What a wonderful sanctuary. We stayed between Christmas & New Year visiting family nearby. A lovely friendly welcome,lots of goodies in the welcome pack Alex & Dalene had thought of everything. A well presented beautiful cottage finished to a very high standard but also very homely. It was bliss to return to after busy days with two & a half year old twins!
What a find . A big thank you to our hosts for creating such a perfect retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: I liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2016
It was a pleasure to have you all to stay and to meet the twins - a double first for scrumptiousness!! We look forward to welcoming you again here at Olde Farm. Kindest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen L
Corby, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Christmas Retreat”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My Husband and I stayed in The Borrowers for 4 nights over Christmas, with our little cat and we cannot remember such a relaxing Christmas!
The Borrowers is designed beautifully and of very high spec. We felt we were staying in such luxury, especially with the under floor heating and queen sized bed!
This is our first experience of self-catering and there was every kitchen utensil present, including a coffee machine and dishwasher.
Dalene and Alex gave us such a warm welcome and had thought of everything we may need including any food essentials, before our trip to the local supermarket.
The cottage was decorated beautifully and included Christmas decorations. We enjoyed a walk on the beach during our stay, which was about 45 minutes away and a lovely shopping trip in to Norwich which was only 30 minutes away.
We cannot rate our stay highly enough and Dalene and Alex are so very conscientious to have thought of everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible!

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2015
It was an absolute delight to have you with us over Christmas and we are so pleased that your first experience of self-catering was such a good one. We very much enjoyed meeting Amber the cat and we look forward to seeing you all again in 2016 - although next time I might just have to keep Amber!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan R
Stevenage
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“An exceptional place to stay.”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We recently spent a very enjoyable and relaxing break in this beautiful cottage. Alex and Dalene are perfect hosts, along with their lovely animal family.They are friendly and welcoming, always on hand yet unobtrusive.
We found the cottage to be spotlessly clean with so many thoughtful and useful extras. Alex and Dalene seem to have thought of everything you could possibly need to make your stay easy and enjoyable.The extensive welcome pack was fantastic and the homemade items and fresh eggs were particularly appreciated.
"The Borrowers" is set in very restful gardens that you are free to enjoy and explore. The cottage is bright and airy yet cosy and comfortable.It is very attractively fitted out to a very high quality.
Thank you so much for a lovely stay.
We hope to come again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The cloudy nights that hid the stars!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Olde Farm. It makes us very happy to know that our guests have been happy and have and we do try to make every visitor feel welcome and make their stay as good as we can. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the baking and the eggs. We hope to have you to stay with us again and as you know the Pugs adore having visitors - so much
potential for cuddles and treats! Kindest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A rural idyll”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent one night in Norwich and decided we would like a 3 night stay in the gorgeous Norfolk countryside, the Borrowers was the perfect escape for our little family and Dalene and Alex were the perfect hosts. Upon arrival was an extensive array of delicious local and homemade food- the homemade scones and clotted cream a particular highlight. The barn conversion itself was beautifully finished and decorated throughout and there was every item needed for self catering. The gardens were large and a delightful and unexpected surprise was a play area and fantastic Wendy house for our daughter. As fellow chicken fanciers I think we could have chatted to Alex & Dalene for hours.
Tip- Banham zoo is a great day out and only 1 mile or so away. Also leave all electronic equipment at home and completely unplug.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing I did not like
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt so welcomed. We do try to go that extra mile for our guests and it is lovely to know that it works and that you had such a relaxing and happy time. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kindest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingedebru...
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than perfect!”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our stay at The Borrowers was more than perfect. We felt very welcome, thanks to Dalene and Alex and the luxurious welcome pack.
The cottage was really marvellous; all was very comfortable, clean and well equiped. We also loved the spacious garden with the private terrace, the books and the DVD's with the latest movies. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Thank you Eric and Inge it was a pleasure to have you to stay with us and we are so pleased that we made you feel so welcome. We hope to see you again at Olde Farm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LProudfoo...
1 review
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Spotless and everything you could need supplied, beautiful surroundings and generous welcome pack of locally sourced fresh produce, a perfect retreat which could not be faulted, the converted barn is tastefully restored with period features. I am recommending to all my friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. It makes us so happy when people have enjoyed their stay with us, and makes all the efforts we make so worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you (and all your friends) to stay with us again here in our beautiful little corner of Norfolk. Kindest regards Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing