We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!”
Review of Holly Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holly Lodge
Adlington, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed recently in Claret Cottage for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. Our room was tasteful and very well furnished. We even had a complimentary bottle of wine and the homemade cakes provided each day were delicious! Jeremy was an excellent host - very knowledgeable about the area and nothing was too much trouble His breakfasts and evening meals were excellent - he even bakes his own bread every morning! Holly Lodge was an excellent base - we had never been to North Norfolk before and we had some fantastic days out, but as the area is so vast and interesting we will have to return - and we will definitely book Holly Lodge again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V30jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
69
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lymm, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The hosts, Jeremy and Jill were very kind and welcoming people. They went out of their way to make contact with us prior to our visit, so they could accommodate our needs; time of arrival, whether an evening meal was needed. The accommodation is charming and comfortable, spotlessly clean, complimentary wine on arrival, bottled mineral water, fruit and cake replenished daily, lots of music to play, books to read and useful tips and information about the area. We were even provided with bicycles to explore, free of charge, with lots of advice about good cycling routes! Breakfasts were the most civilised of occasions, seated in a conservatory, beautifully cooked bacon, sausage, eggs etc., as well as freshly baked bread, fresh fruit, yoghurts and cereals. The only regret is that we didn't manage to taste one of their home cooked evening meals, as we ran out of time. I'm sure it would have been delicious. We would certainly recommend Holly Lodge. Mel and Steve

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Perfect location for a quiet break!

The accommodation was very quaint, feels like you have a small cottage to yourself.
Very clean, comfy and has all expected amenities etc

Jeremy couldn’t have been nicer and more accommodating.
Beautifully cooked breakfasts, full range of items that you’d expect.

All in all, we’ll be sure to go back again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

A 2 day stay at this Bed and Breakfast was a truly enjoyable experience .A very warm welcome from Jeremy (owner) on arrival. A beautiful room with a complimentary bottle of wine. Lovely garden to relax in. Breakfast (5 star) served in the Conservatory. We would recommend this place to anyone staying in North Norfolk.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyraymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

What a beautiful, comfortable, amazing place to stay. We had a wonderful stay in Country Cottage and loved the delicious breakfast and gorgeous garden. Couldn't recommend it more. The surroundings are stunning and all the local attractions are a short drive away.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Probes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Thanks to Susie for making our stay special. We stayed in the Country Lodge which is very nice accommodation. Cake, fruit and wine in room a nice touch.

Gardens lovely to walk around.

Breakfast in the conservatory very nice with a good choice of food.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camelot2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Had one night here on the last bank holiday. Delightful place, wonderful breakfast, lovely hosts and great quiet location. Cant recommend highly enough. So many lovely extras in the quaint rooms , wine, chocolates, delicious cake and smellies. Have booked again!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thursford Green
9.0 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
610 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,327 reviews
4.8 mi away
Wensum Lodge Hotel
Wensum Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fakenham
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Quay B&B
The Quay B&B
#11 of 25 in Wells-next-the-Sea
40 reviews
7.2 mi away
The George Hotel Cley
The George Hotel Cley
#3 of 6 in Cley Next the Sea
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Lodge

Property: Holly Lodge
Address: The Street, Thursford Green NR21 0AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thursford Green
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thursford Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Holly Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Holly Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Lodge Thursford Green, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing