We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a quick getaway from the city.”
Review of Club Balai Isabel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Balai Isabel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Talisay
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect for a quick getaway from the city.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This wasn't a grand resort but it offers a scenic view of the Taal Volcano. Rooms and bathroom were very tidy and spacious. Bed linens are very neat, I should say.Restaurant/ Food prices were fair, not a rip-off. They have large pools and while dipping into their pools you could really enjoy the view of the Taal lake and volcano. Room rates were exceptionally fair. We had an enjoyable vacay in Club Balai Isabel!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BreezynButch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovelyn P, Customer Service Officer at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear BreezynButch,

Thank you for the nice feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely yours,
Lovelyn, Customer Service Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    206
    139
    43
    50
See reviews for
262
76
6
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Meycauayan City, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is our second time to have our team building in Club Balai Isabel and it never fail to be on the best list of Team Building site. The room that was assigned to us is the "Mataas na Kahoy" Building for my opinion it is has a great room, very clean and very spacious but my friends room is better, they stayed at Soto Villa, it was like a big house with almost 20 persons capacity. I have no idea what the price range is but if you are looking for a quick staycation near Taal Lake then this is a great choice, Nice Service, Great beds and rooms. Just one note though, swimming in Taal Lake is not allowed, as per the person cleaning the lake said it was because of the Algaes in the bottom that might cause an accident.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enric Joseph I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovelyn P, at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Crein,

Thank you for coming back to us for your team building. Kudos to your team and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely yours,
Lovelyn, Customer Service Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had our summer company outing here with my family and 1 year old baby. Three other companies were also having their summer outing at the resort. There were too many guests. Check-In was 3 hours delayed for some. Our drinks during lunch almost never arrived if not after several follow-ups to the waiters. Swimming is no longer allowed at Taal Lake! People said water is dirty or not safe for swimming. The swimming pools were crowded. One was reserved for a wedding reception. Food was ok. No corkage for liquor and videoke was limitless. No free wifi and no baby high chair was offered. Our bathroom sink was clogged but the room itself was clean and adequate. There was also no welcoming reception staff to even guide us to a parking spot. Good thing it was only 30 minutes downhill from Tagaytay ridge.

Room Tip: Get a room closest to the dining hall and swimming pools so you do not need to walk or ride a golf c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanceC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovelyn P, Customer Service Officer at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Vance C,

We apologize for the disappointment you experienced. It is true we had many guests during the weekend referred to. Our van carrying the drinks was caught in the traffic outside the resort resulting in the delay on serving the drinks. We will make sure it won’t happen again. However, our records do not show check in delays for three hours. Check in time for our hotel rooms is 2pm, and for villas & cottages, it’s 3pm. These are made known to guests upon reservation.

Likewise, there may be some breakdown in information – we do not reserve pools exclusively for wedding receptions. And just like other resorts and hotels, we do impose corkage on liquors that people bring in. Free WiFi is available in the reception/business center and restaurant.

Swimming is truly not recommended on the lake. We lament this fact as much as you do. When we opened in 2007, the lakeshore was still “swimmable”.

Thank you for giving us your feedback.

Sincerely yours,
Lovelyn, Customer Service Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We spent the weekend to celebrate my birthday at the club balai isabel..Road trip was a breeze, thanks to the star tollway.. Club balai has good security, courteous staff and service is fast.The pools looked inviting but it would have been better if they open the pools early.Big infinity pool opens at 10am which definitely is not good for sun exposure.There is a beautiful chapel in the place,, we were lucky to attend sunday mass there. The view of Taal volcano was picture perfect.
I just have one comment about the buffet.the lunch and dinner buffet is varied but the beef and other meat dishes could improve..Meat should be tender, we were served caldereta which needs more slow cooking time to make it more tender.The breakfast buffet is just so-so.Overall food quality for me is nothing to rave about..
Would i ever go back? I will, just for the view and the pools..:)

Room Tip: get the villas with the lakeview .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiddieMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovelyn P, Customer Service Officer at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear kiddieMD,

Thank you for your very nice review of our resort. Our big pool opens at 8am. The day you were here might have been a single incident when the pool needed more time to vacuum.

We have noted your comments on our food. Our chef has vowed to improve our caldereta and other meat dishes.

Thank you and we wish you many more happy birthdays to come.

Sincerely yours,
Lovelyn, Customer Service Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Pinas, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Going to Balai Isabel was a last-minute decision.I was thinking of a perfect place for my daughter's 19th birthday.We wanted it to be just intimate,peaceful and relaxing.We found a perfect place-Club Balai Isabel!We just saw CBI's website and did the reservation on-line.It was so hassle-free.We booked for an overnight stay (May 19). Upon entering the main gate, we were greeted by the friendly guard who gave us instructions on where to proceed next.The staff at the reception were accommodating. Checking-in was fast and systematic.The room was comfy and clean (Room 404 Balai Mabini).The whole place is well-maintained.We felt like we were communing with Mother Nature.The entire staff are so polite and honest.My son left his camera len's cover at Terraza.The resto staff temporarily kept it and gave it back to us.Food tastes good and reasonably priced as well. Our stay was indeed worth it.I was so happy I made that last-minute decision.We will definitely go back to this haven and stay longer! More power to Club Balai Isabel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violeta1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovelyn P, Customer Service Officer at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Violeta 1212,

Thank you for choosing us for a very important occasion. Your review is heart-warming and inspires us to be better everyday.

Belated happy birthday to your daughter.

Sincerely yours,
Lovelyn, Customer Service Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Every year, we always get to have our company summer escapades with our work mates. I proposed for the Club Balai Isabel, having only lake & pools for a change this time, since we used to go to beaches for the last couple of years. Fortunately, the management approved the location & since we're operating 24/7 continuously, we have to divide the manpower into two batches. They provided me a quotation for a corporate package; breakfast & dinner buffet with snacks, room accommodation, team building facilities & other necessary equipment.
We've been greatly welcomed with cool refreshments & hotel shell necklaces. Had our sumptuous buffet lunch in their resto, and indeed their buffets are delicious. it was worth the package they provided us. The rooms were tidy and as well as the restrooms. We proceeded to do our team building activities, providing us a water station nearby. We certainly had so much fun though they've been through a few bruises out of the activities we had! Afterwhich, we had our dinner served near at the Kumintang Board, well of course, provided again with all our requests, the set-up, the free videoke, the live acoustic band we brought, & the open pool hours (which we greatly requested).
The next day, my colleagues and bosses woke up early just to witness the astonishing rise of the sun by the lake & indulging the tasty buffet breakfast after the several selfies they or we had... :)
Club Balai definitely welcomed us to their utmost service. Though there are times they seem to be so sluggish in responding (which I have to understand, considering that there are other guests also in the hotel), their grilling area is too far from the pool!!! :( (we have to assign a runner) & at times I get so temperamental, they still managed to be calm & retort me politely. My highest regard to Melmar & all the other staff, who patiently took in all consideration with all of our requests.
Till next time! And we shall anticipate more & more fun activities in your resort since you don't have a beach, other than the gigantic pools you have.
Thanks for the great experience. I, as well, have a positive feedback (from the company) during the escapade!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gomezra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovelyn P, Customer Service Officer at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear gomezra,

Thank you for your appreciation. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Melmar and the staff who worked with you are very grateful to your positive feedback.

Sincerely yours,
Lovelyn, Customer Service Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Good place for unwinding. The taal lake view is a very relaxing, epic experience.
Kids loved the pools...
When we arrived, I felt no warmth from the front desk staff....they are all poker faced. (checked in May 12, 11 am). nobody even greeted me Good Morning Mam! or welcome po!
I felt like I owed that stay from them...
The Agoncillo 402 room was almost perfect except the toilet bowl downstairs is not working properly and the shower at the 2nd level is always hot. We did not have enough foot towels in the restrooms.
Maybe due to the haste , we were not given bath towels. But they brought these in just in time.
Breakfast was ok.
Generally the place was great. Service could be better..Train your front desk staff. They are in the hospitality business they should not be suplado or suplada.

Room Tip: try the lake fronting rooms and when you come back the orchard lane should be ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsShobie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovelyn P, Customer Service Officer at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear MsShobie S,

Thank you for your review. Our belated greetings on your 40th. Thank you for giving us the specific date and time of your arrival, we are able to pinpoint the Front Office staff on duty; and have discussed corrective measures with them.

We are taking note of all other concerns you wrote about and will work on improvement.

Sincerely yours,
Lovelyn, Customer Service Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talisay
28.3 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Lian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
27.2 mi away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
26.5 mi away
Canyon Cove Beach Club
Canyon Cove Beach Club
#2 of 4 in Nasugbu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.6 mi away
Pico Sands Hotel
Pico Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Nasugbu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
28.8 mi away
White Castle Resort & Hotel
17.0 mi away
The Farm at San Benito
The Farm at San Benito
#1 of 7 in Lipa City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Balai Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Balai Isabel

Property: Club Balai Isabel
Address: Taal Lake | Banga, Talisay, Luzon 4220, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Talisay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Talisay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Balai Isabel 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the shores of the world-famous Taal Lake and across from its volcano is a place where you can relax, connect and be with nature. Club Balai Isabel offers an option for an active lifestyle with all the comforts of city living. A mere fifteen minutes from the Tagaytay ridge, it offers an up-close and personal view of the lake and its world-famous volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Balai Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Balai Isabel Hotel Talisay
Hotel Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel Talisay, Batangas, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing