We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top class B and B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holly Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holly Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
none
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“top class B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

As someone who has spent a large amount of nights away in hotels I tend to be super critical of facilities offered especially if paying for 4 or 5 star hotel rooms. I can honestly say the owner here has not missed a trick I could find nothing missing from this room which I would have wished to find even in a top class hotel including water, wines, home made cake loads of toiletries and even torches to cross the village green to the Thursford show.
Whatever you seemed to need was there for breakfasts and the owner provided a very good pre show meal. (He seems to be an first rate cook as well.)
The three rooms are little self contained "cottages" adjacent to the house.
This is an absolutely top rate establishment but book early this seems to be a very popular place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nonedicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
67
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Wonderful break stayed over following Thursford show.cottage very comfortable loads of extras .Lovely full English.I would recommend Holly Lodge as excellent value for money it was warm clean and very comfortable nothin appeared to be to much trouble for the proprieters

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bultitudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
620 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We returned to Holly Lodge for a second visit, to attend the Thursford Christmas Show. A wonderful room, Your every need is catered for - wine, cake, fresh milk, lots of toiletries, torches and even a hot water bottle!! Excellent breakfast. Jeremy's evening meal was exceptional - starter and main course before the show, and cheesecake and coffee waiting for us on our return after the performance. We will return again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Holly Lodge is the perfect location to explore the coast & countryside banquet served up by North Norfolk. I am ashamed to admit that I was a North Norfolk virgin, but no longer. As General MacArthur once famously said: "I will return", and in my case I will return, and return and return. This coastal fringe of England is packed with unspoilt flint and stone villages, many picture postcard preserved. A cornucopia of Englishness steeped in history, heritage and harmony. The wealth of walks, the bliss of villages still without chain supermarkets, and a place where nature's nuptials are played out in the coastal marshlands. Just some of the delights awaiting the unsuspecting traveller.

Yes I loved it, and we loved Holly Lodge too. A perfect retreat after a hard day's march, with a welcoming aroma deliciously served up by Jeremy and Gillian. Our Colonial room was even better than the website photo dared to suggest. It was packed with useful things, brochures, a "what to do" info pack, bathroom cosmetics neatly presented, torches (yes it gets dark), in fact all the little comforts a tired traveller appreciates. Then of course the bottle of wine, bottles of water, the wonderful home made cakes, fruit and as much tea and coffee as you could reasonably manage made this the icing on the proverbial cake.

In terms of other facilities Holly Lodge boasts a large front and rear garden and a conservatory where breakfast was served. Both days I took the full English and was more than satisfied. Jeremy and Gillian are also charming hosts, which clearly makes a big difference. The final day we had breakfast with two other couples seated around the same table, which was also very enjoyable as we shared experiences, passions and anecdotes. As I remarked at the breakfast table I would only write a post on Tripadvisor if the stay had been excellent or very poor. Suffice it to say Holly Lodge was excellent in every way and good value for money.

So I will not only return to North Norfolk, but I will gladly return to Holly Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We spent three nights here in October and we really enjoyed it. Very comfortable and well appointed bedroom It was not enormous but very good bed, nicely furnished and everything you could wish for including a free bottle of wine, high quality bath towels, sheets and pillows and everything you could possibly need including hairdryer, toiletries etc., Wonderful breakfast with lots of fruit and and any cooked breakfast you could want including local Cley kippers! There is also a conservatory for the guests to use with newspapers games etc/. We will certainly go back! We had one evening meal there, it was very good home cooking and good value for a 2 or 3 course meal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marionsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Just spent lovely weekend in North Norfolk, staying at Holly Lodge. Perfect base to explore this area. Lovely room, very comfortable bed, very very tasty homemade cakes! As in previous reviews, owner Jeremy very helpful and, judging from breakfast, a very good cook too! Within easy driving distance of all the "must sees" (although signposts are a bit misleading around here !). Cannot recommend Holly Lodge highly enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marium22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leics
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We spent a good weekend here - it is in a lovely peaceful setting with a big garden which guests can use, and our room was very comfortable with fresh flowers and locally sourced toiletries. The breakfasts were excellent too. There is ample parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppyLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thursford Green
3.1 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
4.7 mi away
Wensum Lodge Hotel
Wensum Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fakenham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.9 mi away
Reeds Barn B&B
Reeds Barn B&B
#2 of 9 in Walsingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Lodge

Property: Holly Lodge
Address: The Street, Thursford Green NR21 0AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thursford Green
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thursford Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Holly Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Holly Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Lodge Thursford Green, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing