We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced rooms!!!”
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dormy House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 West Runton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Overpriced rooms!!!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights - their double and twin bedded rooms are advertised at £110 or £120 per night for B&B - we didn't pay this - we had a deal off the internet, seriously would have major complaints if we had paid the full price!!!
Our room was tired and dated, the shower was really small and hardly any pressure from it.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was good as were the breakfasts.
We choose this hotel as opposed to a normal B&B or guesthouse as it had a bar and lounge area.
There are notices saying that reception shuts at 10pm, no night porter, so if you are going to be out LATER THAN 10PM then you need to get the key code!! We returned at 10.15pm and
the bar was closed and the place was like the Marie Celeste - not a single person around.
So no night cap for us!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fishingCambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    32
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
50
62
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

While staying in nearby Trimmingham,we decided to have a drive out and find somewhere for Sunday lunch, we came across Dormy house Hotel and decided to give it a try, What a gem of a place, arriving at about 12.30 on a Sunday lunchtime we were told we would have a twenty minute wait which was fine with us, in fact the waiting time was only ten minutes and we were taken through to the dining area ( with very eye pleasing decor) and given a table with a sea view.. The carvery was absolutely lovely couldn't fault it at all.. We were so full we couldn't eat dessert although I must say they looked equally delicious, definitely will be eating here again..

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Granniesgirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Booked the Dormy for a reunion luncheon. They could not have been more helpful. We were able to preorder off the main menus (all very competetively priced). They could not have been more helpful and willing to accommodate some more ageing palettes. The food was good, service friendly and the restaurant area light and bright with a sea view.we were able to take coffee in their comfortable lounge. Unable to speak for the hotel accommodation etc., but will be booking another 'reunion' in their restaurant which can cater for up to 70-80 people.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The food was lovely but the wait was just too long, there was a few people in the restaurant when we arrived, all already had there meals. We ordered drinks, I asked for bottled water, came in a half pint glass so had no way of knowing if it was infact bottled and im pretty sure you get more than that in a bottle anyway. We ordered our food, waitress could have been a little more friendly. Anyway we waited, and waited, and waited, even did the ill go to the toilet and the food will come thing, then we did the ill go check on the dogs in the car( it wasnt a warm day and the windows were open) and the food will come. Did it.. No. Waited a little longer and was just about to leave when she started bringing the meals out, one dish at a time for our party of 5. 2 meals came out, then we waited, another came out, and we waited, then the last 2 didnt arrive, we waited like before, was about to go as where the meals were and she brought them out, no explanation, no apologies. By this time the first 3 had nearly eaten there entire meal. The only redeeming fact was that the food was very good, but for the price we paid, did not appreciate the fact that we had to go pay at reception, no bill was given, just the cost. Would we go back, yes for the food but probably not as it was just too slow!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amzmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The staff deserve 5 stars for how helpful and accommodating there were. We stayed here a couple of weeks ago for a wedding and, short of ironing the clothes themselves, they couldn't have done more for us. They were really lovely. The rooms however are seriously dated and certainly not worth the price, although the bathrooms were modern and clean. The breakfast was very average although I am pleased that they offered a vegetarian breakfast with veggie sausage, you don't get that everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToriaRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brundish, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

From the moment we arrived the welcome was warm, the staff helpful, cheerful and friendly. The room was comfortable, nicely furnished with substantial drawer space and all the amenities like hairdryer, tea tray, toiletries etc. The breakfasts were excellent - no dried out bacon that had been sitting on a hotplate for hours, everything freshly cooked to order and plenty of choice. We ate in the restaurant on all three nights of our stay - again everything freshly cooked to order, and the carvery available - all delicious! Generous portions, cheerful service. Fellow guests on the whole older couples, plus a couple of families.

Room Tip: Ask to be put at the back of the hotel if you are a light sleeper - the hotel is on the A149 and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our church parsih weekend took over this hotel for 2/3 nights in July 2013 with breakfast and 2 evening meals for 40+ people. The staff were very helpful and Caroline, the owner, was an excellent hostess. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Face the sea if possible rather than the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonytiger1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Runton
2.9 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
2.7 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
1.9 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
2.4 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Property: Dormy House Hotel
Address: Cromer Road, West Runton, Cromer NR27 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer > West Runton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in West Runton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the pretty village of West Runton discover the natural beauty of the small coastal Norfolk village of West Runton, it is in an ideal place to stay for playing Golf, Horse-riding, Fishing, or enjoying beautiful country and coastal walks with nearby bird watching facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy House Hotel West Runton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing