We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Worth It” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Balai Isabel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Club Balai Isabel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Talisay
Manila
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not Worth It”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

First of all, I wish we booked somewhere else for that overnight weekend. The lake doesn't look good, the resort itself is nothing special and there's not much to do. It's a good thing I was with great company.

The Standard Room we got was rather small. It had two queen beds and was part of a cottage with about three other rooms. The first thing I noticed was the ceiling, which was built too low, making the room look even smaller than it already was.

We had trouble trying to take an afternoon nap because a kid who was staying in a room in the same cottage kept running around the common area and was making too much noise. I understand this is not exactly to be blamed on the property but I thought I should put it out there to set the expectation of future guests.

After we went swimming in one of the three pools, we came back to our room and were welcomed with the smell of barbecue smoke. It was terrible because the smell was already absorbed by the bedding and whatever clothing we had left by the time we got back. It turned out someone staying in one of the villas was having a barbecue and the smoke entered through the window of the restroom. The restroom door was closed but the smell still managed to enter the room and it was really bad. Naturally, we complained and thankfully, the staff were kind enough to transfer us to a better room (Ilang Ilang 3). It was bigger and had a small veranda. The problem was, when we got to the other room, we had to request the towels, the toilet paper and the trash bin, which should have been already there by the time we got in. I don't mean to sound like a whiner but we already lost almost an hour trying to sort things out following the smoke-smell incident.

The resort seems like a big place and has great potential, especially since it's so easy to get to from Manila. I like it that they left some spaces undeveloped and just allowed trees and bushes to thrive. There's also ample space for parking.

Breakfast was just ok for something that costs P295. The juices are powdered and not even from the can, so that's a little sad.

In conclusion, I think the place could really use some renovation and some sprucing up. Families that like to spend time poolside might find it fine but it can get a little crowded. The food is moderately priced but the rooms cost a little too much for what you get.

Room Tip: If you're like us who plan to drive from Club Balai to Tagaytay, make sure you go during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank totallyscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene Nympha C, Customer Service Officer at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Mr. literarybulimia,

We are very sorry for all the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We understand where you’re coming from and we are now doing all the necessary measures to improve the quality of our facilities and services.

Regarding the state of Taal Lake, you are right that it is not meant for swimming. In fact, we do not allow our guests to swim in the lake for their safety. In line with this, Balai’s constant advocacy is to revive the waters of Taal and hopefully, you will be one of the first people to see the major changes in the future.

We would also like to ask for your understanding regarding the room incident. We will be stricter with our policies so as to avoid any kind of disturbance to other guests. We will also instruct our staffs to immediately check the rooms and their ventilation. Meanwhile, we would also want to clarify that since you were transferred to another room which was not initially on our arrival list, the included amenities in the room has not been prepared yet hence, the delay. We sincerely hope for your understanding regarding this matter.

On the other hand, we are already on the process of developing fresh juices to be served in our restaurant. We appreciate your comment but rest assured that we will soon launch new flavors for our guests using fresh fruits and ingredients.

Finally, we are very thankful for your inputs. We are constantly expanding and at the same time upgrading our facilities for superior customer experience. We hope that although we might have some lapses, you will still find time to reconsider Balai for your next vacation.

Thank you once again and have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    199
    134
    41
    49
See reviews for
250
74
5
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taytay, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Club Balai Isabel is a perfect place to go to for a weekend getaway. It's just around 2-hour drive from our place (Taytay, Rizal). So this place is really convenient if you're considering the travel time.

We booked their Premium Room and it was worth it. It was spacious, more than enough for six people! It has a kitchen, special living room, two bathrooms, three queen-sized beds, basic necessities, and my favorite spot is its balcony with the awesome view of Taal Lake and Volcano.

The place is really beautiful: its location, surroundings, design, concept and atmosphere. Since it's a 9-hectare (?) property, you would not feel that it was too crowded. Truly a perfect place for relaxation and family bonding. Apart from swimming (they have 3 swimming pools), they offer variety of activities. Upon check-in you will be given a list and map to guide you during your stay. We did kayaking as well as biking to roam around the entire resort! Simple walking would also be a good choice because their gardens are beautiful. You would really feel that you are away from the busy metro.

Well, from positive, of course there will always be some points to share for improvement.

We booked a room via online travel agency. Since I do have some concerns about our stay I tried to contact the hotel via phone call / messaging through their website. But, I got NO answer / reply. Even the online travel agency told me that they could not contact the hotel. I hope you can do something about this. Secondly, the serving time at the restaurant is too long. Unfortunately our first meal was a bad experience. Our pizza arrived after an hour of waiting. I believe there was a miscommunication between the waiter and the chef. Sigh! But I appreciate the waiters for taking care of us after that incident. Another one is that the check-in / check-out process should be improved. I understand that the hotel was fully-booked during the time of our visit but I guess the tension of the operations should not be felt by the guests.

The over-all experience was still "very good" for me!
I just really hope the flaws mentioned above will be taken care of.

Thank you and more power to the management.

Room Tip: Book their Premium Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaarmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene Nympha C, Customer Service Officer at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Ms. Charm,

Thank you for the kind words you mentioned. We really appreciate any feedback from our guests as basis for continuous improvement towards a better quality of service in the future.

On another note, we also want to address your concern that no one is answering our phone lines and website inquiries. Due to numerous bookings and corporate events this season, some of the incoming calls were probably unnoticed by our staffs since they were also engaged with other clients at the same time. We are aware that this is not an excuse thus, we sincerely apologize and hope for your kind understanding.

Also, we will be more attentive to our guests to ensure that every meal will be served on time. Meanwhile, you are right about not letting the guests feel the tension in our operations side. We will surely look into this matter and advise the concerned departments so as to avoid the same scenario in the future.

Thank you very much and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Weve been there at club balai again last day. the facilities and amenities are so good. Its been our fifth times here actually. Unfortunately, my family members got a stomachache maybe because of the quality of water they offered to us during dining and it also taste like a rust. I wonder where are those water came from. I hope the management will take action on this because its a health issue and they should be very particular with what they offer to their guest.

- Zeany

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zeany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene Nympha C, Customer Service Officer at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Ms. Zeany,

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We will take this matter seriously and perform the necessary measures in order to ensure the quality of the water we use in the resort. Rest assured that all of our water systems will be immediately checked to avoid the instances that you mentioned.

Thank you very much and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Talisay hotels

Philippines
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We took a weekend road trip in Batangas and had an overnight stay in Balai Isabel.The rooms are well maintained,comfy and really nice.Foods is tasty and has a wide variety to choose from.We were amazed with the bar entertainer.She sings really,really good though I'm not quite sure if she performs there regularly.We took an early morning stroll,rented bicycles and roomed around the resort.Most patronizers were still asleep so we had the resort all by ourselves.The serenity plus sunrise was invigorating.Taal lake is visible from the resort,thus,makes a stunning view worth capturing.The only downside for me is the beach/seashore area.Yes,the resort has a white sand beach but it wasn't that impressive in terms of swimming purposes so we opted for the swimming pools instead but over all we had a remarkable experience.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank elianj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene Nympha C, Customer Service Officer at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Ms. elianj,

Thank you for your nice feedback that really warms our hearts and makes us want to do better. You are right about the lake shore not being suitable for swimming. In fact, we do not recommend swimming at all like we did in 2007 when the resort opened. The degradation of the lake is brought about by factors not within our control. However, our advocacy is centered on saving the precious water of Taal Lake and we are enlisting the help of like minded people in Batangas. Again thank you and we look forward to welcome you back in the resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We rented 3 units for an overnight stay with family. Upon our arrival, we learned that we assigned 3 units from 3 different areas of the resort! Knowing that we were a family, they should've put us if not in adjacent units, at least in the same building or in adjacent buildings!

The furnishings and equipment were ok, but it felt as if it wasn't planned for the room area. It was just too crammed.

Finally, while the staff were all nice and accommodating, there simply were too few of them for the size of the resort.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovelyn P, Customer Service Officer at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear 12769,

Thank you for your review. During the summer months, our occupancy is high and sometimes, it is difficult to find adjacent units which was what happened in this case. We apologize for this and also for failing to communicate the cause of the non-adjacent rooms. We will also try to find ways to create more space in our rooms.

Thank you for considering our staff nice and accommodating, and we would like to assure you that we have sufficient number of service personnel even though it may not be visible.

Sincerely yours,
Lovelyn, Customer Service Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This wasn't a grand resort but it offers a scenic view of the Taal Volcano. Rooms and bathroom were very tidy and spacious. Bed linens are very neat, I should say.Restaurant/ Food prices were fair, not a rip-off. They have large pools and while dipping into their pools you could really enjoy the view of the Taal lake and volcano. Room rates were exceptionally fair. We had an enjoyable vacay in Club Balai Isabel!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BreezynButch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovelyn P, Customer Service Officer at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear BreezynButch,

Thank you for the nice feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely yours,
Lovelyn, Customer Service Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meycauayan City, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is our second time to have our team building in Club Balai Isabel and it never fail to be on the best list of Team Building site. The room that was assigned to us is the "Mataas na Kahoy" Building for my opinion it is has a great room, very clean and very spacious but my friends room is better, they stayed at Soto Villa, it was like a big house with almost 20 persons capacity. I have no idea what the price range is but if you are looking for a quick staycation near Taal Lake then this is a great choice, Nice Service, Great beds and rooms. Just one note though, swimming in Taal Lake is not allowed, as per the person cleaning the lake said it was because of the Algaes in the bottom that might cause an accident.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enric Joseph I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovelyn P, at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Crein,

Thank you for coming back to us for your team building. Kudos to your team and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely yours,
Lovelyn, Customer Service Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talisay
27.1 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Lian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
26.5 mi away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
38.5 mi away
Acuatico Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 mi away
Canyon Cove Beach Club
Canyon Cove Beach Club
#2 of 4 in Nasugbu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
27.6 mi away
Pico Sands Hotel
Pico Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Nasugbu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
27.6 mi away
White Castle Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Balai Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Balai Isabel

Property: Club Balai Isabel
Address: Taal Lake | Banga, Talisay, Luzon 4220, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Talisay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Talisay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Balai Isabel 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the shores of the world-famous Taal Lake and across from its volcano is a place where you can relax, connect and be with nature. Club Balai Isabel offers an option for an active lifestyle with all the comforts of city living. A mere fifteen minutes from the Tagaytay ridge, it offers an up-close and personal view of the lake and its world-famous volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Club Balai Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Balai Isabel Hotel Talisay
Hotel Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel Talisay, Batangas, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing