We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good! :)”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Juan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sigayan Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Went there with my family last weekend to celebrate my dads post birthday. The place was nice, its clean, accommodation was cheap (for a group) and not that crowded considering that it was a weekend. We avail the Halaan room and it was good. When we arrived, the rooms are clean and the bed sheets and blankets are new. Air conditioning was in very good condition too! :) The staffs are very accommodating and approachable despite of many customers bugging them for requests. (I'm one of those! haha XD) You'll also feel the privacy on each unit.

With regards to the beach, when we arrived and checked the water, its fine but my dad told me its low tide that moment, reason why the water was on ankle level even though you're 20 steps away from the shore. We did night swimming instead and the water reached my knees. haha! not bad. I think if you're not fine with the water at Sigayan, you can visit the other resorts nearby like the Kabayan, Laiya Coco grove, etc. and just swim there. LOL

Overall, I'll give this resort a 4/5 score and probably go back on a high tide season. hehe.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nesyuson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

The resort is very nice and clean.. the crew is very accommodating. If your barkada is on a budget and you want to go on an outing where you can have a grand time this resort is the place to be. Just for P250 you can rent tha kayak for an hour and just for P300 per head you can try the flying fish or the banana not and to top it all up just for P250 you can go island hopping and snorkling (equipments already included). ;)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Wil Bryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Came there as a family group with my brother's family and my mother in tow. First impressions were quite dismal for the beach front was quite small( though the beach was nobody's property for it was owned by the country according to Philippine law), so you could pretty much walk your heart out exploring the whole beach.

Photos on their site was quite limited to give a full preview of the resort(resort/beach resort) not "LUXURY" Resort as others in the same area are designed to be. So if you are looking for luxury in terms of amenities and worry free stay, this might not be the place for you. They have decent rooms and courteous staff who try their best to attend to your every whim and cry.

Planned and reserved the trip to get two units, the first, Halaaan 2 has two rooms, one with a queen sized bed and a double-decked bed and the other with a queen sized double-decked bed. The other unit had a single room with a double-decked bed and a queen sized one with both units having their own bathroom with heaters(thank GOD!). But as any trip with your mother goes, she had us transfer to a bigger unit with 7 queen beds and a single bathroom (a lot of waiting during bath time) but they do have a common shower and toilet just around the corner.

The resort is designed with the entrance parking area in front, then comes the units arranged side by side on way to the beach. The beach has sand( not like others in the area with crushed coral which is very painful on the feet), and surprisingly the waters were calm and clear the whole three days we were there.

The schedule for the trip had three days with check-in at 3:00pm on the Saturday, 16th of November (but if there's a lot of vacant units you can come in earlier and check-out on the Monday, 18th is at 1:00pm. The beachfront for the resort can be summed up in less than two dozen meters though one good thing they have going for them is that the waters are clear (being somewhat part of a cove and tidal pool) and quite shallow, a very good thing for groups like us who had four kids under 10 with us. Water in the morning at low tide is way out of the normal level at 30 to 40 meters off shore exposing some rocky outcrops and coral(somewhat alive) reef of sorts.

The resort is the only big resort that allows cooking (corkage is paid cheap) with a Fridge and stove with free gas. The units have a water dispenser with a free 4 gallon bottle of water for every day of stay. It can get quite loud for they do have a Karaoke machine which they say is allowed only till 10:00pm(which was loosely enforced), good thing we were located at the front of the place way away from the noisemakers( remember I stated resort, not luxury place where you get all the amenities and all demands are answered).

Owned by a couple who work and live in Manila who come every chance they come on the weekends with kids and grand kids in tow. it is nice for family trips for the place is run by locals who live around the corner. Kinda nice to be able to buy from a local store rather than the in-house supplies which costs a ton what it normally would.

Overall the trip was nice for the kids and us of course, the price was reasonable and amenities were not that bad. The beach was fine sand that was white with the staff diligently clearing any trash left behind by people. The water clear with small fish swimming up to you inquisitive of your intrusion into their domain. Kids were safe with knee high water a few dozen meters (Saying that don't get too relaxed with kids for safety first with kids as always).

Room Tip: Don't rely on the pictures and give them a call to find out what you're getting into
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ernesto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

What was suppossed to be our usual family vacation in July definitely turned better upon choosing Sigayan. The weather was our friend even if it was suppossed to be the rainiest month. We had sufficient space in our rooms, the tides and the fishes were wonders to behold and The trusty caretaker of the resort was very accommodating and friendly. Not all resorts in Laiya would allow you to bring food to cook, Sigayan, though was fine with this. Commendable as well was the no. Of CCTV they have for the guests security.A few points for improvement though, some appliance and the showers need an upgrade. Rust are well showing on some of them. No complimentary towels,shampoos etc. Wifi could not be accessed inside the rooms and lastly, best if they can sep. a bit fr their. Neighboring resort. But all in all, it was an enjoyable and pleasant family trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherry_blossoms97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed at the Resort last March for 3 days 2 nights with a group of 15 friends :)
Here are a few things I'd like to share to those interested in booking the place.

Driving in - Quite a bit of a drive from the metro, about 4 hours in our case, but the traffic was not so bad since we took the star toll way :) We got a bit confused as we left the main road, one has to travel through quite a length of country side to get there, so it will help if you have a map or can call someone to give you directions to the place if it's your first time.

Parking - Good parking space. We were able to park our 3 vehicles across from our room.

Accommodations - Our room was spacious, we had beds enough for all of us. The wallpaper/paint on the wall was nice - a good undersea theme set to the back drop of a warm orange.
The air-conditioner was placed in an awkward spot, it was at the center of the room and pointed at one bed - even with the swing function, it took a long time before our room cooled to a comfortable temperature.
The half-bath was big - twas a half-bath, no no bathtub (no shower curtain either). It looked like it has seen better days.

Food - Our room had a kitchenette where we could cook. Bought all our food from the local market and cooked them there.
There was a small sari-sari store in the Resort, and some kiosks during the day for siomai and buko juice.

Activities - Although it is a beach front property, I do not recommend swimming there.
There were fishing/diving tour boats docked everywhere and the sand was dirty looking - also, the place smelled like fish (as in malansa!)
There was a volleyball net available, but you might have to wait a while before you use it cause it is the only one available (unless you bring your own) and there were quite a number of people playing while we were there.
Bring your own balls and Frisbee and whatever beach games have ye.
We rented a boat to take us diving - it was reasonably priced. PHP 100.00 per person in our case. We went to a diving spot where we could feed the fishies our in the open water, and then to a secluded beach with really fine white sand. A three hour excursion, in total.
There was also a karaoke machine available - one of those drop-a-5-peso-coin-for-a-song types. The mic didn't work too well and the song choices were dated. One of the other patrons from another room brought their own TV and karaoke machine though, so if you have a portable one, you could take it with you.

Staff - the staff were courteous and responded within a reasonable amount of time to our requests.

All in all, we had a good time :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candice_Manuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

2 things that kept me worried until we got there.first the resort is not that beautiful as what you see in their website and second since i wasn't able to deposit for a reservation my family will not be accommodated(20 persons)....but all this things were proven wrong.after a long drive (4 and half hours from rizal) finally we have arrived safely(although we were lost in some point looking for the resort)....someone approached me and give his assistance to where we can spend our overnight and to whatever things that their resort can be offer(asked and they have it!)...THANK YOU SIGAYAN for letting my family experienced an unforgettable beach escapade(it may not be the beaches in bora, panglao or pagudpud) but you made our family outing a successful one.gratitude to sir allan and mam joy for an unforgettable getaway that my family had and to the guard on duty who have given us the password to access your resort's wifi :)..the happiness of my family matters to me so so much.THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annsherry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Sigayan Beach Resort is incredibly great. Foremost is because of good service by the staff (Alan - special mention) and their concern to give the best accommodation to the guests. It's cleanliness, both inside and out of the cottages, internet, allowed cooking with free filtered water for drinking, refrigerator and cooking area and dining area provided comfortable and satisfactory vacation spree to all. There is no doubt that among several other resorts, this place is worth what you will spend for! Thank you Sigayan staff for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms are very well kept and clean. The common areas such as bathroom, lobby, front patio and surro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank evelyn714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
11.2 mi away
No photo provided
Old San Juan Hotel
#9 of 9 in San Juan
1 reviews
59.6 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 4 in Lian
204 reviews
5.8 mi away
La Luz Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Estrellas de Mendoza Playa Resort
5.5 mi away
Sabangan Beach Resort
47.5 mi away
Canyon Woods Resort Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigayan Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigayan Bay Beach Resort

Address: Brgy, Laiya-Aplaya, San Juan, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > San Juan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in San Juan
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Sigayan Bay Beach Hotel San Juan
Sigayan Bay Beach Resort Batangas/San Juan, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing